Rooms are quite small but very comfortable if you don't have a lot of luggage. The rooms has LED TV, did not expect that in a hotel in Nepal.More
- Free Wifi
- Free Parking
Rooms are quite small but very comfortable if you don't have a lot of luggage. The rooms has LED TV, did not expect that in a hotel in Nepal.MoreShow less
The rooms in the older block where made in the late 80's, that is why it is small in size but we have renovated to the fullest with the latest LED TV for the full entertainment of the guest. All rooms that are of higher category than Garden Facing category has been installed with LED. Thank you for appreciating our efforts.
The front office staff is more relaxed than they should. The Hotel has great ambiance but the staff seems more relaxed and less reluctant to help sometimes.
Thanks for the comments and try to put my reception staff on their feet.
In this day and age, they still have rooms for USD 10.00 and wait they also have a room for USD 2.00... yes that's TWO. Although you cannot book these types of rooms, but if you are staying there inquire when its free and book, just for experience.
No matter which room you are in, the staff are great and give same treatment as if you were staying in the USD 100 rooms. Great hotel, BE There NEXT time you are in NEPAL.
Hi Mike, Thanks for the review. The founder of KGH, Karna Sakya, feels that we should keep some rooms that this hotel originally started from as this will always remind the current management from where our roots started from. Although we literally go on a loss when we sell these rooms at these rates but we feel KGH is anybody, and this give a good enviornment to the hotel. AS TONY WHEELER, founder of Lonely Planet, MENTIONED KGH AS A BOTTLENECK WHERE EVERYBODY WILL PASS THROUGH AT SOME GIVEN TIME.
Regards and hope to see you back at KGH.
This is a groovy little hotel, laid-back, mostly clean and a bit of a hippie hangout. It is a local affair, which is endearing and one should not expect international hotelier standards. It is set back In a court yard and garden, but it must be remembered that It is In a busy area In the middle of a diabolically crowded warren of small and noisy streets. You know you are in South Asia. It is noisy
Several of the facilities appear to date from the 1960s.. Nonetheless,centrally located in Thamel. Service is irregular. The so-called business center is a minimal affair, this is not a business hotel.The wait staff in the restaurant are well-meaning but hopeless and are constantly getting orders wrong, leading the more organized guests to have apoplexy. The best thing to do is to relax and not worry too much.
The food is all right but the restaurants around the guest house are much much better. The breakfast is to be avoided at all costs Even if it is included. Because actually, the good food is not included.They charge you a huge amount for decent coffee, if you do not wish to have the awful powdery stuff. Eat instead at one of the cafés right beside the guesthouse to the left, one of which has Wi-Fi.
The cleaners make a great show of chatting you up even though they speak little English and you, likely, speak no Nepali. You will get pestered the day before you leave to give a substantial tip. If you go and come back after a trek, you will be pestered again. It is hard to get angry though because God knows what they pay these people.
If you go, just enjoy and remember the guest house is a bit of history. My only serious criticism of the place is the travel agent who works out of the hotel. Do not use this person or this agency, since at least when I was there, they were completely unreliable.
Thanks for your comments and review of KGH. Thamel is definitely noisy, and being smack in the middle of it, its very difficult to cut of the noise, but for your information we are making new rooms with sound resistance facilites, this will be better but more expensive because it very expensive to install double panned glass windows and doors.
You are not the first to complain about the breakfast, I will definately look into it and improve it. Thanks for this.
The staff here are the most well paid in Thamel area, this you can be assured of, we are very proud of this. On average, a housekeeping staff is paid about USD 200.00 per month and I think this is good where the Nepal GNP is 400 per person.
The staff here is paid Service Charge, that means TIPPING IS NOT NECESSARY.
Hope to see you back in Nepal.
Not the cheapest place, but a peaceful escape from the hustle and bustle of KTM - I stayed on three occasions during my month in Nepal, each room was almost identical - clean, fresh and quiet - no problems at all. I did not dine there but heard from others in my group it was very expensive and not good value.
Thank you very much for your reviews of KGH. We never claim to be the cheapest in town but we feel we do give the money's worth. I hope you felt that KGH had "Value for Money". The KGH restaurant is definitely one of the more expensive in Thamel, its because we use the best meat and vegetables in town. We are glad to inform that we have never had complain with food poisoning in the last 2 years. We feel we rather be called expensive than someone complaining about sick after eating in the KGH restaurant. We are not trying to egoistic but we feel this way about food service as it is a very sensitive matter and it could really hamper one's travel. Thank you and hope to see you back in KGH.
I have been staying in KGH, since the 90's. I have seen the changes in Thamel, now a true tourist and trekking destination. With over 100 restaurants within walking distance and over couple hundred trekking shop, a true paradise for trekkers and adventure seeker. But this hotel has been maintaining a true spirit. The rooms are OK, but the environment is fantastic. You have stay here if you want to experience the true Shangrila.
I am so glad that guest has really seen the improvement in KGH and veteran guest like yourselves still has a lot of attachments bonded with KGH. We will see you soon back in KGH.