We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,451)
Filter reviews
1,451 results
Traveler rating
560
615
209
48
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
560
615
209
48
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old palace converted palace swimming pool heritage hotel breakfast buffet nice pool an oasis egg station travel desk the hustle and bustle plenty of hot water tucked away beautiful garden thamel area shankar nepal earthquake
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 1,451 reviews
Reviewed January 5, 2020

This hotel lives up to expectations, very grand very fancy but worth the price. The room was clean, the services offered were awesome and the staff was accommodating. Bed was comfortable and room service was quick and delicious.

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank pry3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PS_1_PS, Executive Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2020

Dear happy guest,
Thank you for your compliments , we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us . We hope to welcome You back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2019

Would have been a 5 star one just marred by an issue during the lunch time. Other than that loved our stay in Hotel Shanker. This was our 2nd stay at the hotel. Enjoyed the mani-pedis & massages as well. Also the breakfast is very good!

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MissyPeacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PS_1_PS, Executive manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2020

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your gift of feedback . We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us . We hope to welcome you back in the near future .
Best ,
Prina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2019

I’ve arrived at the hotel late at night, it is a beautiful hotel, nice courtyard, nice classical interior decorations etc., I was told it was once a palace. I had a good night rest. Their MoMo (steam dumplings and milk tea was good), because I’ve to depart very early, the hotel kitchen has prepare breakfast takeaway (sandwiches, fruits, drink and boiled eggs) for me. But lights went off two times for a few minutes during my short stay there. Overall it was an okay experience. Check in check out process was fast.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank JuliaN3021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PS_1_PS, executive manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2019

Dear Guest,

Thank You for taking time to review our property. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our moms and milk tea. We are sorry for the electricity cut off, it happens sometimes and its in the entire city, we have a 24 hr generator back up hence it takes 2-3 minutes. Sorry for the inconvenience, we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2019

We stayed in a suite top floor of the hotel with a beautiful view to the pool...unfortunately you could not open the windows ...
we paid for 3 days a total of 748 US $ - !!!
.the room was very nice but all the house technik : Television , mini bar, air condition - heating, failed in many ways and as well cleaning of the room ....
Unfriendly employees at the reception when complaining....

Room tip: 7 floor rooms & suites
Date of stay: December 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank expat - N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PS_1_PS, executive manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2019

Dear Expat -N,

Thank you for taking time to review our property, we are glad that you enjoyed the view from our room.I'm sorry to hear that your most recent experience fell short of few of your expectations. As per our investigation, the television, minibar, air-conditioning heating everything was working very well. However our team member did assist you once or twice to open the minibar and also mentioned that they are available 24 hrs to assist you. In regards to room cleaning , your room was kept on "Do Not Disturb Mode", hence the housekeeper could not enter your room and they also called your room and the telephone was unanswered.
Our apologies once again that we did not meet your expectations.Thank you and we hope you give us a second chance to make your stay enjoyable with us.

Best Regards,
Prina Shrestha
Executive Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2019 via mobile

A historic and grand hotel in the old part of Kathmandu offers a beautiful introduction to the Himalayas. I enjoyed a comfortable and quant room with modern facilities and a spacious bed. Breakfast was delicious with options of bacon eggs fruit cereals and breads. The hospitality was first rate. A nice pool with drinks and meals served there a great way to end a busy day. Only 15 minute walk to Durbar Square and shopping along the way.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank W5551LFdavidm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PS_1_PS, Executive Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2019

Dear Happy Guest,

Thank You for your gift of feedback, we are pleased to hear that we made your stay a memorable one.
We hope to welcome you back in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews