We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A Beautiful Palace” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Shanker

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Shanker
Ranked #36 of 193 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A Beautiful Palace”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2016

We consider the Hotel Shanker to the most beautiful hotel in Kathmandu. Built in 1894 as a palace for a Nepalese General, it was purchased in 1964 and converted into a hotel. The Hotel Shanker still looks like a palace inside and out. Inside, there are wood carvings throughout that are over 100 years old. The rooms are big with modern bathrooms. Outside is a huge garden and a pool complete with a bar.

The staff is very courteous and always willing to help or answer questions. You are greeted with a smile every morning and "Namaste"

The location is near many of the embassies in Kathmandu and the tourist shopping district of Thamel. It's 20 minutes from the airport in heavy traffic and there are tons of good places to eat within walking distance.

I cannot recommend Hotel Shanker enough.

Room Tip: Currently, they are refacing the part of he Hotel that overlooks the garden, but when that is finish...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2016, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank woody2762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P S, Executive Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, May 30, 2016
Dear Guests,

Namaste from Hotel Shanker !

Thank You for taking time to review our property and calling it "A Beautiful Palace". Iam glad to hear that you went through the history of the hotel and enjoyed every bit during your stay. We hope to welcome you back soon in the future.

Happy Travels !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    487
    167
    42
    13
See reviews for
220
343
151
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2016

single room booked through online portal booking.com for the so called heritage property Hotel Shanker. rooms are not so comfortable and spacious as shown on portal and pathetic room services. unable to connect local calls as instrument provided not functional and even not get repaired after so many calls on reception, came to know once was at reception to clear bill that additional con coll charges added, when requested for local cab more than double amount sought from me as other cabs charges nominal amount. meanwhile some reception/security staff called local meter cab and as informed by driver they are charging additional amount for them as commission which was really shocking for me. even b'fast not served after 10 am due to delay by 15-20 minutes. construction work in progress and later in evening some party going disturbing guests to come out and walk OR smoke. should avoid to choose such poor service provider people who looking only for few perks instead of client comfort

Room Tip: BIG NO for such unprofessional people
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2016, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Superjaat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P S, Executive Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, May 30, 2016
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Hotel Shanker !

Thank You for taking time to review our property. I would like to personally apologize for the series of unfortunate incidences that you experienced during your stay with us. We continually try to do our very best for all our valued guests, but unfortunately , sometimes we do fail.
I am really sorry that we could not provide you the best comfort that you were looking for. Regarding the taxi service from the hotel, most of the time we recommend our travel desk to arrange for a taxi for our valued guests. We do not suggest guests to take taxi's waiting outside the hotel as their price always fluctuates but if a guest "requests" we do call for a taxi from outside the hotel but we are not responsible for the prices they charge the guests. Our breakfast spread is liked by many travellers and I am very sad to hear that you could not enjoy our breakfast because of the timings. But we serve breakfast from 6:00 Am to 10:00 Am which is a standard timing in any hotels.

I hope that I can convince you to change your mind about another visit to our property. Please reach out to me directly if you would be willing to give us a chance to turn your experience around. It would be such a pleasure to personally welcome you back with better and improved services.

Best Regards,
Prina Shrestha
Executive Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
133 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2016

I stayed at the Hotel Shanker for 2 nights recently. Overall, the hotel is ok. Not great, not horrible, but ok. The hotel is located in a quiet part of Kathmandu and well off of the main road. You won't hear any traffic or night clubs here...nice and quiet. The hotel is an old palace so it has a very unique design. They are doing some renovations right now, but it is still quiet at night.

Hotel Shanker is about a 10 to 12 minute walk from Thamel, the popular travel district of Kathmandu that is full of restaurants, travel agencies, bars, trekking shops and more.

My room was a little old and tattered, but still comfortable. Everything worked and the room was generally clean. The WiFi worked very well in the hotel. The breakfast was good with many choices. The staff were friendly and cordial.

Again, Hotel Shanker is ok. If you are looking for a mid-range hotel in a quiet location, it will certainly fit your need.

  • Stayed April 2016, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Surmang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2016

I stayed at the Hotel Shanker for 5 nights and what a wonderful experience. The rooms were spotlessly clean, bed linen crisp and white and I slept like a baby. The staff in the hotel are second to none. Friendly, helpful and at times, very funny!! The breakfast was lovely each morning and set us up for the day. I ventured into the pool once during my stay but as it's not heated it was a little chilly.

I would highly recommend this hotel and I will be checking in again when I return to Kathmandu!!

  • Stayed May 2016, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KittyHeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P S, Executive Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, May 26, 2016
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Hotel Shanker !

Thank you for sharing your experience to other trip advisor travellers. We are happy to learn that you found our rooms spotlessly clean and crisp ben linen. How wonderful to hear that you loved our team - we think they are great, but it's so good to hear from a guest!
We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2016

A great location just a 10 min walk from the main tourist area of Thamel. Set inside it's own landscaped grounds so you're not disturbed by the noise and bustle of the street. Good choice of nearby restaurants, clinics and shops. The staff are very warm and welcoming. After the earthquake last year, a major part of the hotel is undergoing reconstruction and renovation but there isn't any significant noise to speak of that would disturb guests.

  • Stayed May 2016, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoshniS908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P S, Executive Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, May 26, 2016
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Nepal !

Thank You for taking time to review our hotel in trip advisor. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay thoroughly. We hope to welcome you back soon in the near future.

Happy Travels !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2016

The staff in this hotel are all friendly and helpful. The room I had was well equipped and had an efficient and quiet air conditioner. The grounds are lovely and the pool is great. I'd love to come back when they have completed the repairs needed after the earthquake. This didn't affect my stay but did mean the view of the hotel was spoiled. I chose this hotel because I wanted somewhere to relax after a trek and it was exactly right.

  • Stayed May 2016, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P S, Executive Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, May 18, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your kinds words and the time you took to share them with us. It is great to hear, that you have enjoyed your stay with us. . Please do not hesitate to contact us directly for your next visit in order to arrange all you reuqest prior to your arrival.

Happy Travels !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2016

I stayed here in April (with a group) a few days before and after trekking. The building is incredible...used to be a royal palace and has not been modernized any more than is necessary for guest convenience. The original carvings and dark wood remind one that this is Nepal, not some cookie cutter hotel.
The staff were abundant, gracious, always friendly and helpful. When I failed to see the switch to turn on the hot water heater, they arrived at my door immediately to help me out.
The restaurant serves delicious food at a very reasonable price. Service was slow, but I found that to be true everywhere in Nepal. It's not "fast food" like we're accustomed to in the US. The no-rush added to the relaxation factor.
While time did not permit using it, they have a lovely landscaped garden and pool which looked well kept.
It's centrally located, within walking distance of the "tourist" shopping streets, which were fun to experience.
I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2016, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carole d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P S, Executive Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, May 18, 2016
Dear guest,

Thanks for your kinds words and the time you took to share them with us. It is great to hear, that you have enjoyed your stay with us at Hotel Shanker. We have always believed that travelling with a team or group is a stressful endeovour, and if we are able to provide customer service that would lessen some of that stress, then we are on the right track.

Please do not hesitate to contact us in advance for your favorite spa arrangements, so we can prepare for relaxing welcome after a long trip to Shanker !
Thank You for recommending Hotel Shanker to our other trip advisor traveler's. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,
Prina Shrestha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
1.9 mi away
Hotel Shambala
Hotel Shambala
#20 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
2.8 mi away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#2 of 193 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Tibet International
Hotel Tibet International
#16 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#30 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,381 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
#9 of 193 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
1.7 mi away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#11 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shanker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shanker

Property: Hotel Shanker
Address: | Lazimpat, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Phone Number:
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#14 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
#15 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
#16 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Shanker 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Shanker, Kathmandu is a heritage hotel, housed in a 19th-century palace in the heart of Kathmandu city. It was the royal residence of the rulers of Nepal, from 1894 until 1964, when it was converted into a hotel. The facade and traditions were kept intact but the interiors were redesigned to give travelers the kind of comfort they'd expect of a world class hotel. The hotel is characterized by exquisite and authentic objects d'art. For example, the carved windows displayed in the lobby bar are over 200 years old. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fastbooking, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Shanker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanker Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing