We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,336)
Filter reviews
1,336 results
Traveler rating
508
574
190
47
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
508
574
190
47
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old palace converted palace swimming pool rana palace heritage hotel breakfast buffet an oasis egg station nice pool seen better days travel desk the hustle and bustle rooms are spacious beautiful garden comfortable stay thamel area hot water
Filter
Updating list...
309 - 314 of 1,336 reviews
Reviewed May 19, 2016

A great location just a 10 min walk from the main tourist area of Thamel. Set inside it's own landscaped grounds so you're not disturbed by the noise and bustle of the street. Good choice of nearby restaurants, clinics and shops. The staff are very warm and welcoming. After the earthquake last year, a major part of the hotel is undergoing reconstruction and renovation but there isn't any significant noise to speak of that would disturb guests.

  • Stayed: May 2016, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank RoshniS908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P S, Executive Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2016

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Nepal !

Thank You for taking time to review our hotel in trip advisor. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay thoroughly. We hope to welcome you back soon in the near future.

Happy Travels !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2016

The staff in this hotel are all friendly and helpful. The room I had was well equipped and had an efficient and quiet air conditioner. The grounds are lovely and the pool is great. I'd love to come back when they have completed the repairs needed after the earthquake. This didn't affect my stay but did mean the view of the hotel was spoiled. I chose this hotel because I wanted somewhere to relax after a trek and it was exactly right.

  • Stayed: May 2016, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Julia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P S, Executive Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thanks for your kinds words and the time you took to share them with us. It is great to hear, that you have enjoyed your stay with us. . Please do not hesitate to contact us directly for your next visit in order to arrange all you reuqest prior to your arrival.

Happy Travels !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2016

I stayed here in April (with a group) a few days before and after trekking. The building is incredible...used to be a royal palace and has not been modernized any more than is necessary for guest convenience. The original carvings and dark wood remind one that this is Nepal, not some cookie cutter hotel.
The staff were abundant, gracious, always friendly and helpful. When I failed to see the switch to turn on the hot water heater, they arrived at my door immediately to help me out.
The restaurant serves delicious food at a very reasonable price. Service was slow, but I found that to be true everywhere in Nepal. It's not "fast food" like we're accustomed to in the US. The no-rush added to the relaxation factor.
While time did not permit using it, they have a lovely landscaped garden and pool which looked well kept.
It's centrally located, within walking distance of the "tourist" shopping streets, which were fun to experience.
I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2016, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carole d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P S, Executive Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2016

Dear guest,

Thanks for your kinds words and the time you took to share them with us. It is great to hear, that you have enjoyed your stay with us at Hotel Shanker. We have always believed that travelling with a team or group is a stressful endeovour, and if we are able to provide customer service that would lessen some of that stress, then we are on the right track.

Please do not hesitate to contact us in advance for your favorite spa arrangements, so we can prepare for relaxing welcome after a long trip to Shanker !
Thank You for recommending Hotel Shanker to our other trip advisor traveler's. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,
Prina Shrestha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2016

The Hotel Shanker was a nice place for us to stay as a family. Our room was a deluxe standard - with twin queen beds that all of our family of four managed to sleep comfortably in. The pillows, linen and mattress were very comfortable. The ensuite bathroom showers were hot and good pressure - although the water had a strange smell of ammonia??

The pool was very clean and had nice lounges a small bar near it. The breakfast buffet was huge and excellent value as it was included in our price for the room. For dinner we ate in at the restaurant and the food was very good and well priced.

The location of the hotel is near Thamel, which is a 5-10 minute walk away. The hotel is also close to the Garden of Dreams if you want some peace and quiet.

The hotel is full of character as previously it was the palace of the Rana dynasty and was converted to a hotel in the 70s. The rooms has lovely ornate painted paper ceilings and are well kitted out. It currently under renovation due to minor damage from the earthquake in 2015.

Recommended. :)

  • Stayed: May 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tassie_Tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P S, Executive Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2016

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Hotel Shanker !

Thank You for taking time to write a review about our property, your comments are very much valued. We really appreciate your comments regarding your comfortable stay, our pool, and the breakfast buffet.
Our staff members take their roles in our industry very seriously and try, everyday to provide that quality customer service , that our guests expect.
Thank you again , and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Hotel Shanker !

Best Regards,
Prina Shrestha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2016

If you fancy a hotel with some old glamour then this is it. We stayed there for two nights and loved the atmosphere. Also the pool is a big plus especially when the weather is hot. It is also very kinds friendly and ideal if you want to relax. The breakfast is definetly the best we had in the four weeks we have spend in Nepal.

  • Stayed: April 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 30travelsandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P S, Executive Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2016

Dear Happy Guest,

Thank You for spending time to write a review about Hotel Shanker. I am happy to learn that you enjoyed our "Big Pool" and our "Breakfast". Look our for more promotions and specials in our Facebook page, instagram and hotel website.

We hope to welcome you back soon !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews