We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“An oasis of calm among all the chaos” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Shanker

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Shanker
Ranked #36 of 194 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An oasis of calm among all the chaos”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2016

I stayed at the Hotel Shanker for 5 nights and what a wonderful experience. The rooms were spotlessly clean, bed linen crisp and white and I slept like a baby. The staff in the hotel are second to none. Friendly, helpful and at times, very funny!! The breakfast was lovely each morning and set us up for the day. I ventured into the pool once during my stay but as it's not heated it was a little chilly.

I would highly recommend this hotel and I will be checking in again when I return to Kathmandu!!

  • Stayed May 2016, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KittyHeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P S, Executive Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, May 26, 2016
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Hotel Shanker !

Thank you for sharing your experience to other trip advisor travellers. We are happy to learn that you found our rooms spotlessly clean and crisp ben linen. How wonderful to hear that you loved our team - we think they are great, but it's so good to hear from a guest!
We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    396
    487
    167
    42
    13
See reviews for
220
344
151
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2016

A great location just a 10 min walk from the main tourist area of Thamel. Set inside it's own landscaped grounds so you're not disturbed by the noise and bustle of the street. Good choice of nearby restaurants, clinics and shops. The staff are very warm and welcoming. After the earthquake last year, a major part of the hotel is undergoing reconstruction and renovation but there isn't any significant noise to speak of that would disturb guests.

  • Stayed May 2016, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoshniS908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P S, Executive Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, May 26, 2016
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Nepal !

Thank You for taking time to review our hotel in trip advisor. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay thoroughly. We hope to welcome you back soon in the near future.

Happy Travels !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2016

The staff in this hotel are all friendly and helpful. The room I had was well equipped and had an efficient and quiet air conditioner. The grounds are lovely and the pool is great. I'd love to come back when they have completed the repairs needed after the earthquake. This didn't affect my stay but did mean the view of the hotel was spoiled. I chose this hotel because I wanted somewhere to relax after a trek and it was exactly right.

  • Stayed May 2016, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P S, Executive Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, May 18, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your kinds words and the time you took to share them with us. It is great to hear, that you have enjoyed your stay with us. . Please do not hesitate to contact us directly for your next visit in order to arrange all you reuqest prior to your arrival.

Happy Travels !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2016

I stayed here in April (with a group) a few days before and after trekking. The building is incredible...used to be a royal palace and has not been modernized any more than is necessary for guest convenience. The original carvings and dark wood remind one that this is Nepal, not some cookie cutter hotel.
The staff were abundant, gracious, always friendly and helpful. When I failed to see the switch to turn on the hot water heater, they arrived at my door immediately to help me out.
The restaurant serves delicious food at a very reasonable price. Service was slow, but I found that to be true everywhere in Nepal. It's not "fast food" like we're accustomed to in the US. The no-rush added to the relaxation factor.
While time did not permit using it, they have a lovely landscaped garden and pool which looked well kept.
It's centrally located, within walking distance of the "tourist" shopping streets, which were fun to experience.
I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2016, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carole d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P S, Executive Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, May 18, 2016
Dear guest,

Thanks for your kinds words and the time you took to share them with us. It is great to hear, that you have enjoyed your stay with us at Hotel Shanker. We have always believed that travelling with a team or group is a stressful endeovour, and if we are able to provide customer service that would lessen some of that stress, then we are on the right track.

Please do not hesitate to contact us in advance for your favorite spa arrangements, so we can prepare for relaxing welcome after a long trip to Shanker !
Thank You for recommending Hotel Shanker to our other trip advisor traveler's. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,
Prina Shrestha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2016

The Hotel Shanker was a nice place for us to stay as a family. Our room was a deluxe standard - with twin queen beds that all of our family of four managed to sleep comfortably in. The pillows, linen and mattress were very comfortable. The ensuite bathroom showers were hot and good pressure - although the water had a strange smell of ammonia??

The pool was very clean and had nice lounges a small bar near it. The breakfast buffet was huge and excellent value as it was included in our price for the room. For dinner we ate in at the restaurant and the food was very good and well priced.

The location of the hotel is near Thamel, which is a 5-10 minute walk away. The hotel is also close to the Garden of Dreams if you want some peace and quiet.

The hotel is full of character as previously it was the palace of the Rana dynasty and was converted to a hotel in the 70s. The rooms has lovely ornate painted paper ceilings and are well kitted out. It currently under renovation due to minor damage from the earthquake in 2015.

Recommended. :)

  • Stayed May 2016, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tassie_Tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P S, Executive Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, May 18, 2016
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Hotel Shanker !

Thank You for taking time to write a review about our property, your comments are very much valued. We really appreciate your comments regarding your comfortable stay, our pool, and the breakfast buffet.
Our staff members take their roles in our industry very seriously and try, everyday to provide that quality customer service , that our guests expect.
Thank you again , and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Hotel Shanker !

Best Regards,
Prina Shrestha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2016

If you fancy a hotel with some old glamour then this is it. We stayed there for two nights and loved the atmosphere. Also the pool is a big plus especially when the weather is hot. It is also very kinds friendly and ideal if you want to relax. The breakfast is definetly the best we had in the four weeks we have spend in Nepal.

  • Stayed April 2016, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 30travelsandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P S, Executive Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, May 18, 2016
Dear Happy Guest,

Thank You for spending time to write a review about Hotel Shanker. I am happy to learn that you enjoyed our "Big Pool" and our "Breakfast". Look our for more promotions and specials in our Facebook page, instagram and hotel website.

We hope to welcome you back soon !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2016

A haven of tranquility where one can escape the chaos of Kathmandu. Great pool and beautiful gardens. It is not perfect but the staff are friendly and attentive. However, prices are very variable - so check.

Room Tip: Ask staff first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2016, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank richard k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P S, Executive Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, May 18, 2016
Dear Richard K,

Greetings From Hotel Shanker !

Thank You for your review about Hotel Shanker. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our services and facilities, we hope to welcome you back soon.

Happy Travels !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
1.9 mi away
Hotel Shambala
Hotel Shambala
#19 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
#18 of 194 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#31 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#2 of 194 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Tibet International
Hotel Tibet International
#17 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kathmandu Guest House
Kathmandu Guest House
#33 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shanker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shanker

Property: Hotel Shanker
Address: | Lazimpat, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Phone Number:
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#14 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
#15 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
#16 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Shanker 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Shanker, Kathmandu is a heritage hotel, housed in a 19th-century palace in the heart of Kathmandu city. It was the royal residence of the rulers of Nepal, from 1894 until 1964, when it was converted into a hotel. The facade and traditions were kept intact but the interiors were redesigned to give travelers the kind of comfort they'd expect of a world class hotel. The hotel is characterized by exquisite and authentic objects d'art. For example, the carved windows displayed in the lobby bar are over 200 years old. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fastbooking, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Shanker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanker Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing