We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“So good I stayed three times between trips out of Kathmandu.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Shanker

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Shanker
Ranked #36 of 193 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
146 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“So good I stayed three times between trips out of Kathmandu.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2016 via mobile

The rooms are great size with traditional dark furniture with green marble tops. The window could be opened to let in enough cool air and didn't so I use the AC. The bed was very comfortable. Special extras include scales for weighing, a mini fridge, kettle with a good few different Twinings tea bags, leather covered tissue box and a newspaper delivered under the door each morning. Wifi was excellent. The hotel didn't seem to have a problem with power outages.

There was a modern elegant bathroom with a magnifying makeup mirror, hairdryer, nice plush towels. On the first and third visit the bathroom had a shower over the bath and the second stay the room had a shower only.

The large swimming pool was clean and well maintained, and towels were provided. There was a pool bar service. Wifi could be accessed there.

TV had quite a few English channels including BBC, CNN, Aljazeera

Breakfast was great - muesli, wholewheat flakes, other cereals, 5 types of fresh fruit, 3 types of juice, egg station, 8 dishes of hot foods, a few cakes & pastries; pancakes /waffle station, cold cuts, cheese and salad.

The restaurant served delicious food, with large servings. Very reasonable rates for half board during renovation.

On third stay there was a noise like an elevator although the room was not near a lift, perhaps from the renovations. I was able to move to a room near where I had previously stayed as these were more quiet. The staff were very kind and helpful.

Stayed April 2016, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank craj11_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P S, Executive Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, April 27, 2016
Dear Guest,
Greetings from Hotel Shanker !
I am very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. We always try our level best to improve on our services and recommendations coming from our valued guests are highly appreciated. We hope you travel to Nepal again and be sure to let us know when you are coming so we can reserve your favourite room for you.
Do checkout our Facebook, Instagram pages and hotel website, trip advisor for promos that you might be interested in your future visit. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Happy Travels !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    487
    167
    42
    13
See reviews for
220
343
151
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2016 via mobile

This is a palace that has been converted into a hotel. This hotel could have been epic if not for a few odd staff behavioural issues. The hotel facade is pretty badly damaged due to the earthquake but they are doing their best to get it up and running. The pick up was on time and what i loved was the fact that the room was exactly as per what i like. To all the americans and Europeans ,please do not compare the room to your standards however for kathmandu standards the rooms were big and spacious with absolutely no view though.
It was also heartening to see that the hotel was a part of charity activities as i did see specially abled children using the hotel pools probably as a good will gesture. The food ranged from excellent to average depending on what you ordered.
The beds offered were nice and cosy although the bathrooms could do with an upgrade although not as filthy as some reviewers have complained about in their previous reviews.
What spoiled it for me though was the behaviour of the check out staff. It was absured that their own room boy offered to open the room for me and then dissappeared with the key. Since i had a spare i did not bother. Unfortunately due to having an infant with us ,we misplaced the room key which is no big deal really..however we were made to pay 600 rs around us dollars 10 for the 2 keys which i found ridiculous. Furthermore the receptionist decided to blame us for losing a tv remote that wasn't there in the room in the first place ! I have no idea what i would do with a hotel tv remote !. All in all a good hotel with lovely staff minus a few rotten eggs.
Ps the breakfast was pretty decent with a wide variety of food choices !

Stayed April 2016, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank globaliteme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P S, Executive Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, April 27, 2016
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Nepal !

Thank You so much for sharing your travel experience. It is only through feedback such as yours that we are able to maintain and indeed, where necessary,improve upon the service that we provide to our valued guests. Iam glad to hear that you enjoyed our meals and facilities at the hotel.
My apologies that your check out was not as smooth as your expectation.We do have policy written in our card holder for misplaced cards and I am sure our team was just following what is written as per the policy. My apologies once again that it was very inconvenient for you and your family.I will make sure that such instances do not recur in the future. Please reach out to me directly, if you would be willing to give us a chance to turn your experience around. We would be glad to welcome you and your family back again !

Happy Travels !
Best Regards,
Prina Shrestha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2016 via mobile

Hotel Shanker is a gem in the busy chaos of Kathmandu. The hotel is set back from the road in the former palace and has retained a very traditional feel. The service was great and we were upgraded to a suite (after an impromptu stay due to internal flight cancellation). The breakfast was an extensive buffet and room service efficient and good value. Great location and fabulous to have a pool and garden which is great when travelling with kids. Definitely recommend.

Stayed April 2016, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank JOGSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P S, executive manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, April 19, 2016
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Nepal !
Thank you for your fantastic review about Shanker Hotel !

Iam very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our warm hospitality. Thank You for your wonderful praise regarding our team members here at the hotel who are always happy to assist our guests.

Our team is looking forward to welcome you and your family back in the near future.

Happy Travels !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2016

Heritage building, lot of surrounding area with pool, better air, nice staff.
Good price / performance ratio (if booked through internet agency).
Good for families and people who like quiet, soigné atmosphere.

Stayed April 2016, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank jon_biveroni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P S, Executive Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, April 19, 2016
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Hotel Shanker !!

Thank you for taking time review about Hotel Shanker. We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you once again and have a good day !!

Happy Travels!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2016 via mobile

This hotel is such a welcome break from the dusty, noisy streets of Nepal. It was so nice to walk in to somewhere cool and clean. The staff are very friendly and helpful, the rooms are cleaned everyday and mineral water replaced. The staff are very accommodating, we got free transfer to and from the airport, they arranged a taxi to narakot, we were able to have an early breakfast as we had an early flight. Payment was easy. The rooms were very comfortable and the pool was a good size and clean.

Stayed April 2016, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Changi11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P S, Executive Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, April 19, 2016
Dear Sharon H,

Greetings from Hotel Shanker !!

Thak You for taking time to review about Hotel Shanker. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
80 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2016

Second hotel we tried in Kathmandu and it was really nice though a big reconstruction was going on while we were therem but it didn't bother us. Room was nice and the whole family could fit in it (two queen size beds). View was kinda bad though, but we got a good price for the room so it was ok.

It has a really nice pool area where we spent a couple of hours. Also have a bar by the pool which was nice.

The best with the hotel was the breakfast though, really good and a lot to choose from.

We mostly took a taxi when leaving the hotel, but didn't take that much time to walk to Thamel. A tip is to leave the hotel area to get a taxi, will get a better price that way + the taxi driver will get all the money.

  • Stayed March 2016, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P S, Executive Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, April 19, 2016
Dear Daniel N,

Namaste !!

Thank You for your time in writing your review about Hotel Shanker !
I was overjoyed to read that we had exceeded your expectations in all of our services. It is a real pleasure to hear such feedback. I am too gratified that you enjoyed our breakfast spread and our pool bar.
I look forward to welcoming you back to Shanker Hotel very soon.

Best Regards,
Prina Shrestha
Executive Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2016

I stayed here along for a couple nights. I didn't feel like going outside the grounds. I just ate, slept, hung out online, read..., like that. It is sort of a trippy place, actually. It doesn't the usual layout of Western hotels. After all it was a king's palace. My room was nice but a little small. However the bathroom is rather first-class. Nice bed. Good internet. Hotel Shanker has two restaurant settings that I found enjoyable - a nice interior space for dinner and also a large atrium space for a very full buffet breakfast. There is also a bar in a different corner of the hotel. Food was good, and I felt good after eating it. A real highlight their Spa which offers many treatments. I had two wonderful massages. So glad I found this. While I was their the main front lobby was closed for renovation, but the hotel held up very well during the huge earthquake less than a year ago, according to reports. Lots of trekkers. Lots of Indian tourists. Lots of Europeans and American. But it never felt crowded to me. A nice mellow place.

  • Stayed April 2016, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jairamransom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P S, Executive Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, April 11, 2016
Dear Happy Guest,

Thank You for taking time to review about Hotel Shanker. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed every bit of your stay.
Thank You once again and we hope to welcome you back again !

Happy Travels !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
1.9 mi away
Hotel Shambala
Hotel Shambala
#20 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Tibet International
Hotel Tibet International
#18 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
2.8 mi away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#2 of 193 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
#9 of 193 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
1.7 mi away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#11 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,009 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#31 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shanker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shanker

Property: Hotel Shanker
Address: | Lazimpat, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Phone Number:
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#14 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
#15 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
#16 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Shanker 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Shanker, Kathmandu is a heritage hotel, housed in a 19th-century palace in the heart of Kathmandu city. It was the royal residence of the rulers of Nepal, from 1894 until 1964, when it was converted into a hotel. The facade and traditions were kept intact but the interiors were redesigned to give travelers the kind of comfort they'd expect of a world class hotel. The hotel is characterized by exquisite and authentic objects d'art. For example, the carved windows displayed in the lobby bar are over 200 years old. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fastbooking, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Shanker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanker Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing