We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,346)
Filter reviews
1,346 results
Traveler rating
511
579
191
48
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
511
579
191
48
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old palace converted palace swimming pool rana palace heritage hotel breakfast buffet an oasis egg station nice pool seen better days travel desk the hustle and bustle tucked away beautiful garden thamel area hot water shankar
Filter
Updating list...
331 - 336 of 1,346 reviews
Reviewed April 24, 2016 via mobile

This is a palace that has been converted into a hotel. This hotel could have been epic if not for a few odd staff behavioural issues. The hotel facade is pretty badly damaged due to the earthquake but they are doing their best to get it up and running. The pick up was on time and what i loved was the fact that the room was exactly as per what i like. To all the americans and Europeans ,please do not compare the room to your standards however for kathmandu standards the rooms were big and spacious with absolutely no view though.
It was also heartening to see that the hotel was a part of charity activities as i did see specially abled children using the hotel pools probably as a good will gesture. The food ranged from excellent to average depending on what you ordered.
The beds offered were nice and cosy although the bathrooms could do with an upgrade although not as filthy as some reviewers have complained about in their previous reviews.
What spoiled it for me though was the behaviour of the check out staff. It was absured that their own room boy offered to open the room for me and then dissappeared with the key. Since i had a spare i did not bother. Unfortunately due to having an infant with us ,we misplaced the room key which is no big deal really..however we were made to pay 600 rs around us dollars 10 for the 2 keys which i found ridiculous. Furthermore the receptionist decided to blame us for losing a tv remote that wasn't there in the room in the first place ! I have no idea what i would do with a hotel tv remote !. All in all a good hotel with lovely staff minus a few rotten eggs.
Ps the breakfast was pretty decent with a wide variety of food choices !

Stayed: April 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank globaliteme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P S, Executive Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2016

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Nepal !

Thank You so much for sharing your travel experience. It is only through feedback such as yours that we are able to maintain and indeed, where necessary,improve upon the service that we provide to our valued guests. Iam glad to hear that you enjoyed our meals and facilities at the hotel.
My apologies that your check out was not as smooth as your expectation.We do have policy written in our card holder for misplaced cards and I am sure our team was just following what is written as per the policy. My apologies once again that it was very inconvenient for you and your family.I will make sure that such instances do not recur in the future. Please reach out to me directly, if you would be willing to give us a chance to turn your experience around. We would be glad to welcome you and your family back again !

Happy Travels !
Best Regards,
Prina Shrestha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2016 via mobile

Hotel Shanker is a gem in the busy chaos of Kathmandu. The hotel is set back from the road in the former palace and has retained a very traditional feel. The service was great and we were upgraded to a suite (after an impromptu stay due to internal flight cancellation). The breakfast was an extensive buffet and room service efficient and good value. Great location and fabulous to have a pool and garden which is great when travelling with kids. Definitely recommend.

Stayed: April 2016, traveled with family
Thank JOGSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P S, executive manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2016

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Nepal !
Thank you for your fantastic review about Shanker Hotel !

Iam very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our warm hospitality. Thank You for your wonderful praise regarding our team members here at the hotel who are always happy to assist our guests.

Our team is looking forward to welcome you and your family back in the near future.

Happy Travels !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2016

Heritage building, lot of surrounding area with pool, better air, nice staff.
Good price / performance ratio (if booked through internet agency).
Good for families and people who like quiet, soigné atmosphere.

Stayed: April 2016, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jon_biveroni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P S, Executive Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2016

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Hotel Shanker !!

Thank you for taking time review about Hotel Shanker. We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you once again and have a good day !!

Happy Travels!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2016 via mobile

This hotel is such a welcome break from the dusty, noisy streets of Nepal. It was so nice to walk in to somewhere cool and clean. The staff are very friendly and helpful, the rooms are cleaned everyday and mineral water replaced. The staff are very accommodating, we got free transfer to and from the airport, they arranged a taxi to narakot, we were able to have an early breakfast as we had an early flight. Payment was easy. The rooms were very comfortable and the pool was a good size and clean.

Stayed: April 2016, traveled with friends
Thank Changi11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P S, Executive Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2016

Dear Sharon H,

Greetings from Hotel Shanker !!

Thak You for taking time to review about Hotel Shanker. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2016

Second hotel we tried in Kathmandu and it was really nice though a big reconstruction was going on while we were therem but it didn't bother us. Room was nice and the whole family could fit in it (two queen size beds). View was kinda bad though, but we got a good price for the room so it was ok.

It has a really nice pool area where we spent a couple of hours. Also have a bar by the pool which was nice.

The best with the hotel was the breakfast though, really good and a lot to choose from.

We mostly took a taxi when leaving the hotel, but didn't take that much time to walk to Thamel. A tip is to leave the hotel area to get a taxi, will get a better price that way + the taxi driver will get all the money.

  • Stayed: March 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Daniel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P S, Executive Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2016

Dear Daniel N,

Namaste !!

Thank You for your time in writing your review about Hotel Shanker !
I was overjoyed to read that we had exceeded your expectations in all of our services. It is a real pleasure to hear such feedback. I am too gratified that you enjoyed our breakfast spread and our pool bar.
I look forward to welcoming you back to Shanker Hotel very soon.

Best Regards,
Prina Shrestha
Executive Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews