We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,343)
Filter reviews
1,343 results
Traveler rating
511
576
191
48
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
511
576
191
48
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old palace converted palace swimming pool rana palace heritage hotel breakfast buffet an oasis egg station nice pool seen better days travel desk the hustle and bustle tucked away beautiful garden thamel area hot water shankar
Filter
Updating list...
521 - 526 of 1,343 reviews
Reviewed October 15, 2014

Shanker Hotel was our base in Kathmandu pre and post trekking in the Annapurna region in September 2014. It is an oasis of quiet and calm in the hustle and noise of Kathmandu with beautiful gardens and swimming pool. The hotel itself is very old world charm but has all the modern conveniences you need, including a back up generator to cope with the frequent power cuts in KTM. The hotel staff - from the doorman to the reception staff to the porters and waiters are all excellent and customer focused. The restaurant has an excellent variety of different foods, the breakfasts laid out buffet style were excellent and the hotel bar has a nice selection of beer, wine and imported spirits. If we ever return to Nepal, I would stay here again for sure. Also walking distance to Thamel but we took a 2 person bike rickshaw from the hotel gates which waits there for hotel guests and that was a hoot in the traffic chaos of Kathmandu. The driver came back for us and the cost was very reasonable (Nepal Rupees 200). Gave the driver a big tip tho as it is hard work!

Stayed: September 2014, traveled with friends
Thank dexter1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2014

A big thank you from the Hotel Shanker team for penning down such a wonderful review and taking the time to upload nice photos from your trip. We are glad to hear that you appreciated all our Food and Beverage offerings. Thank you once again and we hope that you stay with us again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2014

The two last nights of our Tibet-Nepal tour were spent in this historical, beautiful hotel. Inside the walls there is a beautiful park and swimmingpool. The room in the 5th floor was ok, very standard. The view from the window was to the backyard, nothing of the beautiful was seen. The beds were good, the room and bathroom clean. The bathroom was small, hard to find place to all necessary things. Wifi in room was charged by hour or day, quite expensive e.g. $12/day. The location is ok, but "walking distance" to Thamel is relative. After couple of hours shopping or in the night you want to take a taxi. However, taxis are inexpensive. The Kunti bar is cosy but the restaurant in the basement very ordinary. The breakfast is abundant and taste, really enjoyable. The staff was friendly.

Room Tip: The rooms facing to the garden would be nice. There are very many different types of standard room, you might want to have a look at the room first
  • Stayed: October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irmeli W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2014

It gives me immense joy to learn that you deeply enjoyed the historical character of our hotel. Also, I am happy to hear that you enjoyed walking around our expansive front lawns and garden area. Noted your concerns regarding the bathroom. Thank you once again for the wonderful review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2014

Beautiful hotel in central location, at easy walking distance from Thamel. The breakfast was good and rich. Staff absolutely friendly and very helpful. Cable TV and free wifi in room. Nice pool with bar. The restaurant offers lots of western options, not too pricey and very good (and clean). They were nice to provide airport transfer and extra bed. The only negative point for me was the bathroom, which looked quite old and did not feel too clean.

  • Stayed: October 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank ffrige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2015

Thank you for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2014

We a group of 7 , were on vacation in Kathmandu for 10 days . we stayed at this hotel for 5 nights and balance 2 nights in Nagarkot and another 2 nights in pokhara.. The booking of the hotel was done by our travel agent from New Delhi , India.. The hotel rates charged by our tour agent was double from the the rates, if we booked online hotel bookings . I was convinced that a tour package was the total responsibility of the tour agent providing ground arrangement plus hotel bookings. If we had did the online hotel booking the wifi is free . When we checked into the hotel , the hotel refused to provide free wifi service ,stating that only online hotel bookings were provided free wifi .. We were cut out from communicating with the loved ones at home because of the said hotel policy; while all the westerns were given free wifi service compared to Asian. It really shows a double standard.in hotel management.After some complaining to our tour agent we were given free wifi on our 3 day of stay for 4 pax for the 4 rooms we stayed there before we moved to Nagarkot and Pokhara where free wifi was given as we checked into the hotel..The food and beverage prices were very expensive for this hotel.. Other then that the hotel service was excellent , very spacious garden with swimming pool and near to main shopping center. I would like advice future travelers who have booked to stay in this hotel to make sure that you are provided the service as per advertise online by the hotel. Finally if I were to come back to Nepal again ,I will definitely not stay in this hotel..

Room Tip: Rooms facing the front or the garden
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank vejayan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2014

Granted that you were denied access to Free Wi Fi and that you could not communicate with your family back home. You could have easily purchased the Wi Fi plan @ less than $7. We sell different types of rate plans, and currently guests booked through tour agents do not fall into the Free Wi Fi category. Other guests who availed Free Wi Fi were all those who had booked through online channels with Free Wi Fi plan.

You should note that we are a four star establishment and that F & B prices will reflect that price block. I am sorry that your tour agent marked up the rates so much, but that's the tour agent's fault. I strongly suggest that if you are looking for good deals in any hotel, you should skip the middleman and book directly and not blame the hotel's management for something that is outside its circle of influence.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2014

Quite expensive for nepal but they offer so many services and are just far enough from the main hustle and bustle to get a bit of peace and quiet in hectic kathmandu. Rooms are beautiful and clean and staff very friendly and happy to help. Pretty much every service one could possibly need is taken care of. Pool even has water in it which we learnt from the locals and other travellers is actually not very common in nepal. It definitely is on the pricey side though but if you can afford it well worth the money even just for a couple of days to relax.

  • Stayed: October 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Carlie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews