We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay. Great breakfast”
Review of Hotel Shanker

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Shanker
Ranked #37 of 198 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
92 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
“Excellent stay. Great breakfast”
Reviewed October 17, 2014

We stayed at 3 different 4 star resorts in Kathmandu during our 2 week trip to Nepal. This hotel is very comfortable and is almost unique in the experience because of the decor and it may have had the very best breakfast we had on our trip. Terrific experience and absolutely no complaints.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saccuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, October 22, 2014
We take pride in knowing after your experience at different top quality hotels and resorts in Nepal, you rank our property among the best and unique ones. I have forwarded your comments about the breakfast to our Chef, and I am sure that reading this review will make him and his team feel great about their work.

Thanks once again, and have a great evening.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    504
    178
    44
    13
See reviews for
230
361
158
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
96 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2014 via mobile

Shanker Hotel was our base in Kathmandu pre and post trekking in the Annapurna region in September 2014. It is an oasis of quiet and calm in the hustle and noise of Kathmandu with beautiful gardens and swimming pool. The hotel itself is very old world charm but has all the modern conveniences you need, including a back up generator to cope with the frequent power cuts in KTM. The hotel staff - from the doorman to the reception staff to the porters and waiters are all excellent and customer focused. The restaurant has an excellent variety of different foods, the breakfasts laid out buffet style were excellent and the hotel bar has a nice selection of beer, wine and imported spirits. If we ever return to Nepal, I would stay here again for sure. Also walking distance to Thamel but we took a 2 person bike rickshaw from the hotel gates which waits there for hotel guests and that was a hoot in the traffic chaos of Kathmandu. The driver came back for us and the cost was very reasonable (Nepal Rupees 200). Gave the driver a big tip tho as it is hard work!

Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank dexter1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, October 16, 2014
A big thank you from the Hotel Shanker team for penning down such a wonderful review and taking the time to upload nice photos from your trip. We are glad to hear that you appreciated all our Food and Beverage offerings. Thank you once again and we hope that you stay with us again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo
Level Contributor
66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2014

The two last nights of our Tibet-Nepal tour were spent in this historical, beautiful hotel. Inside the walls there is a beautiful park and swimmingpool. The room in the 5th floor was ok, very standard. The view from the window was to the backyard, nothing of the beautiful was seen. The beds were good, the room and bathroom clean. The bathroom was small, hard to find place to all necessary things. Wifi in room was charged by hour or day, quite expensive e.g. $12/day. The location is ok, but "walking distance" to Thamel is relative. After couple of hours shopping or in the night you want to take a taxi. However, taxis are inexpensive. The Kunti bar is cosy but the restaurant in the basement very ordinary. The breakfast is abundant and taste, really enjoyable. The staff was friendly.

Room Tip: The rooms facing to the garden would be nice. There are very many different types of standard room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irmeli W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, October 16, 2014
It gives me immense joy to learn that you deeply enjoyed the historical character of our hotel. Also, I am happy to hear that you enjoyed walking around our expansive front lawns and garden area. Noted your concerns regarding the bathroom. Thank you once again for the wonderful review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shanghai
Level Contributor
250 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2014

Beautiful hotel in central location, at easy walking distance from Thamel. The breakfast was good and rich. Staff absolutely friendly and very helpful. Cable TV and free wifi in room. Nice pool with bar. The restaurant offers lots of western options, not too pricey and very good (and clean). They were nice to provide airport transfer and extra bed. The only negative point for me was the bathroom, which looked quite old and did not feel too clean.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ffrige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, January 29, 2015
Thank you for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kajang.malaysia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2014

We a group of 7 , were on vacation in Kathmandu for 10 days . we stayed at this hotel for 5 nights and balance 2 nights in Nagarkot and another 2 nights in pokhara.. The booking of the hotel was done by our travel agent from New Delhi , India.. The hotel rates charged by our tour agent was double from the the rates, if we booked online hotel bookings . I was convinced that a tour package was the total responsibility of the tour agent providing ground arrangement plus hotel bookings. If we had did the online hotel booking the wifi is free . When we checked into the hotel , the hotel refused to provide free wifi service ,stating that only online hotel bookings were provided free wifi .. We were cut out from communicating with the loved ones at home because of the said hotel policy; while all the westerns were given free wifi service compared to Asian. It really shows a double standard.in hotel management.After some complaining to our tour agent we were given free wifi on our 3 day of stay for 4 pax for the 4 rooms we stayed there before we moved to Nagarkot and Pokhara where free wifi was given as we checked into the hotel..The food and beverage prices were very expensive for this hotel.. Other then that the hotel service was excellent , very spacious garden with swimming pool and near to main shopping center. I would like advice future travelers who have booked to stay in this hotel to make sure that you are provided the service as per advertise online by the hotel. Finally if I were to come back to Nepal again ,I will definitely not stay in this hotel..

Room Tip: Rooms facing the front or the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vejayan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, October 10, 2014
Granted that you were denied access to Free Wi Fi and that you could not communicate with your family back home. You could have easily purchased the Wi Fi plan @ less than $7. We sell different types of rate plans, and currently guests booked through tour agents do not fall into the Free Wi Fi category. Other guests who availed Free Wi Fi were all those who had booked through online channels with Free Wi Fi plan.

You should note that we are a four star establishment and that F & B prices will reflect that price block. I am sorry that your tour agent marked up the rates so much, but that's the tour agent's fault. I strongly suggest that if you are looking for good deals in any hotel, you should skip the middleman and book directly and not blame the hotel's management for something that is outside its circle of influence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2014

Quite expensive for nepal but they offer so many services and are just far enough from the main hustle and bustle to get a bit of peace and quiet in hectic kathmandu. Rooms are beautiful and clean and staff very friendly and happy to help. Pretty much every service one could possibly need is taken care of. Pool even has water in it which we learnt from the locals and other travellers is actually not very common in nepal. It definitely is on the pricey side though but if you can afford it well worth the money even just for a couple of days to relax.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
109 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2014 via mobile

While the Shanker is expensive by Nepal's standards, it is clean, full of character and conveniently located. It is a very short walk to Thamel and not too distant from the airport. Kathmandu is chaotic and crazy. The Shanker was in a quieter neighborhood and was just far enough away from the craziness to be a very welcomed retreat at the end of the day.

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Intrepid T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, October 7, 2014
Hi!

Thank you for the review. Really appreciate your spreading the word.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
1.9 mi away
Hotel Shambala
Hotel Shambala
#26 of 198 in Kathmandu
369 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kantipur Temple House
Kantipur Temple House
#16 of 198 in Kathmandu
770 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Hotel Yak & Yeti
#46 of 198 in Kathmandu
1,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#12 of 198 in Kathmandu
1,072 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#31 of 198 in Kathmandu
1,506 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
#15 of 198 in Kathmandu
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shanker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shanker

Property: Hotel Shanker
Address: | Lazimpat, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Phone Number:
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#14 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
#15 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
#16 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Shanker 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Shanker, Kathmandu is a heritage hotel, housed in a 19th-century palace in the heart of Kathmandu city. It was the royal residence of the rulers of Nepal, from 1894 until 1964, when it was converted into a hotel. The facade and traditions were kept intact but the interiors were redesigned to give travelers the kind of comfort they'd expect of a world class hotel. The hotel is characterized by exquisite and authentic objects d'art. For example, the carved windows displayed in the lobby bar are over 200 years old. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Fastbooking, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Shanker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanker Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing