We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,346)
Filter reviews
1,346 results
Traveler rating
511
579
191
48
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
511
579
191
48
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old palace converted palace swimming pool rana palace heritage hotel breakfast buffet an oasis egg station nice pool seen better days travel desk the hustle and bustle tucked away beautiful garden thamel area hot water shankar
Filter
Updating list...
548 - 553 of 1,346 reviews
Reviewed August 7, 2014

The location is great. It is walking distance from the center, the restaurants and stores. The buiding itselves looks better than the room. But the room is not bad, has a good size, the staff is very kind and the breakfast has options for everyone, from vegetarian until the classic eggs with sausages.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClaudiaV166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2014

Hi there,

Thanks for uploading those photos from your trip. Our chef is takes genuine pride in reading your comments! Thanks for spreading the word around.

Happy travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2014

Just returned from Nepal and we stayed in the Shanker for 3 nights - the front desk staff were delightful and really helpful . Bikash Shresth went out of his way to resolve an issue we had with the Tranquillity Spa over an over price. Rooms were comfortable and the hotel menu was varied.The restaurant staff were very pleasant and helpful. Lovely place to stay in the madness of Kathmandu!

Room Tip: The mattresses are very hard !
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Powell2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

Hi there,

Thank you so much for taking time off to write this lovely review of our hotel following your visit.

I have noted your comments about the mattresses and forwarded it to the management. I am also very happy to know that you were more than satisfied with the overall provided services.

Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2014

Showing it's age a bit but a very nice calm place to stay near the madness of Thamel. Excellent staff. Very helpful and friendly. Nice variety at the breakfast buffet (particularly if you like Indian food) - my kids really liked the pancakes and french toast (french toast seemed to be served every other day). They also prepare eggs to order. Ate at the restaurant a few times and the food was very good - there is also 24 hour room service. My son wanted me to say that they have good ice cream sundaes. Both the restaurant and room service add a 10% service charge (and 13% tax). Stayed in the Shanker suite and there was plenty of room for four of us. Power goes out occasionally but the generator kicks in within 15 seconds (or the power comes back on). We had some problems with the air conditioning the first night and they had a small army in the room soon after I called in the morning that fixed the problem quickly. Some outside noise but nothing that bothered us - it's remarkably quiet considering the surrounding area. My only complaint is that the pool is open for outside memberships and can be quite busy in the afternoons. That wouldn't keep me from staying here again though. They exchange money at the front desk and they seem to give a decent rate. The travel desk was very helpful (and also took USD). We took a few half-day trips and the car was $20-$22 USD for the driver to take us somewhere, wait a couple of hours and bring us home. They can have a car for you in less than one hour. Had laundry done with no issues.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Edward F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

Good to see your detailed review.

I am very happy that you had many positive things to write about.

Regarding your concern about local taxation rates, these rates are applicable everywhere in Nepal. All service business have to charge that extra tax as per government regulations. Our chef is delighted to know that you appreciated the breakfast spread.

Happy travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2014

Kathmandu is madness. The Shanker is provides respite. Set back from the maddening traffic, dust and crowds, it old style, like Caves House or the Hydro Majestic, but well maintined in its original colonial style. It was once a royal residence, so has lots of space to chill, unusual in Kathmandu. The rooms are recently refurbished, stylish but a little tight, particularly their bathrooms, but its not expensive.

The Bar is awesome, it should be on the World Heritage list. The staff throughout the establishement are delightful. I also rate the restaurant. Beutifuly fitted out colinial style with Nepalese, Indian and Western food. The familiy and I loved it.

Breakfasts are in the ballroom. The offering is comrehensive and make lunch academic. We have been to the Shanker twice and would happily stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

Thank you for comparing our hotel to one of the top hotels in your country. We really appreciate that. I am very happy to learn that you were more than happy with the services that were provided by us during your stay. I definitely hope to see you again on your return visit to Kathmandu!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Everything was superb: from the room - small but cosy, service - attentive, informative & welcoming, food - delicious with good choice, hotel & grounds - grand, lots of art & handicraft pieces around to appreciate, the exterior made you feel you're back in the colonial days of old... gardens & pool area was serene & peaceful for a nice quiet teatime or to read a book. I would say the only setback was that we were there when they were upgrading the lifts, so had to get up the stairs at times - good thing we only needed to get up a couple of floors (the lifts could be called up to come downstairs but not to call down to go up!), but the staff were good to 'get' the lift for us when we bumped into any one of them when we needed to get upstairs. Worth a return trip!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AC_Khoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

Thank for for uploading those photos! They are very nice and they add a nice personal touch to your review. We are delighted to have been able to provide you with the perfect center point for your Nepal trip. During the time you were with us, we were in the middle of installing new elevators -- hence the inconveniences. Rest assured that all our new elevators are functioning smoothly.

Best,
Pratik

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews