We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing Place and good value for the money”
Review of Hotel Shanker

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Shanker
Ranked #39 of 210 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 10, 2014

We stayed at Hotel Shanker from May 21st to May 24th, 2014. It was an amazing experience and good service for the value of the money we pay. Right from the moment when you arrive out of the cute little Kathmandu Airport, they were waiting fro us with the airport pick up. The check in was easy and people were really friendly. The restaurant was nice and good food at good price. The rooms were spacious, and nice. I would have one suggestion though it would be nice to have a dehumidifier in rooms, to reduce the mugginess due to the humid air.
The hotel itself is a palace with beautiful garden and a swimming pool. The staff were really helpful in guiding us to the right places and helping us with finding a pharmacy and other things. We were visiting Kathmandu after visiting New Delhi, and it was amazing to see some smiling and greeting faces in Nepal. Nepal and Kathmandu was an amazing country and we will visit again for sure.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Alex Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2014

Hello!

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us on Trip Advisor. Your candid comments will really help fellow travellers in deciding whether Shanker is the right fit for their travel needs. We are very happy to learn that you appreciated the levels of service provided by our team members.

Definitely look forward to your return visit later this year. Please feel free to get in touch with me to manage your reservations.

Thanks,
Pratik

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,224)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

445 - 451 of 1,224 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2014

The location is great. It is walking distance from the center, the restaurants and stores. The buiding itselves looks better than the room. But the room is not bad, has a good size, the staff is very kind and the breakfast has options for everyone, from vegetarian until the classic eggs with sausages.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claudia maria d... v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2014

Hi there,

Thanks for uploading those photos from your trip. Our chef is takes genuine pride in reading your comments! Thanks for spreading the word around.

Happy travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2014

Just returned from Nepal and we stayed in the Shanker for 3 nights - the front desk staff were delightful and really helpful . Bikash Shresth went out of his way to resolve an issue we had with the Tranquillity Spa over an over price. Rooms were comfortable and the hotel menu was varied.The restaurant staff were very pleasant and helpful. Lovely place to stay in the madness of Kathmandu!

Room Tip: The mattresses are very hard !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Powell2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

Hi there,

Thank you so much for taking time off to write this lovely review of our hotel following your visit.

I have noted your comments about the mattresses and forwarded it to the management. I am also very happy to know that you were more than satisfied with the overall provided services.

Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2014

Showing it's age a bit but a very nice calm place to stay near the madness of Thamel. Excellent staff. Very helpful and friendly. Nice variety at the breakfast buffet (particularly if you like Indian food) - my kids really liked the pancakes and french toast (french toast seemed to be served every other day). They also prepare eggs to order. Ate at the restaurant a few times and the food was very good - there is also 24 hour room service. My son wanted me to say that they have good ice cream sundaes. Both the restaurant and room service add a 10% service charge (and 13% tax). Stayed in the Shanker suite and there was plenty of room for four of us. Power goes out occasionally but the generator kicks in within 15 seconds (or the power comes back on). We had some problems with the air conditioning the first night and they had a small army in the room soon after I called in the morning that fixed the problem quickly. Some outside noise but nothing that bothered us - it's remarkably quiet considering the surrounding area. My only complaint is that the pool is open for outside memberships and can be quite busy in the afternoons. That wouldn't keep me from staying here again though. They exchange money at the front desk and they seem to give a decent rate. The travel desk was very helpful (and also took USD). We took a few half-day trips and the car was $20-$22 USD for the driver to take us somewhere, wait a couple of hours and bring us home. They can have a car for you in less than one hour. Had laundry done with no issues.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Eddie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

Good to see your detailed review.

I am very happy that you had many positive things to write about.

Regarding your concern about local taxation rates, these rates are applicable everywhere in Nepal. All service business have to charge that extra tax as per government regulations. Our chef is delighted to know that you appreciated the breakfast spread.

Happy travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2014

Kathmandu is madness. The Shanker is provides respite. Set back from the maddening traffic, dust and crowds, it old style, like Caves House or the Hydro Majestic, but well maintined in its original colonial style. It was once a royal residence, so has lots of space to chill, unusual in Kathmandu. The rooms are recently refurbished, stylish but a little tight, particularly their bathrooms, but its not expensive.

The Bar is awesome, it should be on the World Heritage list. The staff throughout the establishement are delightful. I also rate the restaurant. Beutifuly fitted out colinial style with Nepalese, Indian and Western food. The familiy and I loved it.

Breakfasts are in the ballroom. The offering is comrehensive and make lunch academic. We have been to the Shanker twice and would happily stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

Thank you for comparing our hotel to one of the top hotels in your country. We really appreciate that. I am very happy to learn that you were more than happy with the services that were provided by us during your stay. I definitely hope to see you again on your return visit to Kathmandu!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Everything was superb: from the room - small but cosy, service - attentive, informative & welcoming, food - delicious with good choice, hotel & grounds - grand, lots of art & handicraft pieces around to appreciate, the exterior made you feel you're back in the colonial days of old... gardens & pool area was serene & peaceful for a nice quiet teatime or to read a book. I would say the only setback was that we were there when they were upgrading the lifts, so had to get up the stairs at times - good thing we only needed to get up a couple of floors (the lifts could be called up to come downstairs but not to call down to go up!), but the staff were good to 'get' the lift for us when we bumped into any one of them when we needed to get upstairs. Worth a return trip!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AC_Khoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

Thank for for uploading those photos! They are very nice and they add a nice personal touch to your review. We are delighted to have been able to provide you with the perfect center point for your Nepal trip. During the time you were with us, we were in the middle of installing new elevators -- hence the inconveniences. Rest assured that all our new elevators are functioning smoothly.

Best,
Pratik

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2014

I like the architecture, the grand style, the customer service, our bedroom and bed ;) and the swimming pool area, finally the great Italian Lavazza coffee, which is the greatest.
I disliked the quality of the food (on three different occasions), the laundry division has burnt 2 clothing items during the ironing process, the breakfast has poor continental choices, the swimming area being full with kids having a swim lesson (from outside the hotel)- its a lovely gesture- but- the hotels customers are paying for the privilege to be there, so if they would like to take a swim in the 40 degrees and they can`t.....And ultimately, I have never experienced such a dirty and low quality bathrooms/ toilets (both in our bedroom and public areas)

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TSowi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

Very disappointed to learn that we failed to satisfy you on an overall basis. Nothing that we say this point forward will change anything about the way you feel about your stay at our hotel -- but we do take each and every customer feedback seriously and dissect every critical remark to further improve the way we conduct our institution.

Your complaints have been duly noted and we will act on them so that future guests do not experience the same inconveniences.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
1.9 mi away
Hotel Shambala
Hotel Shambala
#25 of 210 in Kathmandu
414 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Hotel Yak & Yeti
#55 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,234 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
#66 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#4 of 210 in Kathmandu
481 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kantipur Temple House
Kantipur Temple House
#22 of 210 in Kathmandu
823 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
#15 of 210 in Kathmandu
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shanker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shanker

Address: | Lazimpat, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Phone Number:
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#12 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
#14 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
#15 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
#16 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range: $67 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Shanker 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Shanker, Kathmandu is a heritage hotel, housed in a 19th-century palace in the heart of Kathmandu city. It was the royal residence of the rulers of Nepal, from 1894 until 1964, when it was converted into a hotel. The facade and traditions were kept intact but the interiors were redesigned to give travelers the kind of comfort they'd expect of a world class hotel. The hotel is characterized by exquisite and authentic objects d'art. For example, the carved windows displayed in the lobby bar are over 200 years old. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Shanker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanker Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing