We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to relax in bustling Kathmandu”
Review of Hotel Shanker

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Shanker
Ranked #40 of 210 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 27, 2014

One of the things I love about Kathmandu is the buzz you get from the busy streets. However, it is good to be able to retreat to the quiet and calm of the Shanker. It is close to the centre but set in its own peaceful gardens.

The hotel itself offers all the facilities you need (clean comfortable rooms with AC and fridge) and staff are friendly and attentive. There is a wide range of food available for breakfast and while dinner and drinks are more expensive than in Thamel, they are not outrageous.

The hotel is set in a former palace and does have an air of faded glory. I first stayed there 20 years ago and nothing much has changed. You feel that with a few million spent on it it could be made in to something spectacular.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Max M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for your wonderful comments.

It was great to know that enjoyed your stay with us on an overall basis and I am glad to know that we were able to have left a favorable impression.

We hope to welcome you back again sometime in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,224)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

494 - 500 of 1,224 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2014

We stayed here for a few nights before and after trekking.
Beautiful building with many original features and lovely gardens.
Very good location:walking distance from Thamel but well set back from road and away from noise.
Wonderful old fashioned values- helpful doorstaff, porters, reception & housekeepers.
Generously sized rooms with good facilities & hot water.
Very good buffet breakfast and good value evening meal.
Able to offer luggage store and safebox facilities for trekkers - really useful.
I tried the local spa for a massage after the trek - superb value and very good.

Room Tip: Keep trying if they say they are full - their IT system does not seem to keep up with their occupanc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PSN57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

We are delighted to read that you have truly enjoyed your days at our hotel and that you were satisfied with the overall provided services.

Rest assured that your compliments about the breakfast has gladly been shared with the Chef and we do look forward to welcoming you soon again to our hotel.

Please feel free to contact us directly for any assistance you may need prior to placing a new booking and thus making your stay with us even more memorable.

Warmest Regards,
Pratik S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Hotel Shanker was intended to be a relief after a long hike in Langtang having nice facilities and a large garden with a big swimming pool in the middle of a smog and dusty Kathmandu. However the hotel staff could barely speak English and had little interest in trying to do more than the bare minimum one would expect from a standard hotel and the food was disappointing as well, making us to wonder how it could be that the small tea houses in Langtang actually had better service and more interest in accommodating its guests so the second day we escaped to the neighboring Radisson Hotel for much better food and service

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JorgenThor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

I apologize for any inconvenience caused on your recent stay with us. I do regret that you were not satisfied with our food and services and that we could not apologize to you in person.

This is a very unique case since majority of our guests rate our service very highly. Also, all of them can understand English. This skill is prerequisite. I do not know why you felt this way. Please allow me to assert that your comparison with roadside tea houses is a wild exaggeration.

For your reference, we have discussed this feedback with our team to address any shortcomings and avoid any similar issues in the future. While this may not change anything about your situation and feeling about your stay with us, hopefully it shows you that we do take guest feedback seriously and improve on any potential shortcomings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Although the hotel may have lost some of its regal splendor over the years, it is a welcome respite from the hustle and bustle of central Kathmandu, yet it is only minutes away. The hotel offers all the basic amenities and the buffet breakfast includes a nice variety of local and international selections. The spacious grounds provide a delightful place to relax after a busy day of sightseeing and the staff goes out of its way to make one's stay a most pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LALawyer2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Thank you for taking time reviewing us at tripadvisor. I am very glad to know that your stay was a very good one and that you felt comfortable in our rooms and with our facilities. I also appreciate that you mentioned the quality of our restaurant food.

Thank you again, and please come and stay with us once more during your next visit to Kathmandu.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

I chose this hotel after reading a lot of reviews, and visiting a number of the local hotels both in the vicinity of the Shanker (including the Radisson) and the highest Tripadvisor rated hotels in Thamel.

The Shanker proved to be a great choice. The location is perfect in my opinion - a 15 minute walk from Thamel and it's facilities, but much quieter than a central Thamel hotel. The relaxing resort feel proved to be perfect after doing some trekking, and relaxing by the pool with the nearby pool bar was just what we needed.

The quality of accommodation was lovely, both the bedrooms and also the communal areas. The building was lovely, with old world charm but also kept nicely up to date.

The food was great, but had a bias toward Indian and Nepali dishes. This was perfect for me, but some other guests were complaining about the lack of more continental options. This was evident at both breakfast and dinner.

The only real downside I found to the hotel was the rather dismissive manner of some of the staff, particularly in the reception area. I'm more usually a business traveller, and wonder if they would have been more receptive if I'd arrived in this guise. By way of contrast, the door staff, waiters and porters were excellent.

I wouldn't hesitate to stay at the Shanker again, and would highly recommend it over the usual Thamel options. The comparative value for money of the Shanker is excellent - remember a taxi to Thamel shouldn't cost more than 200 rupees if you don't want to do the 15 minute walk.

For me, the Shanker combines the best of both worlds, a great hotel experience without losing the local Kathmandu vibe.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BushWalker74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for your wonderful comments.

It is good to know that we were able to satisfy a discerning traveler such as you. We take that as a compliment.

It was great to know that enjoyed your stay with us on an overall basis and I am glad to know that we were able to have left a favorable impression.

We hope to welcome you back again sometime in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Our family of 7 stayed at the Shenkar for 5 nights and were very pleased for following reasons:
- unique old palace building with newly renovated, modern rooms with classic Nepalese decoration and style
- quiet location removed from hubbub of central Kathmandu, but close to center sites and Thamel
- beautiful pool
- 2 rooms large enough for family of 7 (with kids 5-18) with 2 extra beds and all our luggage
- very good service
- very good price compared to other hotels of a similar class
overall highly reccomended

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Am delighted to read that you have truly enjoyed your days at our hotel and that you were satisfied with the overall provided services.

Rest assured that your compliments about the breakfast has gladly been shared with the Chef and we do look forward to welcoming you soon again to our hotel.

I have noted down your comments regarding the 'dismissive nature' of some of our staff members. Will look further into this matter. Thank you for pointing it out.

Please feel free to contact us directly for any assistance you may need prior to placing a new booking and thus making your stay with us even more memorable.

Warmest Regards,
Pratik S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

The Shanker hotel is a nice getaway from the busy streets of Kathmandu. Set in a former palace with huge gardens, a pool and a poolbar - it is a great place to relax and rest.

The rooms were a generous size at a very reasonable price, the restaurant food was delicious and the buffet breakfast offered a huge selection with eggs made to order!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie9583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

It is good to know that you rate our hotel to be a good mix of value and comfort, and that we fare better than most regular luxury hotels. I have duly noted your good and "not so good" points and hope that we improve on the ones you perceived as "not so good"

We do have a uniqueness that really sets us apart from regular 'chain' hotels as we are housed in a 19th century neoclassical palace. Every area of our property is full of historical characteristics.

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments here on trip advisor. Hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
1.9 mi away
Hotel Shambala
Hotel Shambala
#26 of 210 in Kathmandu
415 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Hotel Yak & Yeti
#55 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,237 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
#67 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Kantipur Temple House
Kantipur Temple House
#21 of 210 in Kathmandu
824 reviews
2.8 mi away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#5 of 210 in Kathmandu
481 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
#15 of 210 in Kathmandu
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shanker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shanker

Address: | Lazimpat, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Phone Number:
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#14 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
#15 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
#16 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range: $67 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Shanker 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Shanker, Kathmandu is a heritage hotel, housed in a 19th-century palace in the heart of Kathmandu city. It was the royal residence of the rulers of Nepal, from 1894 until 1964, when it was converted into a hotel. The facade and traditions were kept intact but the interiors were redesigned to give travelers the kind of comfort they'd expect of a world class hotel. The hotel is characterized by exquisite and authentic objects d'art. For example, the carved windows displayed in the lobby bar are over 200 years old. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Shanker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanker Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing