We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis in Kathmandu”
Review of Hotel Shanker

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Shanker
Ranked #38 of 198 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Oasis in Kathmandu”
Reviewed April 11, 2014

We stayed here for three nights at the beginning of our trip and returned for one night at the end. The hotel arranged for a car to meet us at the airport ($17), which worked well. The hotel is a former palace and it has the faded charm of a bygone era. We had a large room with a king sized bed and was still spacious enough for an extra bed for our son. The bathroom was small but the shower was surprisingly powerful, with plenty of hot water. The breakfast (included in the price) was pretty good, with made to order omelettes and a variety of items from tomato soup (!) to Indian and other European options. Actually we appreciated the breakfast all the more on our return trip. The swimming pool in the gardens is lovely and refreshing after a hot and dusty day's sightseeing. It can get quiet busy with children but at other times it is peaceful. There are changing rooms and a cafe by the pool. Just outside the entrance to the hotel (to the right as you leave leave the entrance drive) is an ATM, where our UK card worked without difficulty. Although the hotel is within walking distance of Thamel, it is a dusty walk, so we went by rickshaw. The rickshaw driver who waits outside the hotel entrance was friendly. The staff in the Shanker are really friendly too. It felt like coming home on our return trip.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyFamily0f3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Hello and good day,

Thank you for taking time reviewing us at tripadvisor. I am very glad to know that your stay was a very good one and that you felt comfortable in our rooms and with our facilities. I also appreciate that you mentioned the quality of our restaurant food.

Thank you again, and please come and stay with us once more during your next visit to Kathmandu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    506
    177
    44
    13
See reviews for
231
363
158
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel after a trek and loved it for it's great hot water, spacious and quiet rooms. We did not have a view of anything other than the roof though and asking for a pool view may be a good idea.

The breakfast was excellent, fresh pancakes and omelettes as well as indian and western options. The restaurant is fine for dinner but there are wetter options in and towards Thamel - admittedly a 15-20 minute walk or a taxi will take you for about 300 rupees.

Very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LcatB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Thank you so much for uploading a nice photograph of your room.

Thanks for taking to pen down this review. I am glad to hear that the overall provided services were able to satisfy your needs.

I will share your reviews about the F & B with our team -- which I am sure they will be glad to hear.

Thank you once again, I do hope that we get the opportunity to welcome you back to Hotel Shanker once again.

Best regards,
Pratik S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

We stayed for 6 nights in one of their suites as we were travelling with children. Suite was simple but clean and layout worked well for the additional 2 beds we requested (additional cost). We found the staff very friendly,hotel full of charm but a bit (old Palace) tired. The breakfast was of a good standard, served in a large bright decorative ball-room type room. The bar was extremely ornate and cosy and lovely retreat at end of day.The grounds were lovely considering where you were. Our boys did swim in the pool but too cold for us! Found hotel to be in a great location, only 10 min walk to Thamel and always taxis around if you needed a ride (albeit you might have to walk outside the hotel to flag one down). The hotel also catered for all types of travellers, which adds to the buzz of the place. My only grumble is price hotel charge for airport pick/drop off. We arranged our own transport (third of price). We had a fantastic stay and would highly recommend Shanker Hotel to anyone visiting Kathmandu.

Room Tip: We had a corner suite on the 7th floor. We were facing the back (not much of view but you could see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzewebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
We are delighted to read that you have truly enjoyed your days at our hotel and that you were satisfied with the overall provided services.

Rest assured that your compliments about the breakfast has gladly been shared with the Chef and we do look forward to welcoming you soon again to our hotel.

I have noted down your comments regarding the airport transfer and shared it with the management.

Please feel free to contact us directly for any assistance you may need prior to placing a new booking and thus making your stay with us even more memorable.

Warmest Regards,
Pratik S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

To find such a tranquil hotel in the heart of Kathmandu is not easy! In addition to this, the hotel used to be a palace and you can still see evidence of this remarkable past in the public areas and in the lobby bar. The staff could not have been more welcoming and after visiting Pokhara for 3 days we felt as if we were returning home!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Glad to hear that you appreciated the historical appeal of our property and that you truly enjoyed your days at our hotel and that you were satisfied with the overall provided services.

Please feel free to contact me directly for any assistance you may need prior to placing a new booking in the future.

Best regards,
Pratik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
57 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Extremely charming hotel with loads of character and very good staff. We were upgraded to a suite which was fabulous. The breakfast is excellent as is the food in the downstairs restaurant. I would most definitely recommend Hotel Shanker.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelloverCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Hello there!

Thank you for sharing your thoughts.

Happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
228 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Some good and not so good points to this hotel.
Good:
- wonderful old building that used to be a palace, and well maintained/decorated
- large, beautiful, well maintained garden with lovely pool. Snacks & drinks available poolside
- wonderfully quiet and clean considering you are just 100m away from a busy dusty road
- within walking distance to Thamel and 'Garden of Dreams' (a must!)
- front desk and travel desk staff most charming & helpful
- large room, good bathroom with plentiful hot water
- huge selection for buffet breakfast
- restaurant prices very reasonable
Not so good:
- service in diningroom for dinner is SO SLOW (but waiters are still charming!)
- breakfast staff a bit sullen
- very hard beds
Whatever you do, don't get the first or second room on the ground floor in the passage to the right of reception: it is horribly noisy as it is opposite the stairs that leads to the diningroom & shop. There is a constant stream of guests and staff up and down all day and night, chattering loudly: you get NO sleep!
Also I suggest you don't get a room with a mezzanine floor. One of our party slipped and fell down the stairs during the night (on his way to the bathroom downstairs) and ended up in hospital and missed his trip.
Overall, however, I don't think you'd be sorry if you stayed here - it's a real godsend to come back to this haven of peace after the noise and smog of Kathmandu.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angtravel18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Good day to you!

It is good to know that you rate our hotel to be a good mix of value and comfort, and that we fare better than most regular luxury hotels. I have duly noted your good and "not so good" points and hope that we improve on the ones you perceived as "not so good"

We do have a uniqueness that really sets us apart from regular 'chain' hotels as we are housed in a 19th century neoclassical palace. Every area of our property is full of historical characteristics.

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments here on trip advisor. Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

We stayed at Hotel Shanker for 4 nights in March, 2014. The service was great, rooms were clean, restaurant served delicious meals and a location that's 15 min walk from Thamel. Close to shopping but far away from the hustle and bustle. The pool is great, and highly recommend using it while there.

Room Tip: Get higher floor room facing the pool for a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Special-k-t-dot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear Sir

It gives me great pleasure in knowing that you describe as a hotel as a 'palace'.

Good to know that you regarded our services to be up to the mark and I do look forward to welcoming you soon again to our hotel.

Please feel free to contact me directly for any assistance you may need prior to placing a new booking next time…

Best regards from Nepal
Pratik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
1.9 mi away
Hotel Shambala
Hotel Shambala
#25 of 198 in Kathmandu
370 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kantipur Temple House
Kantipur Temple House
#17 of 198 in Kathmandu
771 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Hotel Yak & Yeti
#47 of 198 in Kathmandu
1,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#12 of 198 in Kathmandu
1,072 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#32 of 198 in Kathmandu
1,508 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
#15 of 198 in Kathmandu
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shanker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shanker

Property: Hotel Shanker
Address: | Lazimpat, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Phone Number:
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#14 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
#15 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
#16 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Shanker 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Shanker, Kathmandu is a heritage hotel, housed in a 19th-century palace in the heart of Kathmandu city. It was the royal residence of the rulers of Nepal, from 1894 until 1964, when it was converted into a hotel. The facade and traditions were kept intact but the interiors were redesigned to give travelers the kind of comfort they'd expect of a world class hotel. The hotel is characterized by exquisite and authentic objects d'art. For example, the carved windows displayed in the lobby bar are over 200 years old. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Shanker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanker Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing