We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable price, Great service, Huge room”
Review of Hotel Shanker

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Shanker
Ranked #38 of 203 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Reasonable price, Great service, Huge room”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Not far from Thamel, beautiful garden and nice swimming pool. The room is huge, comfortable bed, hot and cold water working well but water turned quite yellow. Buffet breakfast was wide variety, staffs were friendly, very helpful and integrity. One of my friends forgot his mobile phone in the room while we were checking out and departing the hotel, the room service staff ran so fast to stop us and handed in my friend the phone; we were very impressed about this.

If you want to escape from the busy area, this hotel is the right one.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MeawJit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Hi there,

Thanks for coming, thanks for the review, hope to see you again soon!

Warmest regards,
Pratik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    517
    179
    44
    14
See reviews for
234
371
160
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014

We stay for 4 night 3 night beginning of are trip and 1 night at end I would say not chep but there is not many good International level 4 ,5 star hotel unless Hyatt with big price tag ,
We were family with young kids big room with good size both room very clean friendly staff
Good wifi (free) good location to go to town to eat Pizza Hut ,and shopping you can even walk which is nice we feel very safe in Kathmandu I had bit hesitation but it was fine on second day.
The only problem I had it was food not much to my liking but we are very fussy and vegetarian so is not hotel fault they made every afford to accommodate us .we didn't use pool it was cold .we store are luggage while we travel to other place in Nepal on are last day we where given late check out until 4:00 clock free of Charge that was very nice all over great place for family like to Thank all the staff who made are say memorable ...hope to return back one day

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sw7chelsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Hello there,

We are delighted to read that you have truly enjoyed your days at our hotel and that you were satisfied with the overall provided services.

Please feel free to contact us directly for any assistance you may need prior to placing a new booking and thus making your stay with us even more memorable.

Best,
Pratik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

This is not a 5 star hotel HOWEVER we were upgraded to a suite which was spacious and lovely. The staff were friendly, efficient and very helpful. The breakfast and dinner meals were excellent.
The Hotel Shanker offered an oasis in the middle of a very noisy, bustling and dusty city!
It is a converted palace which had no doubt seen better times but it was still okay. It is a good quality 4 star hotel. Some of the staff had been working there for decades. It was great to return from a day of sightseeing to a drink in the bar with excellent service at a reasonable price. Excellent value!

Room Tip: Great old hotel - an experience. Our corner suite was lovely! Excellent value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucien Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Hello there!

Thanks for such a great review, we are so happy you enjoyed yourself.

Appreciative guests like you make it all so worthwhile.

Thank you for sharing.

Best,
Pratik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

we Indian family, spent 2 nights and three days at shanker hotel, its a 4 star property,in a quiet area yet near to thamel with value for money facilities we had with a reasonable price and strict compliance of the hotel management to the online conversations and online booking transactions, over all we had pleasant stay at shanker hotel

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank srinivasswamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Thanks for such a great review, we are so happy you enjoyed yourself. Pratik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Superb location, decent sized well equipped bedroom, large and varied breakfast options and very polite, well informed and friendly staff made this a very memorable stay. I would also recommend the excellent swimming pool Lavazza coffee and lunch menu!

Room Tip: I stayed on the 7th floor but friends rooms were equally good on 5th and 6th so really no need to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SussexTravellingman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Hi!

Thank you for speeding the word.

We really appreciate it.

Best,
Pratik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014

A converted palace, it is a grand old hotel with clean rooms. I have stayed many times and almost always very happy. It is based in Lazimpat, which is a 15 minute walk to the main tourist area of Thamel, which is a big plus for me. The hotels in Thamel are great, but it's busy and loud. I love hanging out there but prefer to stay in the quieter Lazimpat.

If you are looking for a boutique experience as a couple, or small group of friends, there are better suited places, but for large groups the hotel works really well. I hope this helps

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you so much. Your opinion about our property is very helpful to fellow travelers.

We look forward to seeing you and your tour groups again.

Pratik S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

we stayed at hotel shanker on 27th feb 2014 , it was a family leisure trip. Very good hotel, with beautiful lawns and excellent breakfast spread. The staff is very friendly too.
Excellent choice in budget hotels.

Room Tip: The suites are very comfortable and spacious if travelling with family
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geetika2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you, We appreciate your spreading the word.

-- Pratik S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
1.9 mi away
Hotel Shambala
Hotel Shambala
#23 of 203 in Kathmandu
391 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Hotel Yak & Yeti
#45 of 203 in Kathmandu
1,141 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kantipur Temple House
Kantipur Temple House
#17 of 203 in Kathmandu
780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Annapurna
Hotel Annapurna
#65 of 203 in Kathmandu
540 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#34 of 203 in Kathmandu
1,547 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
#14 of 203 in Kathmandu
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shanker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shanker

Property: Hotel Shanker
Address: | Lazimpat, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Phone Number:
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#14 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
#15 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
#16 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Shanker 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Shanker, Kathmandu is a heritage hotel, housed in a 19th-century palace in the heart of Kathmandu city. It was the royal residence of the rulers of Nepal, from 1894 until 1964, when it was converted into a hotel. The facade and traditions were kept intact but the interiors were redesigned to give travelers the kind of comfort they'd expect of a world class hotel. The hotel is characterized by exquisite and authentic objects d'art. For example, the carved windows displayed in the lobby bar are over 200 years old. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Fastbooking, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Shanker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanker Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing