We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Shanker
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Heranya(Kathmandu)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Tibet(Kathmandu)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Manaslu(Kathmandu)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Moonlight(Kathmandu)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Gangjong(Kathmandu)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Astoria Hotel(Kathmandu)
View Hotel
Hotel Lion(Kathmandu)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,270)
Filter reviews
1,270 results
Traveler rating
467
557
187
45
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
467
557
187
45
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold palaceconverted palaceswimming poolrana palaceheritage hotelearthquake damagebreakfast buffetan oasisseen better daystravel deskthe hustle and bustlenice gardencomfortable staythamel areahot waterkuntishankar
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
558 - 563 of 1,270 reviews
Reviewed March 19, 2014

we stayed at hotel shanker on 27th feb 2014 , it was a family leisure trip. Very good hotel, with beautiful lawns and excellent breakfast spread. The staff is very friendly too.
Excellent choice in budget hotels.

Room Tip: The suites are very comfortable and spacious if travelling with family
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geetika2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Thank you, We appreciate your spreading the word.

-- Pratik S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Hotel Shanker will treat you like a royalty, just like how it was a palace before. It is near to Thamel, but not advisable to walk during the day. The rooms are neatly decorated though I would admit that a bit of a renovation/refurbishment will help. The room is clean, but like the rest of Nepal, it is dusty. The best part of this hotel is the courteous staff, who are always willing to go a distance to help you in your needs. The money is well worth-it. A perfect stay for those who want a good night's sleep but do not mind a bit of run-down here and there.

Room Tip: Do not choose room 101 - 109. These rooms require you to travel to the "back" of the hotel (though on the layout is at the sides, but you walk to the back where the staff area is). Unpleasant experience.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oscar T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

What a fantastic compliment. Glad to know that you appreciate the levels the service we strive to provide.

Thank you so much, we look forward to seeing you again.

Pratik S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

We stayed in Shanker for 2 nights at the beginning of the vacation and 2 nights at the end. The hotel is beautiful outside, with nice garden and swimming pool. More over, you can have a cup of good coffee at the bar in the garden or even take away! The staff is very friendly, responsive and helpful. Good breakfasts with a variety of food. But inside the rooms are not so cosy. During the first stay we were given a very small room, though during the second it was already bigger.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Thank you very much, our outdoor areas are unique and enable to experience Kathmandu like no other place. Spacious, yet the feeling of seclusion...

All our rooms are unique, and they do not bear the resemblance of modern buildings. The building is adapted from a 19th century neoclassical palace, hence all rooms will not fit the same description.

Pratik S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

If you like old world charm and don't mind that it comes with a bit run-downess here and there, then Hotel Shanker is a great place. It is an old palace, so there is a quiet garden and swimming pool that you can make use of. It is 15 minutes walk from Thamel and only a taxi ride from the other tourist attractions of Kathmandu, so the location could not be much better.
The breakfast buffet is really good. The staff are very friendly and accommodating. If you want to have dinner at Hotel Shanker, you may want to consider room service as the restaurant (different from the breakfast place) is a bit dark and room service (oddly enough) seems to be the cheaper option. The food is excellent.
The locals use Shanker as a venue for business conferences and big parties such as weddings, so as an added bonus you get a bit of feel for local life while staying here. Music is promptly turned off at 11 pm (latest) so you will not be loosing sleep over the partying.
As mentioned, Shanker is at places a bit run down, it could do with some paint here and there and definitely new rest rooms in the reception. Our bathroom was always very clean and seemed new, but it was also very damp and musty smelling.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Indiaphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Fantastic! Thank you for your splended review.

Have noted down your suggestions for improvements for the management to implement.

Look forward to seeing you again.

Pratik S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We booked two rooms at the Shanker hotel in February2014,one for my wife and myself,the other for our daughter and companion. The rooms were large,comfortable with lovely hot water and pressure which later I learned was a luxury in Kathmandu. I loved the old world atmosphere of the hotel.We enjoyed a drink at the bar and a lovely dinner at the restaurant.The bed was very comfortable and the bathrom towels fluffy.The staff are friendly and helpful.An overall wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robertais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Thanks so much!

Appreciative guests like you make the work that we do all the more worthwhile.

Truly our pleasure,

Pratik S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews