We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, poor customer service - cleanliness is average by US standards”
Review of Hotel Shanker

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Shanker
Ranked #41 of 210 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Nice hotel, poor customer service - cleanliness is average by US standards

The good:
My $.02, this place should be redecorated and renamed to the Shanker Palace or something. It has a lot of potential. Yes, this is a fomer palace. The hotel and the grounds are palatial. The decor in the lobby and the walkways are exotic woodwork. You won't get this anywhere else in Kathmandu. The location is nice and is located away from the road construction and noise and the dust. The hotel management was really good with emails and we made all the reservations through emails. They offered a better deal if you booked directly through them with airport transfers etc.

The breakfast spread was the biggest I've ever seen. The menu is different everyday and the food quality was good. The best upma and chole bhature in town. Even the Nepali version of quesadillas were great (parathas with cheese). The hotel even packs a boxed breakfast if you have an early flight. The hotel staff makes you feel royal. From the person who opens the door for you to the room service folks, everyone greets you when they see you.

No issue with power cuts, heat or A/C. The hotel always had power and went to backup generator when you lost power. The hotel is safe - we had 4 bags in their 'cloak room' for 4 days and had no issues.

The bad:
We arrived at 8am after an international red-eye flight with small kids. We were shocked that the room was not ready for us after an overnight flight. The front desk guy 'Ramesh' with the Nepali hat would not give us the room saying checkin time is noon! I tried to convince him multiple times and even offered to pay extra for an early checkin. You could see that he was lying that rooms were overbooked. Such poor customer service -- such folks should be fired (if he is not part of the family run business). Leaves a bad taste in your mouth. Our family of four were sleeping on the lobby couches before we were given the room.

The rooms were small and we upgraded to the 'suite' for almost $40 more. The welcome drinks and gifts were a nice touch. The rooms have seen better days and in need for an overhaul. The rooms were dusty with musty odor (no vent in the bathrooms). We asked the room service to clean and mop the room.

Bottomline:
Kathmandu has a myriad of hotel options (from $8 rooms to $500 rooms). Personally, we didn't stay in Thamel thinking it would be dirty/dusty. Thamel turned out to be surprisingly nice and bustling part of Kathmandu. I would pick up a nice hotel in Thamel the next time I'm in Kathmandu. For $100/night, I don't think Shanker was worth it.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jokerji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Noted your perspective.

Thank you very much for your review here on this forum.

I would like to take the opportunity to address your comment regarding the unavailability of Early Check IN. Normally, our check in time is at noon -- as it is in most hotels around the world. If a guest arrives in the morning flight and requests early check in -- we provide it free of cost, provided that rooms are available.

In your case, we were totally sold out. Had you notified us earlier, we could have blocked a room from the previous day for you and your check in experience would have continued unhindered.

Although nothing will change the way you feel about your experience with us, I hope that you understand that we take prioritise customer satisfaction over everything else.

Yes, there are hotels available in Thamel but I there's no hotel in Kathmandu quite like the Shanker.

With over 4.4 acres of landscaped area at the edge of Thamel and Lazimpat and an unmatched historical character -- $100 a night is a bargain. Similar hotels in Europe would set you back by over $ 200 - $250 a night. Think about it...

Happy travels :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,241)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

549 - 555 of 1,241 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2014

It's actually very nice for Nepali standards. The whole hotel is actually a palace renovated and made a hotel. The furnishings and overall architecture are very nice. We came on an early morning flight at, like, 6:00am in Nepali time and we were badly jetlagged. The front desk wasn't very nice. They rudely told us that check-in wasn't until noon and to just sit and chill. So we were half asleep anyway and had a glass of welcome juice (mango) and slept until check-in. The staff were really nice and tended to our every need. The breakfast was delicious and the location was good. Also, our suite had very dirty, dusty floors. We had to wash our feet every 5 minutes! But it was overall pretty nice.

Room Tip: Higher floor suites are better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VarshaG551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Thank you very much for having taken the time to review us here on tripadvisor.com.

I was very much concerned about your report and I do apologize to you and your family profusely for the disturbance and inconvenience the unavailability of "Early Check In" caused. I would strongly suggest that in the future, you mention and confirm the availability of "Early Check In" as special request during your reservation process at any hotel in any country that you use.

You stayed with us during high season, and our room occupancy was really stretched to the limits. We normally provide complimentary Early Check In and Late Check Out to all our guests, but this service is subject to availability of rooms.

I was also concerned about your report about the dusty floors. Rest assured that this is certainly not the way we usually deal with such matters and I will look into this incident with my team to identify what happened and what needs to be done to prevent similar incidents from happening into the future.

Once again, please accept my apologies and truly hope you will give us another chance in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

I have been using the Hotel Shanker for about 20 years and hundreds of my clients have stayed here. And over the years standards have continued to improve. The staff are extremely helpful in helping to overcome the inevitable glitches in Nepal travel (cancelled domestic flights, black-outs, strikes...). It is an excellent venue for conferences, receptions (and weddings), as well as providing a luxurious but homely atmosphere for tourists. There is a very low staff turnover, so it is obviously a happy place to work!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2014

Thanks a lot, we look forward to your next visit.

We appreciate you spreading the word.

Pratik S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Stayed at this hotel whilst attending my sons wedding.
Surroundings and interior were majestic.Its a former palace and feels like it
It is reasonably priced and clean. The food, especially breakfast was excellent and catered for most tastes.The staff were courteous and couldn't do enough to please.
They even let part of the wedding ceremony take part at the hotel without charge.
When we visit again we will stay here.

Room Tip: Most rooms are good. A suite only costs a bit more so if you can afford it go for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morgan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2014

Thank you so much. Appreciative guests like you make it all so worthwhile.

Thank you for sharing.

Happy travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Good hotel with ample walkabout areas outside (lawn). However I wish to highlight 2 issues.
When renovating next, pls allow more space at bathroom sink area. Its too small now. You could do away with the bath-tub and replace with a partitioned glass bath with access door.
Secondly, you should have exhaust fans in smoking rooms...1 in the bathroom and another near the window. Smokers can just switch it on when smoking.
Overall, it was a pleasant stay with excellent staff.

Room Tip: Pls refer to comments above. Not suitable for smokers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aravind2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2014

Thanks for coming, thanks for the review, hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We booked this on the recommendation of a local trekking company (Good Karma Trekking) and found a great rate online. Loved the stay and agree it's a great place to escape the dust and noise of Kathmandu.
The pool and gardens were a great place to chill out on the last afternoon and it's only a short ride to the airport.
Rooms are great and the breakfast buffet and room were a real surprise (good way!)
Only negative is that unfortunately the road outside the hotel is extremely dusty. Wear a mask when walking to town (or take a cab).

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StevoKayak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

We are delighted to read that you have truly enjoyed your days at our hotel and that you were satisfied with the overall provided services.

Rest assured that the road outside the hotel will not be dusy for long. Construction has almost finished, and the dust levels have fallen drastically.

Please feel free to contact us directly for any assistance you may need prior to placing a new booking and thus making your stay with us even more memorable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

The hotel has a silent location but still near enough everything so it's easy to walk everywhere from the hotel. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The atmosphere is very safe (thanks to all the security staff). In Nepalese standards the hotel is very clean, rooms are big and luxurious. Totally very nice place, even luxurious.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eero_FI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

It gives me great pleasure in knowing that you describe as a hotel as a 'palace'.

Good to know that you regarded our services to be up to the mark and I do look forward to welcoming you soon again to our hotel.

Please feel free to contact me directly for any assistance you may need prior to placing a new booking next time…

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
1.9 mi away
Hotel Shambala
Hotel Shambala
#21 of 210 in Kathmandu
449 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Hotel Yak & Yeti
#57 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,267 reviews
2.8 mi away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#3 of 210 in Kathmandu
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Aria Boutique Hotel & Spa
Aria Boutique Hotel & Spa
#68 of 210 in Kathmandu
309 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kantipur Temple House
Kantipur Temple House
#19 of 210 in Kathmandu
852 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
#14 of 210 in Kathmandu
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shanker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shanker

Address: | Lazimpat, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Phone Number:
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#15 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
#16 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
#16 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range: $68 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Shanker 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Shanker, Kathmandu is a heritage hotel, housed in a 19th-century palace in the heart of Kathmandu city. It was the royal residence of the rulers of Nepal, from 1894 until 1964, when it was converted into a hotel. The facade and traditions were kept intact but the interiors were redesigned to give travelers the kind of comfort they'd expect of a world class hotel. The hotel is characterized by exquisite and authentic objects d'art. For example, the carved windows displayed in the lobby bar are over 200 years old. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Shanker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanker Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing