We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heritage Hotel Not to be Missed”
Review of Hotel Shanker

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Shanker
Ranked #41 of 207 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 28, 2013

We stayed at this heritage hotel which was in a great location, had great service, well-maintained rooms and were very comfortable and spacious. Breakfast buffet was in a very spacious restaurant and scrumptious choices of foods. Employees were willing to serve at all times. The IT department was very helpful as I needed to send pictures to our families back home and they had the means to do it and willingly and quickly assisted me. I would greatly recommend this heritage hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dudley882013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2013

Thank you for taking time reviewing us at tripadvisor. I am very glad to know that your stay was a very good one and that you felt comfortable in our rooms and with our facilities. I also appreciate that you mentioned the quality of our restaurant food.

Thank you again, and please come and stay with us once more during your next visit to Kathmandu.

Best regards from Kathmandu.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,188)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Shanker
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

543 - 549 of 1,188 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2013

We stayed for 7 days off and on over three weeks.Each time we left for touring around Nepal or Tibet we were able to store our unneeded baggage and retrieve them upon new check in. We checked in and out 3 times. Each time the staff at the front desk were very welcoming. The bellmen are outstanding. We continually used their services and they are very hard workers and always with a smile. The rooms are fine and the meals very adequate. Breakfast is complete with eggs to order and a wide variety of food choices.We had the lunch buffet once which was excellent. I loved that the TV had CNN, BBC and Bloomberg Financial channels. You are a 10 minute walk to Thamel or a $2 cab ride. The extensive gardens and pool across from the main entrance are heavily used and I can see why. There is also a food booth there. Look carefully at those pictures on Tripadvisor. It is always interesting to read comments about hotels prior to the trip and then getting there and thinking about all the comments. From my viewpoint do yourself a big favor and stay at the Shanker. Everyone is welcoming ,even the room maids.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank flretiredFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2013

It is good to know that you liked our hotel; that your stay was comfortable and that you felt comfortable in our rooms and facilities. I also appreciate that you mentioned the quality of service provided by our staff members.

Thank you again, and please come and stay with us once more during your next visit to Kathmandu.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Situated a 10-minute walk just north of chaotic Thamel, this place in an old Rana era palace brings back the charm of former times in a rustic and tranquil atmosphere.
Yes, it has its oddities (since it was originally a palace with high ceilings, the conversion to hotelrooms means that the former halls are split in two levels, leaving the hotelrooms with respectively windows ending in the ceiling or windows from ground to just knee level height). That said, rooms are spacious and comfortable, especially the deluxe ones to which we were spontaneously upgraded free of charge.

If you're into looking at details, the place may have a bit of a faded glory feel to it compared to the big western 4-star chainhotels.
However, where in Kathmandu could you find a place that has the comfort and peace (lovely garden and pool area, huge breakfast buffet), perfect location and then adds the charm of bygone royal days, including saluting bow-tied doormen and porters, for this pricelevel?

Especially for a welldeserved rest after trekking or before returnflight home, highly recommended!

Room Tip: Ask for upgrade to deluxe room!
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Praeses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2013

It gives me great joy to learn that we left such a positive impression. It gives my team great satisfaction reading your wonderful review. Your comment regarding the concierge has been shared with the team, and your feedback regarding the food has been noted down.

Thank you for taking the time to write down this review, and we certainly look forward to having you here at our hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We loved the place.
It's like a trip back in the forties with Wi Fi and other modern things.
Very clean, people at the reception very friendly.
Very well located, little walk from Thamel.
Do not think it's like a 4 stars hotel in the US or Canada...you are in Nepal!!!
We will return, for sure.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank JBen1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for your wonderful comments.

It was great to know that enjoyed your stay with us on an overall basis and I am glad to know that we were able to have left a favorable impression.

We hope to welcome you back again sometime in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We stayed at the Shanker several times over a 4 week period, leaving the place then returning again so we had a wide variety of rooms, ranging from standard to a suite. We liked the hotel as it has some character being a former palace, however we found all the rooms to be a little tired, especially the curtains and bedding. They were however clean and There were some nice touches like a safe, air con, refrigerator and settee in all of the rooms we had, that together with complimentary fruit on arrival and fresh bottled water every day. The beds were all comfortable and the double beds were large super king size. We found all of the staff to be friendly and helpful no matter what job they were doing be it cleaner or head waiter.

We particularly liked the pool area and gardens which was a lovely escape from the pollution and chaos which is Kathmandu, there is a pool side bar which serves food and drink throughout the day and provides towels and loungers around a lovely if somewhat cool swimming pool. We also enjoyed the Kunti bar and chose to eat in here when we stayed in rather than use the downstairs restaurant. We found the food to be of a good standard and particularly enjoyed the Shanker Burger and the Chilli chips.

Breakfasts are pretty good with a wide choice including freshly prepared omelettes from the egg counter and lots of nice fresh fruit.

The hotel were very accommodating in letting us leave luggage in a secure area free of charge whilst we went off to other areas of Nepal. They also have the facility to check in online and print boarding passes which was helpful. The concierge will arrange excursions, book taxis or whatever you want to do whilst in Nepal.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank ableassistant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2013

Thank you for describing our property as an oasis of calm. I am glad that you enjoyed the historical character of our hotel.

Thank you so much for having taken the time to share your review of our property here. I was very pleased to read of your satisfaction in the various parts of our property and especially in regards to the service received as well as the quality of our meals. Thank you for having chosen to stay with us and also for your wonderful recommendation of our property. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Very disappointed with this $110/nt hotel passing itself off as a quality property. We booked a suite, which was large but all widows were at knee level! So no view to speak of. The shower was oddly angled so the floor got soaked easily and when I mentioned this to the desk, they said that the maintenance guys said I was wrong! Basically a corporate run front desk with reception folks who don't understand service. Not a bad place per se, but more if a $75 a night spot.

Room Tip: A good room would be one at another hotel
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Please accept my sincere apologies for the disappointment we caused you. All of our rooms are unique, and the curved window rooms that you mentioned are actually the preferred choice of rooms for our German clients. I am sorry to know that we were unable to note down your choice of rooms prior to check in. Regarding our front office staff, every member of our team is a graduate from renowned institutions of Hotel Management in Nepal. I have noted down your comment, and we will use this feedback for further improvement in service, and also to ensure that such instance are prevented from occuring in the future. While this does nothing to change the way you feel about your experience, I would like to assert that we take service very seriously and we give a very emphasis on customer feedback as well as customer delight. Thank you for having taken the time to write your review on Trip Advisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

I've had a few stays at the Shanker and love the place. Why try anywhere else when you find the perfect venue? Friendly staff, good food, lively little bar, pool in a tranquil garden. Good facilities. Book a table if you stay in for an evening meal and avoid the Thamel madness.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the ground floor. No view and some are split-level which can be inconvenient.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank munrotop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Your positive words were very encouraging. I will be happy to pass these comments on to our entire team.

I was also glad to read that you enjoyed our restaurant offerings as well as our architecture.

Thank you for having stayed with us, and hope to welcome you back to our hotel on your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
1.9 mi away
Hotel Shambala
Hotel Shambala
#25 of 207 in Kathmandu
396 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Hotel Yak & Yeti
#47 of 207 in Kathmandu
1,165 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kantipur Temple House
Kantipur Temple House
#20 of 207 in Kathmandu
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
#67 of 207 in Kathmandu
1,090 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
#14 of 207 in Kathmandu
537 reviews
2.8 mi away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#2 of 207 in Kathmandu
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shanker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shanker

Address: | Lazimpat, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Phone Number:
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#12 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
#14 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
#15 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
#16 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range: $56 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Shanker 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Shanker, Kathmandu is a heritage hotel, housed in a 19th-century palace in the heart of Kathmandu city. It was the royal residence of the rulers of Nepal, from 1894 until 1964, when it was converted into a hotel. The facade and traditions were kept intact but the interiors were redesigned to give travelers the kind of comfort they'd expect of a world class hotel. The hotel is characterized by exquisite and authentic objects d'art. For example, the carved windows displayed in the lobby bar are over 200 years old. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Fastbooking, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Shanker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanker Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing