We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unusual and full of character”
Review of Hotel Shanker

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Shanker
Ranked #41 of 207 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 23, 2013

As a former palace The Shanker is not your run of the mill modern hotel but is quirky with great character. The rooms are perfectly acceptable and the staff were most welcoming and helpful. So if you prefer a more laid back and old fashioned stay then give it a try.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank farcelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Thank you for posting photos from your visit to our hotel.

We are very happy to know about your experience and appreciate it that you were interested in the history of our hotel. Happy to hear that you found our location convenient.

Thank you for your wonderful review. Hope to welcome you back to our hotel if you pay a return visit to our fascinating city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,188)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Shanker
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

602 - 608 of 1,188 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2013

We enjoyed a wonderful week long stay at the Shanker, and would recommend this hotel for travellers to Kathmandu. Guests are greeted by a snappy salute every time they enter the hotel and the staff are welcoming and attentive. The hotel fitments are a little aged, but in-keeping with the colonial style. The in-house Wifi was excellent, which was a real bonus when by the pool or in your room. Shanker Hotel also has a handy location just an easy walk to the shopping district of Thamel St. The in-house travel agent provided expert tours to all the good tourist points in the city and environs - so as a staging point for exploring Kathmandu, Hotel Shanker is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 635JamesMuscat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Just a short note to say thank you for having stayed with us and for sharing your feedback here on tripadvisor.com

I was pleased to read that you appreciated the colonial-era ambience in our hotel. That is what sets us apart from the usual chrome and steel chain hotels. I am glad that all the essentials (Wi-Fi, housekeeping and food/beverage) offerings were up to the mark and delivered with high quality.

Thank you again for having chose to stay with us – we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

After the dust, mud, grime, traffic and noise of Kathmandu it was a pleasure to return here and relax in the manicured garden, enjoy a G&T by the pool and generally chill out. The hotel may be old, but it is well kept and there is something to see wherever you go in the hotel. The staff were pleasant and helpful and the breakfast excellent. Although there was a negative report on the burger, I found it the best since South Africa. A great stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevek451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Greetings from Shanker Hotel Kathmandu!

Thank you so much for having taken the time to write this great review and post it here on tripadvisor.com

I truly appreciate your wonderful compliments about our team members and I will be happy to share your praise with them. I was also glad to hear of your satisfaction with our poolside area and our F/B offerings.

Thank you again for your review and also for recommending us – we hope to welcome you back to the Shanker on your return visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Definitely worth a visit just for the colonial grandeur. We stayed here longer than planned due to an aborted trek. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, and prices were reasonable. Fairly close to the shopping areas - once you find your way around.

If you are heading to Nepal for trekking don't worry about getting your kit in advance - most stuff is readily available locally at a fraction of the cost in the West.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Funky-JP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Thank you for having posted this wonderful review about your experience at the Shanker following your stay and also your recommendation to other readers.

I am delighted to know that you appreciated the colonial grandeur exuding from our hotel. We are the only hotel in Kathmandu with such an ambience.

Good to know that you perceived our staff members to be very helpful.

I hope to see you again at the Shanker on your return visit to Kathmandu!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Hotel is in the middle of Kathmandu, all tourist site are relatively near, although Kathmandu traffic may cause some delay getting there. Room are a bit dated but are good and clean. Restaurant serves good food, local and international. Service staff is friendly and always willing to help. We had a great stay here.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Han D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Greetings from Shanker Hotel Kathmandu! Thank you so much for your review posted here on tripadvisor.com and for staying with us during your visit to Kathmandu.

It was a pleasure for all of my team to read of your great and encouraging feedback.

Thank you also for your recommendation to other tripadvisor readers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

The hotel, which is a memory of passed times, is set in a renovated Rana palace. The exterior welcomes you with great colonns to the entrance, white-washed walls with old windows – from large to small arches of about 4 ft. tall. The dininghalls (restaurant where you for example enjoy the breakfast buffet ) are also extravagant with its decorated arch-like callings and colons surrounding the tables. Unfortunately the rooms – at least the ones we saw - were quite a disappointment, looking to the outside of the hotel and its 4-star classification. Our room had a tiny tiny window and a interior a bit junky, though the shower were the best we tried out in Kathmandu. The service, however, were indisputable, as it should be at such a hotel. Though not with a very personal atmosphere. Never tried out the swimming-pool due to the Monsoon, but it seemed nice. The compound is located in Lazimpat, some minutes with taxi from the main tourist area of Thamel, however not really far away. Hotels such Shanker seems to be located some distance from the center of Kathmandu. To stay at Shanker is a interesting experience, and i would still recommend a night or so, but not for longer stays since you get a bit tired of it. It’s a bit sad, because the potential are huge.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hannesofsweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Thank you so much for your review posted here on tripadvisor.com.

Your positive words were very encouraging, especially in regards to our associates, whom you perceived to have provided 'undisputed levels of service'..I will be happy to pass these comments on to them.

I was also glad to read that you enjoyed our restaurant offerings as well as our architecture.

Your comment about your room has been duly noted and will be taken up to the management for further action.

Thank you for having stayed with us, and hope to welcome you back to our hotel on your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a night and it was a very nice experience. This is a Rana palace converted into a hotel so the property still retains the old world charm.The room is quite spacious thought the bathroom is quite compact. The surroundings are lush green and I enjoyed a beer by the pool side. The breakfast spread is really huge with options of Indian & Continental. The reception people are very cooperative and arranged a taxi to the airport at NPR 400 as I had less of the local currency. Will definitely stay here with family, the next time we visit Kathmandu.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool facing room though the windows are small.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sachin09Goa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Just a short note to say thank you for your review on this online reviewing platform.

It was great to hear that both you enjoyed the spacious bedrooms, our swimming pool, as well as our breakfast spread.

Your comments particularly regarding the breakfast shall be shared with our chef's team; which I am sure, they shall be happy to hear about.

Thank you for staying with us. We look forward hopefully welcoming you and your family back to Shanker on your return visit to Kathmandu!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
1.9 mi away
Hotel Shambala
Hotel Shambala
#25 of 207 in Kathmandu
396 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Hotel Yak & Yeti
#47 of 207 in Kathmandu
1,165 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kantipur Temple House
Kantipur Temple House
#20 of 207 in Kathmandu
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
#67 of 207 in Kathmandu
1,089 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
#14 of 207 in Kathmandu
537 reviews
2.8 mi away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#2 of 207 in Kathmandu
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shanker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shanker

Address: | Lazimpat, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Phone Number:
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#12 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
#14 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
#15 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
#16 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range: $56 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Shanker 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Shanker, Kathmandu is a heritage hotel, housed in a 19th-century palace in the heart of Kathmandu city. It was the royal residence of the rulers of Nepal, from 1894 until 1964, when it was converted into a hotel. The facade and traditions were kept intact but the interiors were redesigned to give travelers the kind of comfort they'd expect of a world class hotel. The hotel is characterized by exquisite and authentic objects d'art. For example, the carved windows displayed in the lobby bar are over 200 years old. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Fastbooking, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Shanker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanker Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing