We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heritage”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Shanker

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Shanker
Ranked #38 of 193 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Heritage”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

Shanker Hotel is a huge palace converted to an hotel. We stayed in a suite which was nice and big. The room was clean and amenities were well provided. The location of the hotel is very good. Food is very nice and service is good. The only inconvenience was that the room had windows which were small. The breakfast spread is huge and I like the bar.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rinimukherjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for staying with us on your recent trip to Kathmandu and for taking the time to review us here on tripadvisor.com following your stay.

I was pleased to read of your positive words in regards to your satisfaction with our spacious Suite, our restaurant food quality, our bar and our convenient location.

Your feedback in regards to the windows has been shared with the management.

Once again, thank you for your review.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    494
    173
    44
    14
See reviews for
227
353
155
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

In the midst of the frenzied hustle and bustle of Kathmandu, Hotel Shanker was the tranquil and beautiful sanctuary we needed. This historical hotel is located within 10- minutes walking distance from Thamel. Our second floor room was well-appointed, clean, and comfortable. Yes, the stairs are a bit squeaky; but then again, this wonderful hotel is over 100 years old.

The staff was very professional, courteous, and friendly (except the front desk clerk who checked us in). But, nonetheless, our 4-day stay exceeded our expectations. The breakfast spread was simply superb! We also had dinner one night at their restaurant - our meal was delicious and well-prepared.

We truly enjoyed our stay at the Shanker with it's beautiful grounds, peaceful guest rooms and surroundings. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the stairs or elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trekker183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Firstly, I would like to thank you for taking your time to write this detailed review and sharing your experience of Hotel Shanker in Kathmandu.

I was very pleased to learn that you appreciated the fact that our hotel is housed in a former palace of our country's ruling elite, our associates very professional and courteous. I will certainly share these compliments with the Shanker team.

I was also pleased to know that we exceeded your expectations! In particular, our Chef's team is very pleased to hear about your compliments about the quality of food that was prepared by them.

Again, thank you for your review and hopefully we will have another opportunity to welcome you and your family back to Hotel Shanker in Kathmandu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rovereto Italy
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

We just returned from a 12 days stay at Hotel Shanker with our 6 year old daughter. We travelled to Kathmandu to celebrate the anniversary of our family as three years ago we have adopted our precious daughter. The stay has exceeded our expectations. We were given a truly lovely and spacious room on top of the building, looking onto the garden in front of the property. The beds were of excellent quality, including the extra bed for our daughter. We enjoyed each day of our stay and could not have wished for more. The staff members throughout the hotel were very friendly, helpful and professional, each one of them, with no exception, always offering a beautiful smile. This was Nepali hospitality at its best, and excellent value for money! An added bonus was the WIFI offered gratis throughout the hotel grounds, speedy and always operational. Use of the business centre to print a couple of documents offered gratis! Speedy and efficient service at the cashier desk to change money! Complimentary water on the room each day. Kettle on the room. Free use of safety box on the room. Nice shops at the ground level of the hotel offering a wide selection of beautiful Nepali handicraft. Lovely and quiet atmosphere throughout the hotel grounds. The position of the hotel is just very convenient; try out the nearby Garden of Dreams which can be reached by foot. The garden and swimming pool offered some refreshing moments of relax after day tours to the town and surrounding areas such as Bhaktapur, Changu Narayan, Bodnath, Swayambunath. At the poolside you can get a selection of light meals throughout the day, at very reasonable prices. We have had dinner there on several occasions, and felt very comfortable to eat there with our little daughter. We also tried out the Kailash Restaurant on some evenings and got nicely cooked meals at very convenient prices. We will return again next time, in occasion of our future trips to Kathmandu. Highly recommended to everybody!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mandm034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Greetings from Hotel Shanker Kathmandu! Thank you very much for your great review and also for your continuous loyalty to us.

It is positive feedback such as yours that keeps us moving forward and we certainly appreciate your taking the time to share your opinion here on tripadvisor.com. As always, your review has been shared with the Shanker team.

Once again, thank you for staying with us again.

We all look forward welcoming you back to your ‘Kathmandu home’.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhaka
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

I was at the shanker hotel last july.... Mr. Prabhu has communicated with me regarding my booking... i was there and it was a very special trip for me... i was meeting my highschool best friend after 17 years!!!! we thoroughly enjoyed our stay... our room was spacious and the staff were very supporting and courteous.... the fact that this hotel is housed in a palace really drew me to it.... the gardens are a great place to relax.... loved every moment..... will certainly stay there again.... :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sumala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you so much for having to chose to stay with us on your visit in July 2012 in Kathmandu.

Your great and detailed review of our property is highly appreciated and has already been shared with the team here at Kathmandu; Prabhu in particular!

I was particularly happy to read of your comments in regards to our team members whom you not only referred to as supportive and courteous. I also appreciate it that you appreciated our historic architecture as well as our hotel exterior areas.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and for your nice review.

Hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

In our first room we could not sleep as pipes kept making squeaky noises all night which woke us up. Also we were right by the stairs which creaked loudly when other guests used them, which also woke us up and one of the (very hard) beds made really loud squeaky noises when you made any movement at all, which also kept waking us up. We asked to move rooms because of the problems and the staff were very nice about it and let us switch.

However, we were then put into a room which backed onto another property which plays VERY loud jazz at night! We were also woken up by a cleaner vacuuming the carpet outside our room at 5:45am one morning. We complained, slightly baffled that we had been moved from one noisy room to an even noisier room, but the staff just shrugged and wouldn't help. The room we had been moved to was a split level one. Don't accept one of these rooms, especially if it is hot, as the air con unit us downstairs and you can't feel it upstairs where the beds are, meaning it is very hot and sweaty in bed. Also, the ceilings are very low and you can hear EVERYTHING going in in the bathroom of the room above you! We lay awake at night listening to people use the toilet seemingly right over our heads! We're not especially sensitive to noise, my husband is actually hearing impaired and he was still bothered by these noise problems!

The pool area is lovely, but be warned that although you will be paying quite a lot of money to stay there and hope for a peaceful swim, the hotel let anyone pay a small price to use the facilities. At weekends, the pool was full of noisy local children and its hard to find anywhere to sit or lie in the sun. it doesn't seem fair when the price you pay to stay there is quite expensive by Kathmandu standards.

Also, watch out for the hotel travel adviser. We booked a mountain flight and specifically asked for the earliest one. We booked and provided our credit card details. However, a group from the hotel wanted to book a mountain flight together, they wanted the later flight, so the travel agent changed our booking and put us on the later flight so he could save transport costs! We found out the night before our flight and he lied and protested, even saying we were 'making trouble for him' when we insisted he book us back on the earlier flight. He did put it right, eventually and after quite a heated discussion, but we wouldn't trust him at all.

All in all, we expected more. The hotel building looks really lovely and the staff, apart from reception and the awful travel adviser, are all nice. It's away from traffic noise, but we found it difficult to sleep or relax by the pool and those are the main things we expect when we book a hotel. Be warned!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tangseng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you very much for providing us with your feedback on tripadvisor.com. While I was very disappointed to hear that your recent stay with us has given you the feeling of being ‘let down’, I do appreciate the time you have taken to review us on this platform.

All our rooms were refurbished very recently (2007). Thank you for having pointed out this issue, after which, the management will look into this matter of squeaky pipes.

I apologize on behalf of the nearby bar that played loud music. Normally, we have an agreement of ending music early on, by 9pm. We will look into this matter and take immediate steps to resolve this issue.

We have a professionally managed travel desk at our hotel, that is outsourced to one of the leading travel agencies in Nepal that has been operating since four decades. I apologize on behalf of them and we will investigate this case with them.

I am glad to hear that you appreciated our building, gardens and poolside area.

Please accept my sincere apologies to you for any disappointment and confusion the described events have caused to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Perfect location because it's a 10 min walk to Thamel on sidewalks, not in the streets, so you have access to food & shopping but yet it's far enough away so that all you hear are birds chirping, no traffic horns, dogs or roosters. Pool was great, breakfast buffet was great, staff was friendly & helpful. Our room had its own hot water heater in the bathroom so lack of hot water was nonexistant. Power would blink off for only about 10 seconds multiple times daily, I'm guessing until their generators kicked in. Comfy beds, you will be well rested for your trek. That's worth gold to me. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SDC150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Just a short note to say ‘thank you’ for posting this encouraging review here on tripadvisor.com.

It was rewarding for all of us to read that every aspect of your stay was of best quality. As usual, it will give me great joy to share your words with the team who continuously do their best to please our guests. Feedback such as yours is therefore much appreciated.

Once more, thank you for reviewing us and for having chosen to stay with us on your recent visit to Kathmandu.

We look forward welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

The service by the staff is very good. The counter staff is not consistent in their customer service, they appeared to be providing excellent service but showed their negative facial expression when you ask them more questions especially when we need need or advise. They appeared to treat the "European" top priority.

Room Tip: There were some noise from live band generated for the back of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ongfam5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you very much for your review you had posted here on tripadvisor.com.

I was pleased to read of your satisfaction with our staff's service.

Thank you for your positive words.

I will definitely look into your comments regarding the service attitude of our counter staff, which you pointed out. Since we constantly strive to improve services everyday, I regret to hear of your comment and will do everything possible to provide remarkable service. My apologies for the disappointment you encountered with this regard.

As for the noise being generated from our neighbors, I will brief them about our prior understanding (to maintain quietness) which hopefully avoids the nuisance you occurred.

May I thank you once again for your feedback and hopefully you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to Hotel Shanker in Kathmandu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
1.9 mi away
Hotel Shambala
Hotel Shambala
#21 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#33 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,448 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kantipur Temple House
Kantipur Temple House
#15 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Hotel Yak & Yeti
#41 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#2 of 193 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
1.7 mi away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#10 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shanker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shanker

Property: Hotel Shanker
Address: | Lazimpat, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Phone Number:
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#14 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
#15 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
#16 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Shanker 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Shanker, Kathmandu is a heritage hotel, housed in a 19th-century palace in the heart of Kathmandu city. It was the royal residence of the rulers of Nepal, from 1894 until 1964, when it was converted into a hotel. The facade and traditions were kept intact but the interiors were redesigned to give travelers the kind of comfort they'd expect of a world class hotel. The hotel is characterized by exquisite and authentic objects d'art. For example, the carved windows displayed in the lobby bar are over 200 years old. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Shanker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanker Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing