We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best For Open Minded Indian Families”
Review of Hotel Shanker

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Shanker
Ranked #37 of 198 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“The Best For Open Minded Indian Families”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

I stayed in Shanker with my Family.
I could see more of Europeans and USA guests. And hence right from the decor to cuisine, everything is suitable to them.
If you are an Indian tourist with conservative touring ideas, you might not find yourself comfortable here.
Location is good. Close to Thamel, the main happening area of KTM.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AvadhootGupte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for taking time to alert us with your perspective. Our aim is provide the best hospitality to all people. The management was not aware that our hotel was projecting itself in the way you mentioned. Nevertheless, I am happy that you gave us a great quality score. I shall alert the management about this issue. Your feedback is appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    412
    500
    176
    44
    13
See reviews for
230
356
157
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
89 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We had a very positive experience at Hotel Shankar. The rooms we had for our 2 stays were very small, but comfortable. The kept our bags containing valuables during our two treks and everything was safe and sound when we returned. We started at the Hotel Encounter, which is a good place, but it was just too noisy for us. Shankar was quiet and we were still able to walk into town.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank redfury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
I am very happy to know that you used our free cloak room service. Have noted your suggestions to take your perspective into account. Thank you for taking the time to rate us here on Trip Advisor. Hope to see you around.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Stuff is very friendly, pool temp is 18c, pool stuff is also friendly and helpful, hot water by the pool and in the room, room service 24h, good food, location not the best but good enough, medication center is very near, electricity and wifi in hotel all the time. I would highly recommend this hotel! Spa is located in 10min walk away, but you can order it to your room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Riina86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
We are pleased to see that you took the initiative to upload pictures from your trip into this review! Thank you. Noted that you liked the in-room spa services. I have also noted your comments about the food. We are introducing a revised menu and I will tell the concerned F & B executives to take your suggestion. Hope to welcome you back to our property again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

I rate this hotel number one. The location is great. The cleanliness of the rooms and the hotel staff excellant. The check in is quick along with check out and the hotel personnel is more than willing to help with whatever you may need. Ammenities are as listed and it was nice to be greeted with flowers, chocolate and a bowl of fruit in your room upon arrival.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LTakala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
We appreciate your generous accolades! We'll keep trying to do whatever it takes and always take that extra step to make sure that your stay is more than comfortable. Thank you once again and I hope to see you around in our hotel upon your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maienfeld, Switzerland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

I had to stay a couple of days for business in Kathmandu and my partner booked the Shanker for me. This was a great experience and I hope to be back soon.
I especially appreciated the historic building - I guess it is an old palace which is nicely renovated and has been brought in a moderate way to an up-to date standard.
The rooms are nicely furnitured, spacious (ok I got upgraded into a suite :-)) and with appropriated infrastructure to enjoy a nice stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beatolino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Very happy to know that your partner booked this hotel for you! Appreciate it that you got interested in our old neo classical style architecture and the way that we've adapted it to a modern setting. I look forward to welcoming you back on your next business trip to KTM.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 10, 2013

I really enjoyed being at the hotel, everything was great! The service is great, the staff is polite and friendly, the room is cosy and clean, the location is comfortable! I also enjoyed the garden area! The only think i didn`t like is food service - the choice was not so huge as I expected. But still all the rest was great, hope to return here next time when i will arrear in Nepal again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olga F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Pleased to know that you had a nice time while you were staying with us. Happy to hear that you rated our service very highly and also our decor/garden area. We're offering a limited cafe style menu at the pool side bar whereas our Room Service and Kailash Restaurant menu's are extensive. The management is in the process of updating the menu with many exciting new dishes. I look forward to welcoming you on your return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altadena, California, USA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed four nights at the Shanker Hotel and were perfectly happy with our choice. The hotel, though not actually in Thamel, is an easy walk (even in the dark). The building itself is a lovely and well maintained historical spot. It feels old and quirky, but we had few moments without power or air-conditioning. The rooms were clean and comfortable, with the exception that the mattresses were thin and hard. A lot of variety was offered at breakfast, though the quality of the food was just okay. We ate our dinners in nearby Thamel rather than in the hotel dining room. It was nice have the tourist-central eating options but be able to retreat to a quieter location up the road to sleep. The hotel staff were professional; all of our needs were met. I would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AltadenaTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for describing our building as a charming one. I am very happy to learn that you enjoyed our breakfast spread. It gives me immense pleasure to know that you were happy with our professional services and facilities on the whole and I'd love to have you back at our property when you do return to Nepal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
1.9 mi away
Hotel Shambala
Hotel Shambala
#27 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#32 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,483 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kantipur Temple House
Kantipur Temple House
#16 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Hotel Yak & Yeti
#46 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,086 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#2 of 198 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
1.7 mi away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#11 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shanker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shanker

Property: Hotel Shanker
Address: | Lazimpat, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Phone Number:
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#14 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
#15 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
#16 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Shanker 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Shanker, Kathmandu is a heritage hotel, housed in a 19th-century palace in the heart of Kathmandu city. It was the royal residence of the rulers of Nepal, from 1894 until 1964, when it was converted into a hotel. The facade and traditions were kept intact but the interiors were redesigned to give travelers the kind of comfort they'd expect of a world class hotel. The hotel is characterized by exquisite and authentic objects d'art. For example, the carved windows displayed in the lobby bar are over 200 years old. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Shanker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanker Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing