We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent old world oasis in a great location.”
Review of Hotel Shanker

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Shanker
Ranked #38 of 203 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Mackay, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Magnificent old world oasis in a great location.”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Beautiful old hotel converted from a form palace. The gardens are a delight. The Kunti Bar (unfortunate name) was great for a meal and a cocktail, the prices are ridiculously low. Only a R200 ride to the Thamel (Prob R120-150 if you could be bothered to quibble over a few cents), with taxis available at the door day and night. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Indiman9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
We take immense pride in receiving your generous accolades. We're very happy to learn you enjoyed snacks and drinks at our bar. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Shanker on your return visit, when you will!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    517
    179
    44
    14
See reviews for
234
371
160
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Service was very good. Food in the restaurant was delicious and they had a very extensive breakfast buffet. It is located very close to Thamel, which is the major shopping district (cab ride should cost you about 150-200 rupees)

Room Tip: Try to stay on the high floors, those are the nicer rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RubMyBuddha23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
I am very happy to hear that you were impressed with our service and restaurant food. Thank you for taking time to rate us on Trip Advisor. I hope to see you again at the Shanker.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed at the Shanker Hotel at total of 4 nights on each end of a trekking trip. I guess by Kathmandu standards this is a pretty good place but the interior, furniture and fixtures are looking a bit tired. This is certainly offset by the very nice staff. We only ate breakfasts in the hotel as their are many dining choices within a 15 minute walk. Breakfast was a buffett with a wide variety of items. It was late May and very hot so we made great use of the swimming pool and appreciated the air conditioning. The room was very clean but as mentioned above the furniture a bit tired. The location of the hotel is excellent. It is about 300 meters back from the main roads so it is quiet. Thamel is a 15 minute walk or very cheap taxi ride. In summary The Shaker didn't really do anything to disappoint but at the same time did nothing to impress.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoffrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you taking time to rate us on Trip Advisor. First off, I am happy to hear that you were impressed by standards of service our Staff had to offer. Being a historical hotel, we have shunned many modern influences and trends in furniture design so that we maintain the neo-classical look and feel in the guest rooms. Thank you once again for rating us here and I would love to welcome you back in the future if you do visit Nepal again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed at the Shanker for 6 nights in Jan 2013. From the time we got there to the time we left things were excellent. its only 100 rupee taxi fare from Thamel. The breakfast was great and the meals in the restaurant were also good. I will be travelling to Nepal later this year and I will not hesitate to stay at Hotel Shanker again

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara0573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback. I am very happy to know that you would definitely return to Shanker on your return visit. We all look forward to welcoming you back to Shanker when you do so!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed at the Shanker for three nights in December, 2012, arriving around 10pm due to delay at airport arrival - note to anyone flying into Kathmandu - get your Visa BEFORE leaving home so you don't stand in the "visa line". It took three men to process one visa application, MANUALLY! Was almost midnight by the time we arrived at the Hotel - my luggage did not arrive for another three days later! Reception was not exactly "warm" on arrival, nor did they make us feel too welcome. The rooms were very large, a bit of the tired side, but comfortable none the less. Everything one would need for a comfortable stay. The breakfast buffet was fantastic, large array of western and asian foods and the service from the wait staff was exceptional. And I say this about most of the rest of the staff at the Hotel, they were very warm and made us feel like family - except for the reception staff who were by and large, cold and unwelcoming, but the service staff made up for their shortcomings. One of my memorable moments at the Hotel was on Xmas Eve, a knock at the door and two ladies handing us a beautifully wrapped Xmas gift and a plate of homemade fruit pies and chocolates - just to wish us a Merry Xmas away from our homes. This was such a lovely gesture, it reduced me to tears. I felt at home here. The Hotel also organised our Guide - a truly wonderful guy by the name of Ramesh - to take us around and show us the amazing sites of his city for the day - a truly memorable, and unforgettable experience. I am sure there are better Hotels one could chose, but the Shanker ticked all our boxes, was affordable and pleasant, and I would highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank unone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Your feedback will be very useful to other potential travelers. Thank you taking a moment to write it down. Have noted down your comments about the reception staff. Giving you the highest level of service and satisfaction is our top priority and your feedback is absolutely essential to us. I am happy to know that you appreciated our little Christmas surprise! Thank you for having chosen to stay with us and written this wonderful recommendation. Hope to welcome you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

The hotel is fine. Old, but perfectly clean and pleasant with an extremely professional and friendly staff. But with the entire city being torn up from road construction, I can't really recommend the location. You can walk to Thamel for shopping and eating, but it's so treacherous to cross the roads, I think it might be better to stay in one of the hotels a bit out of the way and just get a cheap taxi to take you into Thamel when and if you want to go there. So I would choose a different hotel next time, based solely on location and because of the current rebuilding situation all over the city. I think I would prefer to be near the Paten district next time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GOfifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
I am happy to hear that you were satisfied with all our services and amenities. We do everything within our circle of influence to make sure that your stay at Shanker is serene. Most of Kathmandu roads are undergoing expansion (widening) and this effort from the government will soon be over. I hope to welcome you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed at Shanker from the 5th to the 8th of this month and had a pleasant and satisfying experience. Hotel staff were generally friendly and courteous except for the two ladies whom I don;t wish to name, manning the front desk at our check in and check oiut times who were not very forthcoming .Food, especially breakfast buffet was excellent with a wide spread of delicacies. Rooms were clean and adequately spacious.However, the hotel management would do well to note and address the following points:
i) Renovation work going on at the front facade gives a shabby first impression to any visitor. Generally. maintanence needs to be improved.
ii) Washing area in bathroom is too small and narrow for big size people to even move their arms slightly.
iii) Bathtub had dirty stains which could not be removed, as we were told by Housekeeping staff.
iv) Hotel should provide complimentary airport transfers to at least on line customers. We were told that the rate for airport drop is an astronomical USD 15.

Room Tip: Windows of some of the rooms are at floor level, necessiating one to bend to get a view outside. Be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SharatNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for taking a moment to rate us. We are happy to hear that you were happy with our service and F&B. My apologies for inconvenience caused due to renovation work on the facade. This work should be over shortly. I have noted down your other suggestions and will forward it to the management. Thank you once again and I hope to welcome you back to the much different Shanker on your return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
1.9 mi away
Hotel Shambala
Hotel Shambala
#23 of 203 in Kathmandu
391 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Hotel Yak & Yeti
#45 of 203 in Kathmandu
1,142 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kantipur Temple House
Kantipur Temple House
#17 of 203 in Kathmandu
780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Annapurna
Hotel Annapurna
#65 of 203 in Kathmandu
540 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#34 of 203 in Kathmandu
1,547 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
#14 of 203 in Kathmandu
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shanker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shanker

Property: Hotel Shanker
Address: | Lazimpat, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Phone Number:
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#14 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
#15 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
#16 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Shanker 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Shanker, Kathmandu is a heritage hotel, housed in a 19th-century palace in the heart of Kathmandu city. It was the royal residence of the rulers of Nepal, from 1894 until 1964, when it was converted into a hotel. The facade and traditions were kept intact but the interiors were redesigned to give travelers the kind of comfort they'd expect of a world class hotel. The hotel is characterized by exquisite and authentic objects d'art. For example, the carved windows displayed in the lobby bar are over 200 years old. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Fastbooking, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Shanker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanker Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing