We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Went here to get a visa for India - interesting”
Review of Hotel Shanker

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Shanker
Ranked #40 of 207 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 4, 2012

I arrived at 06.00am at New Delhi airport from Helsinki to take a fast taxi to the hotel before the morning rush. As a Finnish passport holder a visa on arrival is possible but only 60 days after the last visit. I did not know that when I had agreed to meet a friend in Delhi on my way to Bangkok. The passport officers kindly ordered me back to Finland or to Kathmandu where I could get a visa! So I jumped on a plane to Nepal at midday and arrived under clear blue skies to this very dusty but intriguing small city. I had seen that the Shanker was well regarded by Tripadvisor and that they offered a 60% discount on last minute deals on their website. I could have got a USD10 deal for Madhuban Guest House that my neighbor enthused about but I wanted to be sure of sleeping well that one night.
And that I did! The hotel is certainly from the old world but the gardens are green and well kept. The older staff are really traditional colonial style polite people who treat all guests like VIP's. The younger staff were modern and friendly - unlike the older staff members they did not salute me each time I past. The reception was very helpful on arrival. The room was a touch tired with dark surfaces but everything worked well including Internet.
The restaurant was fun and had a big menu of good dishes. The bar was the best part - small an intimate where you could chat with others and enjoy a good meal and drink.
The next morning I got my visa at the Indian Embassy - that's another story - but it is worth mentioning that Shankers is near this embassy and right next door to the embassy is a small agency that can make the application and physically apply for and deliver all the documents on your behalf so you do not have to wait around all day in the queues.
The hotel is near Tummel- the big market - getting thereon foot is just 10 minutes - but at night this is tricky because there are no street lights!
One night in the Shanker was great - the gardens and the pool are exactly as they are photographed...

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicholas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

I found the story of your visit to Kathmandu very interesting! I certainly hope that you get to spend a little more time to soak up the beauty of our country when you're around South Asia next time.

Thank you for taking time to write a review about your experience and we are all very happy to hear that we were able to show a good time! Look forward to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,187)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Shanker
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

761 - 767 of 1,187 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2012

The hotel is a little tired but it's very nice and well worth a visit.

As you enter the grounds of the Shanker Hotel, the hustle and bustle of Kathmandu seems to just dissapear. The hotel is a little tired but it's in good shape and you can just imagine what it was like in it's hey day.

The hotel is located within easy walking distance to the Thamel (backpackers) area.
Our room was a nice size, clean and comfortable.
The garden and pool area are a great place to relax after a day seeing the city.
The staff were very friendly and quick to assist if you need any help.
Breakfast (included) was served in a big ballroom - there was a good variety and the service was excellent.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tommy-1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pratikshr, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2012

I am delighted to hear that we could leave a positive impression on your memory with our customer service. This hotel was formerly a Rana Palace (Nepal's erstwhile ruling elite), and it is over a hundred years old! However, the management had done a great job maintaining this property.

I am also happy to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast spread. Hope you choose to stay with us the next time you're around!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

I booked this hotel for my girlfriend's birthday whilst we were travelling as a treat and it proved to be a very good choice. The best part of this hotel is the gardens and pool. This peaceful setting is incredibly rare in Kathmandu and seemed a world away from the craziness at the end of the road. The rooms were very clean, extremely comfortable and the bathroom was also good.

The only drawback is the area surrounding the hotel (which is very run down) and a couple of the female reception staff were not very welcoming. When I asked if they could help me book a table for my girlfriend's birthday they asked if it was necessary then demanded that I get the phone number, show my room number and cross other hurdles before I got 1 attempt and was told "he's busy".

This didn't ruin what was a very pleasant stay and we were even given a complimentary cake to celebrate by the male reception staff!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JolyonBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pratikshr, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

We are all very pleased to hear about your account. Thank you for taking a moment to write it.

I will investigate further into your experience with one of our female reception staff member. Hope you choose to stay with us on your next trip to Kathmandu!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

A good quality hotel by Nepali standards.
Staff riendly and rooms very clean. The breakfast was excellant with an array of local and western choices.
Also a good size pool.
A great benefit was the location..5 minute walk from the lively Thamel area.
Tip: take a torch with you as there a frequent power cuts and at night the streets are not illuminated and the standard of pavements and road are poor to say the least!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LadesClimping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pratikshr, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write down such a helpful review. I am happy to hear that you were happy with our breakfast spread and our hotel facilities.

Hope to see you again on your next visit to Kathmandu!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Hi,

A few point to note on this hotel:

1) The front staff are friendly but more fake and business like. This is not typical Nepal culture. Other staffs were overly greeting and clearly expecting tips. Made us quite uncomfortable.
2) Our room had plumbing problems for two days. Was quite irritating. We were finally upgraded after continuous complaining. However, I have to give credit to the head house keeping lady (a bit elderly, don't know her name but had red hair). She really was apologetic and tried her best to get it solved. She even arranged a temp room for us while they tried to repair. Even the next day, she kept asking if our new room was ok.
3) The hotel is actually a gorgeous palace. Beautiful garden. Some painting will do it good.
4) The breakfast is not as spectacular as other reviewers said. I travelled extensively in Asia and this is the lowest basic fare for a star hotel. No quality items e.g. the jam, cereal, butter,, bread etc were all real cheap stuffs. There were fresh fruits and juices which I would love to take but I usually would avoid as I don't know how it has been cleaned or handled.
5) We also ordered room service. That was pretty ok and price was reasonable too.
6) The complimentary mineral water was sealed but still leaking. So, we dared not drink it. This was a general problem in Nepal where we could not be sure of getting clean water.
7) Bed was ok. Comfortable enough to sleep.
8) Room is spacious
9) Bath also spacious but not that clean. Toilets n tub pretty stained. Would be nice if they had new toilets
10) walking distance to Thamel, but was of no interest to us.
11) Narayanhiti palace is just next door. Closed Tuesday and Wednesday.
12) If your room does not come with wifi package, it can be quite expensive for wifi charges. Go down the street to the sports shop whereby there's cafe along side it. There is free wifi there with good signal and decent coffee. In the next street, there is Barista coffee. Nice coffee and free wifi too.
13) There is swimming pool but quite small..
Thank you

Room Tip: 1.Use your local driver/guide to get the booking. They get a cheaper rate than us tourist. 2. Down...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swordfish01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pratikshr, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Thank for taking time to write such a detailed account about your stay. I love the photographs that you uploaded.

I am happy to hear that you loved the neo classical style architecture of our hotel. But I am surprised to hear about your comments from the reception staff. Customer satisfaction is our No. 1 priority. I will personally look into this matter and ensure guests do not feel that way.

Overall, I am happy to hear that you liked most of our service offerings. We have noted down the points where you were not satisfied and we'll be working on them right away.

Hope you see you again where you're in Kathmandu next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Historical building!
Excellent, friendly staff!
Stone's throw from the heart of the biz area - Thamel!!
Completely away from the bustle of it all, yet!
Icing in cake - great breakfast buffet in a wonderful ornate hall!
What more can one ask for?!!

We had a wonderful 4 nights in KTM thanks to Hotel Shanker!

Room Tip: Bathroom doesn't have exhaust fans, so keep the room a/c going after ur shower!!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KarmaYogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pratikshr, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Thanks for your review! Our chef's team could not be happier to hear that you loved the breakfast spread. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Hotel is a bit rundown, but very nice for Kathmandu standards. The pool was great to soak in at the end of a long (dirty) day. It's definitely a historic hotel, so it was nice to have some culture. They front desk staff were relatively friendly.

If we'd do it again, we'd probably stay in a hotel in the middle of Thamel. They all looked equally as nice and we loved that area. This hotel is close to Thamel, but not in the middle of the madness.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WiscoTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pratikshr, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Thanks for writing this review. I will take this as an opportunity to identify key areas where you were not delighted with us. Customer Delight is our No. 1 priority, and we take it very seriously. I am happy to hear that you were happy with our Customer Service of Front Desk staff.

Thanks again, for having chosen us and we hope you choose to stay with us the next time you're around.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
1.9 mi away
Hotel Shambala
Hotel Shambala
#26 of 207 in Kathmandu
396 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Hotel Yak & Yeti
#48 of 207 in Kathmandu
1,164 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kantipur Temple House
Kantipur Temple House
#19 of 207 in Kathmandu
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
#66 of 207 in Kathmandu
1,089 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
#14 of 207 in Kathmandu
537 reviews
2.8 mi away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#2 of 207 in Kathmandu
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shanker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shanker

Address: | Lazimpat, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Phone Number:
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#11 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
#14 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
#15 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
#16 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range: $56 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Shanker 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Shanker, Kathmandu is a heritage hotel, housed in a 19th-century palace in the heart of Kathmandu city. It was the royal residence of the rulers of Nepal, from 1894 until 1964, when it was converted into a hotel. The facade and traditions were kept intact but the interiors were redesigned to give travelers the kind of comfort they'd expect of a world class hotel. The hotel is characterized by exquisite and authentic objects d'art. For example, the carved windows displayed in the lobby bar are over 200 years old. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fastbooking, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Shanker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanker Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing