We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was nice enough.”
Review of Hotel Shanker

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Shanker
Ranked #42 of 209 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Hotel is a bit rundown, but very nice for Kathmandu standards. The pool was great to soak in at the end of a long (dirty) day. It's definitely a historic hotel, so it was nice to have some culture. They front desk staff were relatively friendly.

If we'd do it again, we'd probably stay in a hotel in the middle of Thamel. They all looked equally as nice and we loved that area. This hotel is close to Thamel, but not in the middle of the madness.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WiscoTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pratikshr, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Thanks for writing this review. I will take this as an opportunity to identify key areas where you were not delighted with us. Customer Delight is our No. 1 priority, and we take it very seriously. I am happy to hear that you were happy with our Customer Service of Front Desk staff.

Thanks again, for having chosen us and we hope you choose to stay with us the next time you're around.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,235)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

806 - 812 of 1,235 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2012

The Hotel is well located within a short walk to the Thamel area with its markets and narrow streets. However despite this it has beautiful gardens and is a peaceful oasis in a frantic city. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The restaurant was magnificent, and the food was good and reasoably priced. The pool was clean and with the poolside cafe a great place to relax in the sun. I would definitely return. Don't miss out on a flight round Everest!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Antony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pratikshr, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

I am delighted to hear about your stay. Yes, we are a 4 Star 4.4 acre Heritage property located in the heart of the city. Despite all the luxuries provided we are very reasonably priced. Most staff working here have been with us for more than 15-20 years. That's where the loyalties come from. Years of service and dedication to satisfy guests is our team's primary objective.

I am glad that you used our Travel Desk services to book that Everest Flight. Thank you for appreciating our hotel. I look forward to your return visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in 2 different rooms (2 weeks apart) and had a lovely time. The hotel used to be a palace so is very grand, some areas could be doing with a lick of paint but on the whole it is very nice. The rooms were of decent size with fridge and air-con. Beds and pillows were very comfy and we got a good nights sleep, the rooms were all very clean and tidy. Breakfast was superb, with a good choice to please everyone, with the usual cereals, bacon, eggs, fresh fruit etc and is of buffet style so you can have as much or as little as required, again the dining room was very grand. Overall a very enjoyable stay and would go straight back there if in Kathmandu again. It is in easy walking distance (15 mins) of Thamel and has lovely gardens and pool which is a quiet haven away from the busy noisy streets of Kathmandu. It is in a secure complex and all staff are very professional and polite, highly recommended!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gmorrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pratikshr, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2012

Thanks for your wonderful review! We're delighted to learn that we were able to satisfy all your needs during your short visit. In particular, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed the food. Chef Lama is very happy to hear positive feedback about his work!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Great location and superb old style building with most helpful staff.
Lovely greeting on arrival and check in kept quick and simple after our long flights.
Room not luxourious but very good standard, especially in Kathmandu and of good size. When problems with the AC, they fixed very quickly and could not do enough to help.
The dinning hall for breakfast is stunning and a superb buffet offering along with great unlimited coffee to get you up and going.
The restaurant is more intimate with great food if you want a night in.
The shops on site were surprisingly good given you have Thamel and the thousands of shops on your doorstep. I still managed to find my prize necklace there after much research locally as well as a more unusual pashmina for a fair price.
The reception staff were excellent, in particular Meenu who was not just efficient, but most kind and helpful.
The pool area is an oasis in this city and a welcome retreat at any time of day. To be honest, we hung out a lot at the hotel and pool whilst we aclimatised and got ready for our big trek.
Will definately be back as this is great value in an unusual setting with super facilities.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LLB13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pratikshr, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Our staff members are very happy to have read your review! (Meenu is particular). We eagerly look forward to seeing you again on your return visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Great location, fantastic food and really helpful staff that did their utmost to make our stay pleasant.

The hotel has a really nice garden and pool area where you can hang out, sip on cocktails and surf the web on your tablet. It is all a bit old school but I like that so that´s all good.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonheidar685
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pratikshr, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Most guests love our poolside area. Having the luxury of 4.4 acres in downtown KTM gives our garden and poolside areas a very intimate touch. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

One of the best hotels in Kathmandu, the land of peace and fresh air. Friendly service, beautiful garden, nice retourant. Maybe one surpise was lack hair shampoo and conditioner in our room. We lived here for 2 weeks and not bothered, it was real home for us.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elina_Romanenko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pratikshr, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

We very to know that you called our place "home". That really made our team feel special! Thank you for your review. We look forward to seeing you again on your return visits!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights after a 2 week tour of northern India. Hotel grounds and pool are lovely and it is set back from the main road so ver y quiet and peaceful. Rooms were nice and clean and bed very comfortable. Hotel is a short walk to Thamel markets which is big tourist market. Lots of well priced restaurants around also and taxi fare are cheap. Breakfast in hotel very good but did not have evening meal here as preferred to go out. Bar is very good and although hotel is non smoking, you can smoke in bar area. Overall, very satisfied with rooms, food and service in this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaggieW255093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pratikshr, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Glad to hear that you were delighted with the overall package that was offered! Thank you recommending our hotel. Hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
1.9 mi away
Hotel Shambala
Hotel Shambala
#23 of 209 in Kathmandu
432 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Hotel Yak & Yeti
#56 of 209 in Kathmandu
1,253 reviews
2.8 mi away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#3 of 209 in Kathmandu
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Kantipur Temple House
Kantipur Temple House
#18 of 209 in Kathmandu
839 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
#66 of 209 in Kathmandu
1,141 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
#14 of 209 in Kathmandu
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shanker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shanker

Address: | Lazimpat, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Phone Number:
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#15 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
#15 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
#16 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range: $64 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Shanker 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Shanker, Kathmandu is a heritage hotel, housed in a 19th-century palace in the heart of Kathmandu city. It was the royal residence of the rulers of Nepal, from 1894 until 1964, when it was converted into a hotel. The facade and traditions were kept intact but the interiors were redesigned to give travelers the kind of comfort they'd expect of a world class hotel. The hotel is characterized by exquisite and authentic objects d'art. For example, the carved windows displayed in the lobby bar are over 200 years old. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Shanker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanker Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing