We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel in central location”
Review of Hotel Shanker

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Shanker
Ranked #37 of 198 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Decent hotel in central location”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Stayed at the Shanker for a few days before departing for my EBC trek. I chose it because of its central location close to Thamel, although in reality, taxis are so cheap in Kathmandu that being further out wouldn't really be a big issue.

You can tell the hotel was once grand but it's a bit run down now. The pros are the free WiFi and included breakfast. However, the WiFi was extremely unreliable and the breakfast spread was limited and average. The room was clean although it could use some upgrading, eg, the tv looked like a 20" lcd computer monitor.

Helpful?
Thank ciphertext
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
pratikshr, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thanks for having chosen to stay with us. We have invested heavily in technology and we take pride in being one of the few hotels in Kathmandu to maintain state of the art Servers. We have also leased a dedicated bandwidth server for hotel use. Due to some external factors that were out of our control, it is possible that the WI FI internet speeds that you experienced might have been flaky but let us assure you that it was just a bad spell. We are doing everything we can to make sure you stay connected.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

1,145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    412
    500
    176
    44
    13
See reviews for
230
356
157
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed just one night in the hotel... pros - nice hotel, big rooms, nice resturant and breakfast buffet, 5-10 min walk to the market, where you can get almost everything. Only problem we had was, were looking for a Car for next morning, which they cannot arrange as the tradel desk closes pretty early (well, we arrived at the hotel ~4:30pm, and they were already gone)......the pool is really nice with a nice bar and surrounding gardens. All in all, nice stay except for a minor glitch.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinakc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pratikshr, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
We extremely happy to hear that we were able to delight you on all frontiers but one; Travel Desk. We provide the most competitive rates and employ the finest travel professionals of Kathmandu at our travel desk. Our apologies for having closed early on the day of your stay. Normally, the travel desk is functional till 8:00pm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Nice hotel, helpful friendly staff, great breakfast, reasonable rooms a little stuffy, but we were only there to sleep!! 5 min walk to a market / shop area, a few bars & restaurants.. enjoyed my stay in this hotel :)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CeoJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pratikshr, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
We're happy to hear that we could make your visit "comfortable"! Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

The hotel itself is stunning. The rooms are huge especially if you stay in a suite which has a large living room attached. There are coffee and tea making facilities and fruit. The bed was very comfortable and there was a tv in both the living room and bedroom. There were only a few issues tho. The hotel should not  be classed as a 5*. It's situated right next to the radisson so if you have a room facing it you won't get a chance to sleep due to the live music. The hallways had mattresses lined up against the walls, there's a non smoking policy everywhere including around the pool so the only place you can smoke it outside the front of reception (which makes you feel like you have lepracy), the restaurant was underground which was very dark and the restaurant toilets were disgusting. The restaurant made you feel like you were in someone's cellar. There was no music so when you spoke it echoed. The staff at the front desk give out different information. Eg when we asked how much their taxis to the airport would be they said $10 but the following morning they said $15. We asked if they could call us a normal taxi which they did and told us it would be 400 rupees. When we got in the taxi he said it was 700! Normally I wouldn't mention these points but as the hotel is quite pricey I think it's worth a mention. I would stay here again but I think they need to look at the rates as for Nepal this is very top heavy. 

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iloveaustralia1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pratikshr, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
We take pride in being a 4 Star Heritage Hotel. We were infact one of the first hotels to open up in Kathmandu! apologize on behalf of some noisy neighbours who might have thrown a party. Regarding prices of Taxi's, they are beyond our control. Their prices are subject to fluctuations in fuel prices and many other market driven factors. I apologize on the behalf of any staff member who provided inaccurate information. I would like to point out that our rates are in the range of USD 80 to 125. Similar hotels overseas would easily demand 200USD.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
246 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

i was happy to enter a room so spacious. We were three and they had to put an extra bed. Stil alot of room for our huge luggages. The bathroom needs improvement especially the lights. They are quick to respond to our needs. The buffet breakfast was also good having alot of choices.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank isaacmanila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pratikshr, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you for appreciating the dimensions of our room! They were after all the part of a palace of Nepal's ruling elite! We're so glad that you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
Reviewed September 24, 2012

My friend, Margaret, and I stayed at the Shanker for a total of 15 days in May and June of 2012 (on either side of our trek). We really enjoyed our time there from start to finish. The staff were very helpful and kind. They helped us by providing information and by responding to our service calls right away. The hotel is quite convenient to Thamel, the main travelers area of Kathmandu (walking distance) and one can easily get a rickshaw or taxi down to Dhurbar Square though we walked it. We LOVED having the large, beautiful gardens and the pool for relaxing. We often ate by the pool and the food was delicious, as was the amazing breakfast buffet. I highly recommend this hotel if you would like to relax and take it easy post-jet lag prior to starting off on a trek and then upon return when more relaxation is in order!
Thanks so much, Shanker family! Will most certainly return when I am back in Nepal!
Namaskar, Kathryn

Room Tip: We stayed in the suite on the back side. It was quiet, comfortable, and spacious. Saw the regular...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pratikshr, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Hi Kathryn,
Thanks for taking time to write a detailed account of your stay with us. We're so happy that you enjoyed our hospitality. It really validates the reason we've been in business for over the last 50 years. Delighting you, our guests is our topmost priority.

Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Real sense of faded grandeur - but we really loved this hotel. It had bags of character even if the decor was little bit in need of an update. Staff were incredibly helpful, rooms were a good size and very clean. The pool and the Garden at the front of the hotel made a very pleasant place to chill out. We had a really pleasant stay here

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dastardley1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pratikshr, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to write such a lovely review about your stay! We're glad that we were able to make your visit to Nepal delightful!

We welcome you to visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
1.9 mi away
Hotel Shambala
Hotel Shambala
#24 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#32 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,482 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kantipur Temple House
Kantipur Temple House
#16 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Hotel Yak & Yeti
#46 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,086 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#2 of 198 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
1.7 mi away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#11 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shanker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shanker

Property: Hotel Shanker
Address: | Lazimpat, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Phone Number:
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#14 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
#15 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
#16 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Shanker 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Shanker, Kathmandu is a heritage hotel, housed in a 19th-century palace in the heart of Kathmandu city. It was the royal residence of the rulers of Nepal, from 1894 until 1964, when it was converted into a hotel. The facade and traditions were kept intact but the interiors were redesigned to give travelers the kind of comfort they'd expect of a world class hotel. The hotel is characterized by exquisite and authentic objects d'art. For example, the carved windows displayed in the lobby bar are over 200 years old. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Fastbooking, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Shanker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanker Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing