We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Shanker

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Shanker
Ranked #38 of 193 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

Real sense of faded grandeur - but we really loved this hotel. It had bags of character even if the decor was little bit in need of an update. Staff were incredibly helpful, rooms were a good size and very clean. The pool and the Garden at the front of the hotel made a very pleasant place to chill out. We had a really pleasant stay here

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dastardley1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pratikshr, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to write such a lovely review about your stay! We're glad that we were able to make your visit to Nepal delightful!

We welcome you to visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    494
    173
    44
    14
See reviews for
227
353
155
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

Shankar Hotel is one of the most amazing hotels in Kathmandu, yes its not at the center of thamel but service is beyond amazing rooms fabulase, i stayed 2 nights there and had a lot of fun, if you like walking then everything is a walking distance from you .. enjoy it

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lemis O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pratikshr, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thanks for staying with us! We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

Stayed there for four days and there were a number of things that were not upto the mark. The rooms were OK but the safe acted up the day we were leaving and that created panic. There was no spa at this hotel - it was located 10 minutes away and the hotel did not so much as offer a shuttle.

The hotel staff was rather jerky when we made a request which put me off. Food was just acceptable. Location was good, but the service put me off.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shaily a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pratikshr, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
I apologize for any inconvenience that was caused. We're using Bumil Safes (German make) in all our Guest Rooms to ensure maximum safety of your belongings. Since they are set in hotel mode, each time you shut the safe, you need to re enter a code. The code thus entered, is the new code.

Many guests make this mistake by forgetting the last code entered, causing panic in the last minute. Regarding the jerky behaviour of our hotel staff, I apologize. We try out best to keep your priorities first but due to somebody's bad attitude the management faces the bullets. We will look into your reservation details and investigate more about your case to find out where we went wrong.

Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Our stay there for 3 nights was fairly ok, probably because we had booked the suite. Apart from the old, sour smell on the corridors, everything else was fine. Oh, there was also the time when the guys at the bar made it pretty bluntly clear that they are tired and would like us to get out (around 11:30) so we apologized took our drinks and went to the garden. The breakfast was nothing fancy, but at least it was a buffet, so we could choose. Don't get me wrong, i enjoyed my newary meal in a neighborhood restaurant, but i review a 4 star hotel here.
Things went wrong at the end of our stay. We had invited a couple of friends to join us in Shanker and booked a room for them. I asked about rate and availability at the reception, all they had was a standard room. I got the rate and it sounded decent (for those unaware, remember to ad the 23% service and whatever other taxes there might be, they never mention it unless asked for it), only to find out the next morning, at check out that my friends were supposed to pay a higher rate. It was useless of me going there and ask to talk to the person who initially gave me the price. All they did was shuffle a bill in our face and say this is what you have to pay. They did offer to deduct the extra money from the next bill when they heard that my friends intended to return to Kathmandu. That was under the excuse that they have made a mistake but since the bill is already written (a lousy piece of paper written by hand) they can't change it .... So my friends paid and decided not to return.
All in all, just make sure you clarify the money issues with them in advance.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gabriela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pratikshr, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
A bad experience at the end of your stay completely ruins it. I understand your feelings. I apologize on behalf of all those who caused you inconvenience. We are investigating this matter and finding the points where our staff made mistakes. We thank you for reporting this problem to us on time, which would have gone unnoticed if you hadn't done so. Thank you, and have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

Stayed in this hotel for 2 night in 3rd week of August with family.
We were given 2 suites. Although the suites did feel small but was comfortable and clean. Service was good and prompt.

The food options are low and the food quality was average. The buffet breakfast was above average.

It is in walking distance of Thamel and Kingsway Road and such makes a good place for those who wish to explore.

Room Tip: Try to have the meals outside the hotel as they serve better food at a lower price. The food here is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deepak A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pratikshr, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
I will discuss your review with the management. The Chef's team works very hard to deliver top quality cuisine. Something has clearly gone wrong if you're not delighted. Thanks for dropping your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Masqat, Oman
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

Iam in Oman and for Ramzan holidays,we booked a package option at shankar thru online.Stay was pleasant Hospitality was excellent.Rooms where fantastic.Location was ideal.Front office & Room service guys where very friendly.Love to stay again.Local tour arranged was unforgettable due to car and guide.

Room Tip: Ask for Big rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Senthil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pratikshr, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you commending our Front Office and and Room Service staff. They will be very happy to hear about your review! We pleased to know that you liked our Rooms, Location and Travel Desk services. This really validates our guiding principle of putting Customer Service as our Top Priority. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

The overall experience with this property started on a very promising note. We had sent a query thru Tripadvisor and were amazed at the speed at which we received the response and all subsequent communications till we landed in Kathmandu were equally prompt from their end. The best part about this property is that even though it’s walking distance from Thamel (shoppers' paradise) and almost in the center of the city, it still has the retreat feel to it. Tucked away just a stone throw distance from the street, you are completely cut off from the hustle bustle once you enter this property.
The breakfast buffet is quite decent though couple of staff members are gruff. However, on the service aspect I would still rate this place 9.5/10. Most of the staff is very very cooperative and accommodating, room service is amazingly fast and response time from their end leaves nothing to be desired.
A special mention of the staff at Kunti Bar... exceedingly warm people and can conjure awesome cocktails in a jiffy. Though the bar area is little small but it nevertheless exudes a snug feeling. However, the bar timings still remain a mystery to me :-) same time two separate evenings the bar was closed once and open the other day.

The swimming pool and adjoining area is quite amazing with terrific Lavazza option right thr. The bar serves you at the pool so you have best of both worlds available as far as beverages go. Staff at the pool again is very courteous and prompt in service. A little dampener is the pool timings 10-7 which really takes away the fun though afternoon dip has a great feel to it.

Overall, a great place to soak in and savor all that Kathmandu has to offer.

Room Tip: 4th floor has non-smoking rooms which though are spacious have no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kg1507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pratikshr, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Thanks for writing such a detailed response about your stay on Trip Advisor! We're really honoured that you rated us at 9.5 on Service! Customer service is our No. 1 priority and we take it very seriously. Will put forward your request to the top management to extent the pool timings during summer months. I think it makes sense to do so. Thanks for having chosen to stay at Shanker. Hope you choose to stay here on your subsequent visit to KTM!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
1.9 mi away
Hotel Shambala
Hotel Shambala
#21 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#33 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,448 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kantipur Temple House
Kantipur Temple House
#15 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Hotel Yak & Yeti
#41 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#2 of 193 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
1.7 mi away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#10 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shanker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shanker

Property: Hotel Shanker
Address: | Lazimpat, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Phone Number:
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#14 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
#15 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
#16 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Shanker 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Shanker, Kathmandu is a heritage hotel, housed in a 19th-century palace in the heart of Kathmandu city. It was the royal residence of the rulers of Nepal, from 1894 until 1964, when it was converted into a hotel. The facade and traditions were kept intact but the interiors were redesigned to give travelers the kind of comfort they'd expect of a world class hotel. The hotel is characterized by exquisite and authentic objects d'art. For example, the carved windows displayed in the lobby bar are over 200 years old. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fastbooking, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Shanker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanker Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing