We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Shanker
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Annapurna(Kathmandu)
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$41
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Yak & Yeti(Kathmandu)
$113
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$105
$100
Radisson
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$22
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$28
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$46
$43
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Dwarika's Hotel(Kathmandu)
$342
$240
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,306)
Filter reviews
1,306 results
Traveler rating
488
568
188
46
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
488
568
188
46
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold palaceconverted palaceswimming poolrana palaceheritage hotelearthquake damagebreakfast buffetan oasisegg stationseen better daystravel deskthe hustle and bustlenice gardencomfortable staythamel areahot watershankar
Filter
Updating list...
898 - 903 of 1,306 reviews
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Very nice staff with smile on face all the time !
Perfect interior of whole hotel and rooms !
Buffet Breakfast is yummy !
Manager Mr. Prabhu Shanker is a good person to meet and have some gossip if you catch him in the lobby sometime !
Swimming pool and garden is so well managed and clean !
Loved it as i stayed 3 nights.
* Just one advise for them to have big LCD screens in the big rooms like 720 as from bed we can hardly watch the TV
* Hotel's exterior needs to be renovated.

Room Tip: All rooms and services are perfect !
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank khan-kuwaiti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pratikshr, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2012

Most of our Staff have been working with us for the last 20-25 years. Such a long period a service breeds a great culture and a strong sense of loyalty among our team members. Prabhu will be delighted to hear about your review. Will forward this link to him immediately! I have noted your suggestion (LCD Bigger Screen in Room 720) and have it sanctioned from the management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

I along with 3 of my friends visited Nepal lately though we only went to Asia to visit India. we found the quality of the hotel and the country itself far better than what we had thought or what the perception is around.We luvd its prime location ( just behind the royal palace and a km away from the best hangout place of kthmandu..(thamil), we totally enjoyed the stay, food and view from the hotel right after it rained and the fresh air of early mornings. It was a good deal over all, they give info about anything we wanted to see or anywhere we wanted to go.. very nice people. btw the poolside bar was awesome.... definitely recommended!

Room Tip: The front facing rooms (ones we were given) were amazing..... awesome view from the window in the morning ..
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michrhodes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pratikshr, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2012

We're glad that you chose to stay with us. Also that we exceeded your expectations! Satisfying our guests is our Top Priority and we're glad that we're on track. We hope you choose to stay with us the next time you're around!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed at this hotel to experience staying at an old palace,everthing exceeded our expectations we felt we were treated like royalty.Whether house keeping or reception the service was friendly and helpful.Rameswor who has a shop at the hotel gave sound advice regarding how to distinguish between wool and synthetic products which was useful as all that glitters is not gold.We bought a resin elephant at shop nearby called Mahaguth for 5.50USD we were offered the same elephant elswhere as hand carved yak bone for 40USD,after trying to avoid this seller his price got down to 7USD.There is a good supermarket and a great restaurant called Ringmo near the hotel. Remember this is Katmandu and its differant to elsewhere and for this reason we want to come again and we would stay at the Shanker. .

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richard m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pratikshr, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2012

Mr Rameshwor has been running that shop since the last 25-30 years! Also that restaurant called Ringmo was the 'First' Chinese restaurant in KTM. I definitely recommend that place to other travellers who are reading this! Thank you for having chosen to stay at Shanker during your visit. Hope you'll stay with us the next you're in South Asia!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

I was there recently with my friends. I had a great time in the Kathmandu valley and a very comfortable stay in Shanker Hotel.
The pool area is fantastic. Bibek , the pool waiter, took really good care and provided a fantastic service to us. This hotel is some sort of a palace of Nepal's rolyalty. Its a beautiful building!!!

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
Thank PradAbhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pratikshr, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2012

I will let Bibek know! He will be very happy to hear about your review! Hope you will stay with us the next time you're around!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

This is not a four star hotel. Not even three. They block trip advisor which made it difficult for us to find restaurants and things to do. They block it because they are mad about the poor reviews. They were nice but the room was old. They gave us a free upgrade when we were going to leave. Gave my husband a nice cake when they heard it was his birthday. But the lobby bathroom was disgusting and the room to eat breakfast was dark and gloomy. Notw worth seventy doolars.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pokey33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 15, 2012

Customer Service is our number one priority and we go great lengths to ensure your satisfaction. We've been experiencing some server trouble lately in our infrastructure. Only local sites (Nepali sites) were getting loaded while sites which were hosted on int'l servers were getting slow. Our tech team has been in touch with our ISP, and this is an ISP problem. We're currently undergoing renovation in the lobby areas. We're sorry for the inconvenience caused. Nevertheless, we're happy that you were happy with our service. We hope you choose to stay with us the next time you're in Kathmandu, as you will experience a new and renovated Shanker!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews