We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it. Hope I get a chance to go back.”
Review of Hotel Shanker

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Shanker
Ranked #38 of 198 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Loved it. Hope I get a chance to go back.”
Reviewed July 16, 2011

We planned our Kathmandu trip rather hurriedly. We had no clue about any hotel and of course safest option was to stay at Radisson. But for some reason we choose Hotel Shanker and were not disappointed. It's a wonderful place to stay, steeped in Nepali architecture yet complete with all modern facilities. The most remarkable thing about this place is their entire staff. Everyone is so welcoming and always smiling and never pestering for tips. The staff here is so accommodating that they never say no to anything. In many hotels that cater to European/American tourists in India I have observed that they don't really bother about Indian tourist. But this was not the case here. Everyone from the owner of the hotel to the doorman and security guard impressed me and my family.

The hotel doesnt has a casino so we went to Radisson - which is walking distance - to gamble and drinks. After checking Radisson we were very happy with our choice as Radisson was just a hotel and not a part of history and culture of Nepal like Shanker Hotel.

I wish I can visit this place again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mehtanidhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pratikshr, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, July 20, 2011
Dear Nidhi,

Thank you for your candid comments.

We look forward to serving you again!

Prabhu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    506
    177
    44
    13
See reviews for
231
363
158
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2011

The hotel is an establishment of the city, good location and colonial ambience. However, completely unsatisfied with the service due to one small incident. The hotel has not wi fi facility either free or paid. made a phone call to China for 24 minutes and was billed for almost 80 British pounds upon check out. It is excessive in this day and age to be charged so much for one phone call, especially the hotel has not got any alternative means for the clients to contact family and friends at home. The same phone call in other hotel and area of Nepal would have cost about one third less which shows that Shanker Hotel was too greedy in this case. So if you want to avoid any nasty surprises, might need to keep away from the hotel. Shame.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Singharvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pratikshr, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, July 9, 2011
Dear Harvery,

I understand a single unsatisfactory incident can scar the entire experience.

I agree that at this day and age, International calls can be made at nominal costs through VOIP softwares (Internet Telephony). We do not offer those services in our Hotel to guests currently.

However, I would like to assert two facts:
1) We do offer high speed Wireless connectivity in all of our guest rooms, lobby, cafe/restaurant and poolside areas. You however need to have a wi-fi enable device or your own to avail this facility, or you could also use our business center to use a desktop PC.
2) Being a Deluxe Heritage Hotel, our telephone tariffs are at par with any other Hotel in the city like Radisson or Hyatt and the tariff cards are posted in a leather bound folder next to the room telephone. At any other hotel/Phone booth calls are priced at cost price.

Warm Regards,
Pratik S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2011

I can't say enough -- from the GM on down the staff was professional, responsive, friendly. The grounds are gorgeous, the rooms roomy, clean and comfortable, the pool a cool escape, food delicious. Central location makes exploration of Kathmandu easy. Hint: bring a thermos, get up early, they will fill your thermos in the dining room, but take it out and sip your coffee outside in the quiet garden. Heaven. Namaste!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arthur3d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pratikshr, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, July 4, 2011
Dear Arthur,

Thank you for your candid comments.

Most of our Shanker Hotel staff have been with us for the last 20 years. Offering great service to guest is our top priority and hearing positive feedback from you motivates us further to continue doing what we do best.

Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2011

I stayed in Shanker while I was visiting Kathmandu and I enjoyed the peaceful garden, the pool and the restaurant. The rooms (Ist floor) were outstanding, clean and spacious. No doubt, I would return!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bondi2544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pratikshr, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, July 4, 2011
Dear Sir,

Greetings! Thank you for your posting your comments.

We look forward to serving you again. Have a great day!

Pratik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2011

The hotel staff were extremely helpful and friendly.
Helped find places I wanted to visit, and food was
very good. Many shops close by, so could walk and
enjoy the culture of the city.
I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Just tell them what you would like .They will try.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jancroft19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for taking a moment to rate us here. I look forward to welcome you back again to Shanker on your return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha
Level Contributor
38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2011

Plus points : Its a nice place in the heart of the city & near to Thamel. Rooms are clean & have daily room service. 24 hrs hot water supply. Cooperative staff. Good spa (Tranquility) near by. Negatives : Not a wide variety in buffet breakfast. Extremely over priced wi-fi service (they should provide it complimentary). Over priced city tour & adventure activities (had to bargain with them to get a reasonable deal). No gym & small sized pool. All rooms are facing the backside of the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Husain A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doorn, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2011

This large hotel in a quiet area in Kathmandu has nice rooms, a helpful staff and good amenities. It has the grandeur of colonial times and it is run efficiently. The helpfulness of the staff might be a voucher for free internet ore very good assistance to get to the airport when there is a strike in the city. They are friendly and will try to help you as much as possible! This hotel is also used by travel agencies.
The breakfast buffet is quite simple and in the same room is also the restaurant. It's located in a nice ballroom, but is not cosy. There are some good restaurants in the area and the Thamel district is within walking distance.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaap60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
1.9 mi away
Hotel Shambala
Hotel Shambala
#25 of 198 in Kathmandu
370 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kantipur Temple House
Kantipur Temple House
#17 of 198 in Kathmandu
771 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Hotel Yak & Yeti
#47 of 198 in Kathmandu
1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#12 of 198 in Kathmandu
1,072 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#32 of 198 in Kathmandu
1,508 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
#15 of 198 in Kathmandu
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shanker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shanker

Property: Hotel Shanker
Address: | Lazimpat, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Phone Number:
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#14 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
#15 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
#16 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Shanker 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Shanker, Kathmandu is a heritage hotel, housed in a 19th-century palace in the heart of Kathmandu city. It was the royal residence of the rulers of Nepal, from 1894 until 1964, when it was converted into a hotel. The facade and traditions were kept intact but the interiors were redesigned to give travelers the kind of comfort they'd expect of a world class hotel. The hotel is characterized by exquisite and authentic objects d'art. For example, the carved windows displayed in the lobby bar are over 200 years old. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Fastbooking, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Shanker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanker Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing