We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Place for family”
Review of Hotel Yak & Yeti

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Ranked #48 of 207 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 30, 2014

This hotel is well located, close to attractions in Kathmandu Service is good and t excellent. Accommodations it was a good option but next time we will probably look for a different option. A good property New Wing

Room Tip: New Wing rooms
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank josi28sept
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shejey, Manager at Hotel Yak & Yeti, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Hotel Yak and Yeti.

Thank you for your feedback . It was a pleasure having you and your family, stay at our hotel.

With regards,

Shejey Agyitsang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,165)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Yak & Yeti
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

623 - 629 of 1,165 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2014

We stayed at Y &Y early March 14 and were so glad we made the choice. It is a good central location. Kathmandu is so hectic it was such a joy to return to the very civilised and peaceful atmosphere of the hotel. Having a bedroom overlooking the garden is to be recommended - very attractive! The room wasnt huge but the beds were just wonderful- very supportive and yet soft - quite simply the best we have ever had in any hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast extensive and the same restaurant really went out of their way to fulfill our dietary requirements in the evening. We were most impressed and would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: overlooking the garden
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shejey, Manager at Hotel Yak & Yeti, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Hotel Yak & Yeti!

Thank you for providing a feedback on your recent stay with us. It was a pleasure having you at our hotel.

We hope you visit us again, on your next potential visit.

With regards,

Shejey Agyitsang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

This hotel is well located, close to attractions in Kathmandu such Thamel, the main Plaza and Secret Garden. Service is good but not excelent.

Accomodations are good although the hotel could be more elegant. All in all we were not enthraled by the hotel, it was a good option but next time we will probably look for a different option.

Especially when we compare the wlecomeness of other places in Nepal, this hotel was average.

Room Tip: The rooms with a garden view are probably more attractive. We got one room with a cul-de-sac view, a...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ana_Bertelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shejey, Manager at Hotel Yak & Yeti, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for providing your feedback on your recent stay with us. We would like to invite you to try our brand new Heritage Deluxe room category as they are fully equipped with all the modern amenities.

Thank you for stay with us.

With regards,

Shejey Agyitsang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

I am a Nepali but born and brought up in The US. This was my visit to Nepal for the first time ever with my sister. We decided to stay at Yak and Yeti as it was recommended to us by one of our friends. We even read the reviews to be more sure about it. Firstly, I found the hotel very beautiful as it was an old property of the Rana Regime. I had a good time talking a walk around Durbarmarg and Thamel area. Both the places are very nice for shopping as well as restaurants. As this was my first visit, it was very precious to me and this hotel will always remain in my memory .

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sanam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shejey, Manager at Hotel Yak & Yeti, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings!

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you had an enjoyable experience on your first visit to Nepal and our Hotel.

Similarly, we appreciate being a part of your precious memory . We welcome you for your further stay with us anytime soon.

With regards,

Shejey Agyitsang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

This Hotel is perfectly located Durbar Marg, Kathmandu. I had mixed feelings about my decision for choosing to stay here but I realized that I had made the right decision. It’s a great 5 star hotel for a country like Nepal. Health facilities, cleanliness, and food everything is up to the mark. Breakfast is at Sunrise was delicious with varieties to choose from. It was a great holiday

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 32niket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shejey, Manager at Hotel Yak & Yeti, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings!

Thank you for choosing Hotel Yak and Yeti and we are glad that you had an wonderful holiday without any disappointment.

You are heartily welcome to stay with us in near future.

With regards,

Shejey Agyitsang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

I was in Kathmandu for two day and I chose to stay at this Hotel, as it is centrally located. I loved the Heritage Deluxe room as it is new built plus has a great ambience. I was quiet happy with the decision that I had made. I will stay here again if I come back to Nepal. I found a homely environment here.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DibakarG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shejey, Manager at Hotel Yak & Yeti, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay at Hotel Yak & Yeti.

It was a pleasure having you with us.

Best regards,

Shejey Agyitsang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Location wise it's a good property and can be better if services are improved. Room service is the worst part which needs to be improved. Cost wise depending upon the facilities the tariff is on higher side , room service is extra expensive. Good part is that they provide pickup and drop from Airport ,even when their is strike in Nepal, this is good.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jetleevj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shejey, Manager at Hotel Yak & Yeti, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for providing feedback on your experience at Hotel Yak & Yeti.

We are sorry for your recent experience withe the room service. However it seems unclear the exact issues you faced with the room service, apart from your comment on the rate.

However, we will notify the concerned departments regarding our room service, as we place high emphasis on all of our guest's feedback.

With regards,

Shejey Agyitsang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
2.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#32 of 207 in Kathmandu
1,571 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
#66 of 207 in Kathmandu
1,089 reviews
1.5 mi away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#10 of 207 in Kathmandu
1,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#40 of 207 in Kathmandu
1,188 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Annapurna
Hotel Annapurna
#68 of 207 in Kathmandu
548 reviews
0.9 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
#95 of 207 in Kathmandu
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Yak & Yeti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Yak & Yeti

Address: P.O. Box: 1016, Durbar Marg, Kathmandu, Nepal
Phone Number:
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#16 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
#21 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
#22 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range: $138 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Yak & Yeti 5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Yak and Yeti, is a luxury 5-star deluxe hotel in the heart of Kathmandu, Nepal. Modern day sophistication greets cultural heritage in the ample grounds of the 100-year-old palace and newly designed structure of the hotel. Find refuge among antique fountains, gilded temples and emerald gardens as you remain just moments away from all the shops and adventure of the Kathmandu city, located at Durbar Marg, Kathmandu, Nepal ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Fastbooking, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Yak & Yeti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Yak And Yeti
Hotel Yak Yeti
Yak Yeti Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing