We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dETERIOTING dAY BY dAY”
Review of Hotel Yak & Yeti

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Ranked #49 of 207 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 18, 2013

The prices of the Club Rooms have gone up and services gone further poor then my last stay. There is only one charging points in the rooms to charge the Mobile or laptops.or run the TV. THe wifi service does not functions in the rooms properly and they charge 500 per day for no service.
The tea/coffee is not refurbished daily ,there is no milk or sugar.Eve the toiletries are not given on daily basis. only one veg and non veg food item available after 11pm in the night.

The special club hours for Club Rooms did not have the proper spread out or items available.Only saving grace was the centrally location and the casino.

Room Tip: I think should wait as renovation is in progress and then should have better rooms with latest equip...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Babbal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shejey, Manager at Hotel Yak & Yeti, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time and writing a review on your most recent stay with us.

We’re sorry that did not experience proper service at the Club floor which is a very rare case on our Executive floor. As per your feedback on room amenities, Hotel Yak and Yeti will, very soon be introducing new category rooms in the near future, equipped with all the modern amenities complimented by the heritage interior.

We hope you return back upon introduction of the new category rooms upon completion, and have a new second impression.

With regards,

Shejey Agyitsang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,184)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

694 - 700 of 1,184 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2013

I stayed here in Sept 2013 and i have no complaints about the room, amenities, food service or the service provided by the hotel. They reminded me they had a complimentary drop to the airport and earned even more brownie points. If you want a nice decent high end (hot water, no electricity failures, proper air conditioning, nice lobby and good place to sit and drink) i sure would recommend this place. You get star hotel quality at star hotel prices here...good value. Its near Thamel which is the tourist district. The only negative i can think of is they dont serve any item in Nepali food at all any food from the region is Indian so you never get a taste of local food ever. Since i liked Nepali food that was a dissapointment.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MohanGK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shejey, Manager at Hotel Yak & Yeti, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Hotel Yak & Yeti!

Thank you for your review. We at Hotel Yak & Yeti greatly appreciate our customer feedback to identify ways in enhancing customer experience. Unlike in the past, our electricy backup and air conditioning systems are now fully functional and consistent.

Most of our meals at the Sunrise café are either Indian or intern continental however we do serve delicious Nepali food at the famous Lal Durbar restaurants which is a separate outlet within our premises.

We would love to welcome you back here again and even try the delicious meals at the Lal Durbar Restaurant, on your next possible visit.

With regards,

Shejey Agyitsang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

I stayed here before and after a trek to Everest Base Camp. I really liked the feel of this older hotel. The rooms and hotel itself could use a little touch up, but I think the rough edges add to it's character. I especially liked the hotel grounds, and all of the flowering trees. It is a very peaceful place t relax after wandering the busy streets of Kathmandu. The pool is nice as well. Another outstanding feature is the amazing breakfast buffet. Wow!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SaltLakeCityStuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shejey, Manager at Hotel Yak & Yeti, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your review. It is great to hear our guests' acknowledgment of Yak & Yeti’s quiet and relaxing location and the buffet breakfast.

We would love to welcome you back once again.

With regards,

Shejey Agyitsang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

It was the first trip to Nepal and this 5 star property was a good choice to experience the trip. It is a well spreaded hotel block with gardern, casino, pool and other such pockets which doesn't allow you to have a reason for getting bored

Room Tip: Gardern facing rooms are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Abhinav K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shejey, Manager at Hotel Yak & Yeti, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

We appreciate you taking the time in write a review on Hotel Yak & Yeti. We are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay at Hotel Yak & Yeti and we hope you will visit us again.

With regards,

Shejey Agyitsang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I visited the hotel in Feb and it was a average experience. Hotel has a good reception, room are average and not a very good value for money. The room service is poor, but you can enjoy the Casio and restaurant food

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ANBAN79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shejey, Manager at Hotel Yak & Yeti, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to announce that we will be introducing new category rooms in the near future and hope to have you return and view the new rooms.
It was a pleasure having you with us.

With regards,

Shejey Agyitsang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Stayed at this hotel over the New Year. While the room itself was well furnished and clean, the bathroom seemed straight out of a 70s backpacker hostel I visited in Mexico in, well, the 70s. Rusty metal peeking out from behind cracked lime green vinyl, brown water trickling from the taps and peeling wallpaper. Look under the sink at your own peril.

The highlight for me were the breakfasts. Freshly fried roti, sinus clearing vegetable/potato curries, eggs and chow mein were of a uniformly high standard. The restaurant staff were attentive and polite, and kindly brought bunches of chilli to the table, which was much appreciated.

Overall it was a positive experience, but far from the 5 star quality I had been led to believe.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wuhan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shejey, Manager at Hotel Yak & Yeti, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for review on Hotel Yak & Yeti.

Your experience stated in an exceptional humorous manner is well appreciated and we would like to mention that we are introducing new category rooms in the very near future. They will be equipped with all the modern amenities while maintaining the Nepali heritage feel.

So I hope that you will visit us again, when the new rooms will be available. More news will be updated on the home site.

With regards,

Shejey Agyitsang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

The most centrally located 5 stars in Kathmandu. Is not perfect but you can sleep perfect in a upmarket hotel. I don't give the highest mark for 3 reasons.
1.the wall cover of bed was dirty from the hair color of a previous guest
2. the tap in the bath was leaking
3. the carpet next to the bath door was wet.
Nevertheless it had a wonderful bed and pillows it was otherwise clean and the staff polite. It needs modernization in some cases but with the influx of Chinese tourists everyday hardly they will find time to do . All in all recommended. I go again. And I hope the next time the WI FI to be free and not chargeable!!

Room Tip: Ask for swimming pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BIZAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shejey, Manager at Hotel Yak & Yeti, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review on our hotel. We have noted your all you comments and will help us to continue improving our guests’ stay with us. We are happy to hear that you liked our rooms and the service of our staff.

We hope to have you stay with us again.

With regards,

Shejey Agyitsang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
2.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#32 of 207 in Kathmandu
1,607 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
#67 of 207 in Kathmandu
1,103 reviews
1.5 mi away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#12 of 207 in Kathmandu
1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#43 of 207 in Kathmandu
1,196 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Annapurna
Hotel Annapurna
#70 of 207 in Kathmandu
554 reviews
0.9 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
#89 of 207 in Kathmandu
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Yak & Yeti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Yak & Yeti

Address: P.O. Box: 1016, Durbar Marg, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Phone Number:
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#16 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
#21 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
#22 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range: $143 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Yak & Yeti 5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Yak and Yeti, is a luxury 5-star deluxe hotel in the heart of Kathmandu, Nepal. Modern day sophistication greets cultural heritage in the ample grounds of the 100-year-old palace and newly designed structure of the hotel. Find refuge among antique fountains, gilded temples and emerald gardens as you remain just moments away from all the shops and adventure of the Kathmandu city, located at Durbar Marg, Kathmandu, Nepal ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fastbooking, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Yak & Yeti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Yak And Yeti
Hotel Yak Yeti
Yak Yeti Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing