We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Annapurna(Kathmandu)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Moonlight(Kathmandu)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Durbar Hotel(Kathmandu)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,300)
Filter reviews
1,300 results
Traveler rating
401
491
276
85
47
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
401
491
276
85
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschimney restaurantcasino royaledurbar margtennis courtsswimming poolclub floorbusiness centerbreakfast buffetroyal palaceold palacebusiness tripthe heart of the citygarden viewan oasisnew wingrooms are comfortablecentral location
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
807 - 812 of 1,300 reviews
Reviewed August 5, 2013

The Yak and Yeti (wonderful name!) is an older hotel in a fairly quiet space just one block from a very busy business area in Kathmandu. The old wing of the building is being refurbished, so only the "new" wing was in use during my stay. In most aspects even the new wing seems outdated, and the plumbing fixtures are very old (though workable). The minibar was lukewarm and not worth the space taken up. Lighting was limited in the bathroom, and the A/C quite noisy.

As in other parts of the subcontinent, labor is plentiful and inexpensive, and the Yak and Yeti has a very large staff which does an excellent job of cleaning, responding to guest needs, etc. Two interns from a hospitality management program were on hand and provided excellent assistance, including airport transfer. The main restaurant primarily offers buffet dining, including breakfast, though a limited menu of a la carte items is also available. I did not try the more formal restaurant, "The Chimney" but this part of the hotel did not look very busy during my stay. The pool is small but clean and the surrounding gardens were patrolled by a number of geese. There are a few outdoor tables but service seemed to be hit and miss. The local "Gorkha" beer is reasonably-priced at the bar, and served with generous accompaniments of nuts and spicy crisps.

The positive aspects were let-down by a very unhelpful front desk clerk during checkout when the credit card reader failed to read any of my credit cards. The same thing had happened one hour earlier at two of the souvenir shops within the hotel complex, and I was told this was not unusual due to wiring problems in the hotel complex. (I paid the shop with cash from an ATM about two blocks away - there is no ATM in the Yak and Yeti complex). I called my credit card company after the problem with the gift shops, and they indicated that there was no problem with my card and they had no record of any attempted transactions from Nepal. The desk clerk stubbornly insisted that their machines were not at fault, and directed me back to the same ATM so that I could pay in cash. Unsurprisingly, both cards have been working without problems since leaving Nepal.

Other reviewers have noted that there are many other choices in Kathmandu which offer better value than the Yak and Yeti, and if I returned I would explore one of the other hotels. There is not enough historical charm to compensate for the other shortcomings of the Yak and Yeti.

Note for hospitality management interns: the best efforts of the rest of the staff can be undone by a negative experience by an unhelpful person at the front desk.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fredswartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shejey, Manager at Hotel Yak & Yeti, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for providing an informative feedback on your stay with us. We consider all of our guest’s feedback as valuable information and opportunities to better serve our guests.

Hotel Yak & Yeti is constantly dedicated in providing our guests with both comfortable and an enjoyable stay. We have noted all your issues and have communicated with the respective departments.

Therefore thank you for helping us improve our services.

Best regards,

Shejey Agyitsang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

As a person who likes to be in the middle of all the hustle and bustle in any city I visit, it is hard to resist this magnificent hotel right smack in the center of Kathmandu.

It is conveniently located right beside a street named Kings Way where you can find all kinds of restros, pubs and shopping outlets your heart desires. And when you are done with all your daily activity you can escape the city by entering your hotel room; quiet, peaceful and comfortable.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shahin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shejey, Manager at Hotel Yak & Yeti, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your sharing your experience with us. We are very glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

We hope to have you stay with us in any future visits.

Best regards,

Shejey Agyitsang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I took a group to this hotel because of its central location. However I was very disappointed as the hotel fell well below what I should have expected. The management were inefficient and unable to deal with problems and were untruthful in what they said. The restaurant, in particular was poor, with the food being stone cold on a number of occasions and the staff reluctant to deal with complaints. During power cuts there are absolutely no lights in the corridors on the upper floors and it is down right dangerous to move around as it is pitch black. Why there is no emergency lighting is a mystery and totally wrong in a hotel where central corridors have no other illumination. One to avoid as there are plenty of comparable hotel in Kathmandu

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shejey, Manager at Hotel Yak & Yeti, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Dear Guest,

We consider the feedback from all our guests as valuable insight, as to how we can strive to provide a comfortable and enjoyable stay. Firstly, we would like to apologize for the incidents that occurred during your stay with us last year in 2012.

Since your stay in Dec 2012; we are pleased to inform you of the latest development in terms of electricity backup. We have completely replaced our previous power generator with a new industrial state of the art generator set which backs up power for electricity during city power cuts. Since then, we have drastically reduced the frequency and period of power cuts and our guests have shown great appreciation to it lately.

In the rare case that you encountered unprofessionalism with our staff; kindly report to any of the supervisors as we strive to maintain and implement a very professional service and environment.

Should you choose to visit us again, we assure you of a very warm and comfortable stay.

Best Regards,

Shejey Agyitsang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

I stayed at Yak & Yetti during our office retreat for three days in April 2013. The rooms were very spacious and the beds were very comfortable. The rooms had a four fixture bathroom. The rooms service was good and the staff was very polite.
The food in particular was delicious. The was a good variety of options in the buffet breakfast. The breakfast was served outside along the poolside.
Would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bansal0408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shejey, Manager at Hotel Yak & Yeti, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We were happy to hear that our hotel was an ideal place for relaxation as an office retreat.

We look forward to welcoming to you back again.

With regards,

Shejey Agyitsang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Got to like the hotel to stay in Kathmandu. Stopped at the Hotel Yak & Yeti. Rested wonderful. The hotel grounds are just very green. All cozy, clean and well-kept. A peaceful place to enjoy the atmosphere of European life after exploring the bustling Kathmandu. The rooms are spacious and a very cozy. Food - 5, but like everything else. I was thrilled! The hotel staff is very friendly and responsive. Thank you very much for the nice stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Olya N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shejey, Manager at Hotel Yak & Yeti, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Dear Guest,

We were very pleased that you really enjoyed the premises at Hotel Yak & Yeti. Many of our guests agree that Yak & Yeti, being in a central location, still provides a very quiet and calm environment. Once again, It was a pleasure having you stay with us.

With regards,

Shejey Agyitsang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews