We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bitter Experiance”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Yak & Yeti

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Ranked #41 of 193 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Gurgaon, India
1 review
“Bitter Experiance”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

i had checked into room no 529 on 13th july 2013 till 15th july, with my family.had gone to visit a temple on 15th morning,taking the rooms keys with myself.upon returning i found out that someone had entered the room in our absence and refilled the mini bar.Nothing else like room cleaning was done.i got annoyed as how can anybody enter the room without permission if the keys are not left at the reception.Above all,one piece of clothing,a legging to be precise, was missing from the room which was kept on the bed, as had to change clothes on returning. thoroughly checked everything in the room for 1.5 hours,to find it but could not.it was no where in the room.how can sumthing which was kept on the bed be missing in few hours when the keys were in my pocket.though it was not an very expensive thing,but important as had to be worn then.i complained the same at the reception while checking out an hour later, but got a very cold response,not even apologetic.nobody was interested listening.
writing this just to let you know about my bitter experience, as such incidents dont usually happen in a upmarket hotel.
samar singh
9810130123

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shejey, Manager at Hotel Yak & Yeti, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for writing a review on our hotel.

We would like to mention that we take our guests’ feedback very seriously and would like to apologize regarding this rare incident of your missing leggings from the room. We will communicate and investigate with the related departments and get back to you soon.

We hope to have another opportunity to serve you again and deliver a truly enjoyable experience.

With regards,

Shejey Agyitsang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,054 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    398
    228
    71
    36
See reviews for
147
221
119
308
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
DELHI
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

It was an amazing experience for one of my most comfortable stay in hotel across the globe.
The staff is very cooeprative in providing a nice stay and the most central location of the hotel in the valley is pleasing.
Good food and pleasant garden and small pond view room view in the hotel is another gr8 feature of the hotel.
All in all a highly recomended hotel for Kathmandu valley with complete value for money.

Room Tip: Preferably have the small pond & garden room view for a nice and pleasant stay.Early morning vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VIV-UK-DELHI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shejey, Manager at Hotel Yak & Yeti, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

We truly appreciate such kind words. Reviews such as yours, truly help recognize our efforts and motivate our entire team at Hotel Yak & Yeti.

We would love to welcome you back here for another enjoyable stay.

With regards,

Shejey Agyitsang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

I have been to 45 countries and stayed in many hotels around the world. My most favourite destination is Nepal (Kathmandu) and in Nepal my most favourite hotel is Yak and Yeti. My choice is based on not just one visit. I have stayed in Yak and Yeti atleast during my previous 20 visits dating back to 1998. Their Manager Mr. Kiran Dongal makes sure that every guest is looked after and this percolates down the line write upto the last staff. The staff is so polite that and friendly that one has to see to believe. Health club is probably the best in town. Tennis club with flood lights just amazing. The lush green garden with pergolas almost force me to meditate. But the best part, I kept it for the end, is their buffet breakfast with fresh tropical fruits and juice with probably 100 more items is the best in the world. Hats of to this lovely property and probably the best value for money.

Room Tip: Just excellent. Only one tip KEEP IT UP!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amitabh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shejey, Manager at Hotel Yak & Yeti, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting such an informative review on our hotel.

We were very pleased to hear such kind and motivating words regarding your stay with us. We will definitely pass word to our Front Office Manager, Mr Kiran Dongol and rest of the staff regarding their remarkable service.

It was a pleasure having you stay with us once again!

With regards,

Shejey Agyitsang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

i must say that YAK & YETI is very good Hotel , specially Banquets Services & Hospitality , we had a residential conference there in the month of June 2013 , more the 150 of guest from our group stays there , we occupied around 75 Rooms for 7 nights , none of the guest is having any complaints , everyone is happy with the services & Hospitality .....Thank You YAK & YETI u made our stay & event a great success .


Room Tip: Nice rooms with all facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rahul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shejey, Manager at Hotel Yak & Yeti, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank your posting a review on your recent stay at Hotel Yak & Yeti.

It was pleasure hosting your prestigious conference along with your team.

It is challenges such as this, that really exemplifies our hotel team’s potential so we were very pleased to hear that everything went smoothly during your stay.

We would love to welcome you and your team, back here again.

Best regards,

Shejey Agyitsang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

The hotel is located at the heart of the city. The location is the plus point here. Warm and Friendly staff. Easy access to the market. Very nice garden ! The casino was awesome.

The Conference halls are quite spacious and good for hosting business meetings. They have different options for hosting meetings.



Probably they can have some good restaurants inside the hotel. The options are very limited. The rooms can also be upgraded.

Overall, it was a pleasant stay!


  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank S D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shejey, Manager at Hotel Yak & Yeti, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Hotel Yak & Yeti.

We are pleased to mention that all our current Standard rooms will be completely renovated and be completed very soon. We hope you can visit us again, and try the new rooms.

We hope to hear from you soon!

with regards,
Shejey Agyitsang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunbridge Wells, England
Level Contributor
184 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

I generally agree with most reviews that this is a good to average rating, but this really needs to be uplifted just for the fact that it's a historic stay. Many of the Mt Everest greats have stayed here, as has Michael Palin when he filmed Himalaya. The rooms are a bit tired if I'm honest although the 'new' wing is far better than the 'old' wing which is generally used by trekkers off to Everest Base Camp and elsewhere. I stayed in both wings, 'old' when we left for Base Camp and the 'new' when I returned and the new new was definately worth the extra rupees. The Yak and Yeti is also located quite close to the city, although far enough away not to be bothered by the madness of Kathmandu. The Yak and Yeti is expensive compared to other hotels within KTM, but stay here for one night at least, just to say you have.

Room Tip: Call the hotel before your stay and discuss options - it's possible to get free wifi and possibl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Astronaught
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shejey, Manager at Hotel Yak & Yeti, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your warm and encouraging review on your stay at Hotel Yak & Yeti.

Like you had mentioned, many Everest climbers have long been staying with us and enjoy the warm hospitality here. Therefore our staff are always motivated in giving the best service to our guests.

We really enjoyed having you stay with us.

with regards,

Shejey Agyitsang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Although we were generally happy with the location and facilities at this hotel, we made the mistake of organising an expensive flight up to Everest Base camp using the in-house tour company NEPAL TRAVEL AGENCY PVT. . As the helicopter flight seemed excessively expensive $5,500 US for a scheduled two and a half hour trip (airtime purchase) for our once in a lifetime trip we agreed to go ahead with it. Before we did so we obtained a written itinerary from the travel agency on what we should see, and were given back a list of mountains etc - we were also promised breakfast when we reached the Everest viewpoint some 5,500meters above sea level. On the flight we were provided with one oxygen tank to share between the two of us. The pilot hardly pointed out anything apart from Everest, we were dropped off at the Everest view point within 40mins. Our helicopter pilot then immediately took off and without our knowledge or agreement used the rest of our airtime to ferry goods to the local shops and hotels in the town of Lukla. We were told by a local guide at the view point that our breakfast would be a further $120US which we refused to pay especially as it apparently only consisted of a bacon and egg bun and a coffee. After around 20mins a second helicopter arrived to rush us off the mountain with the excuse that the weather was getting bad (clouds were rolling in). So we agreed to the airlift and then were dropped off and abandoned for 2 hours at Lukla. Whereupon when our helicopter and pilot finally did arrive - we took photos of him and his co-pilot unpacking bags of rice and Budweiser packs (all at our cost). When we pointed out our complaints to this pilot he sulked and didn't say anything during the whole return journey. We complained at the hotel where we made a booking, stating that we weren't shown the other mountains on the list. Whereupon the manager of the NEPAL TRAVEL AGENCY PVT. arrived and refused to give us a refund saying "You saw Everest didnt you!".He then started to verbally abuse both myself and my wife before storming out of the hotel and leaving (no hotel staff intervened). Later that afternoon an apparently sympathetic the hotel reception staff refused to give us a refund or part refund saying that their General Manager was unavailable and away for the week - knowing we were leaving soon.

Lessons to be learn t - avoid using the above named travel company whatsoever. If you do decide to do so - obtain a photocopy of the helicopter pilots license so you can identify him and maybe have his license revoked.

Pay by credit card to obtain a refund and insurance protection. Obtain a contract of what you will see - where you will be taken and for how long and an emergency contact number.

Room Tip: Pay a bit extra for the Club Lounge which includes free food and drink each evening and you can also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clive A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shejey, Manager at Hotel Yak & Yeti, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review on your experience with us.

We were very pleased to hear about your pleasant stay at Hotel Yak & Yeti. Unfortunately, we cannot comment on your trekking trip to Everest as the in-house Travel Agent is a third party agent that is simply located on our property to serve any travel needs.

Please do let us know, if we can assist you in any other way. We are always seeking for ways to make our guests' stay, even more enjoyable.

We look forward to welcoming you again, should you visit Nepal in the future.

With regards,
Shejey Agyitsang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
2.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#33 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,448 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
#59 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Annapurna
Hotel Annapurna
#58 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#10 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,044 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#38 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
0.9 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
#69 of 193 in Kathmandu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Yak & Yeti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Yak & Yeti

Property: Hotel Yak & Yeti
Address: P.O. Box: 1016, Durbar Marg, Kathmandu, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#13 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
#21 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
#22 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Yak & Yeti 5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Yak and Yeti, is a luxury 5-star deluxe hotel in the heart of Kathmandu, Nepal. Modern day sophistication greets cultural heritage in the ample grounds of the 100-year-old palace and newly designed structure of the hotel. Find refuge among antique fountains, gilded temples and emerald gardens as you remain just moments away from all the shops and adventure of the Kathmandu city, located at Durbar Marg, Kathmandu, Nepal ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Fastbooking, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Yak & Yeti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Yak And Yeti
Hotel Yak Yeti
Yak Yeti Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing