We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Old Hotel... key word "old"!”
Review of Hotel Yak & Yeti

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Ranked #46 of 198 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Grand Old Hotel... key word "old"!”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

The Yak and Yeti was clearly a grand hotel - and still has a lovely entrance and gardens - with a small pool and a quite well equipped gym.
however, the rooms have seen better days... at least the room I was in. On the upside - it was quite spacious and had a really good sized double bed, and there was complimentary bottles of water which was a nice touch - but that was about it!
The carpet and furniture was very worn out, and the bathroom was rusty and stained, the TV the old fashioned model, not even a hairdryer in the room...
and - probably the most annoying - the internet costs about $12 per day - which is really exorbitant anywhere - especially as all over town it is free.

Room Tip: My colleague stayed in a renovated room on the right side of the hotel - but the down side over ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dinagid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shejey, Manager at Hotel Yak & Yeti, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Warm greetings from Hotel Yak & Yeti,

We acknowledge your comments on our Standard rooms and would like to let you know that all our Standard rooms are going under complete renovation very soon. It will include all modern amenities while still preserving the beautiful Nepali interiors. The pictures of the new rooms will be posted on our brand site soon.

We hope you will kindly return back and try out the new rooms, when they renovations are completed.

With regards,

Shejey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,086 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    411
    234
    74
    38
See reviews for
150
224
123
320
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We came to the Sunrise Restaurant for dinner, since my travel guide recommended the Yak & Yeti for its Nepali cuisine. Buffet dinner for two was about 20 USD per person, pricy for Nepali standards but very reasonable for ours.
The quality of the food was quite good, although I thought the Kebab restaurant at Hotel Annapurna just across Durbar Marg was way better. Selection of fish and meat curries, daal, rice, salads, fruit and veggies. Spice level appropriately toned down to our Western palate. They had a local river fish similar that was very nice. Steaky and tasted sort of like smoked mahi, forgot the name.
Dessert buffet was outstanding. Nepali goodies like syrup soaked donuts, chocolate mousse, cream filled layer cake... but the most outstanding dessert was the coconut rice pudding. Delicious, had to go for seconds. And thirds. All in all worth it. Good place for a quiet family dinner.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PulpFiction_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shejey, Manager at Hotel Yak & Yeti, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Warm greetings from Hotel Yak & Yeti,

We appreciate you taking the time in writing a review on our hotel and our delicious array of cuisine.

We would love to welcome you back here and suggest you to try out our Chimney restaurant; one of the finest continental dishes with a Russian flair.

With regards,

Shejey Agyitsang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

This is a very nice hotel conveniently located in the business of Katmandu. There is local shopping within walking distance. The hotel grounds are nicely kept and food is good. However the restaurant is buffet style and tended to get repetitive. Rooms were clean and staff was responsive.

Room Tip: I stayed first floor and found it to be suitable. Ask to be away from the elevators and lobby due t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sundevilfanMesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shejey, Manager at Hotel Yak & Yeti, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Warm greetings from Hotel Yak & Yeti!

Thank you for your kind review.

We are very glad that our hotel was to your liking and look forward to welcoming you again.

With regards,

Shejey Agyitsang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
113 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

I was impressed when I first checked into Y&Y. I stayed there for seven nights over two months. Upon first inspection the hotel seems to have all the offerings of a typical high-end hotel anywhere in the world. As time went on and my visits progressed the shine wore off fast. Most rooms are getting tired with at least one major issue in every case. Rooms unbearably hot, unbearably cold, decrepit bathrooms, etc. All the indications of aging infrastructure that has gone unchecked. One big issue is that many of the rooms overlook the parking lot where patrons of clubs and casinos park every night...and scream...and yell...and play loud music, etc. Not great for a restful night of sleep. For those of you attempting to do any work here, the Internet is some of the spottiest and slowest you'll find in Kathmandu.

The hotel would probably do a lot better if the staff cared a little more. It isn't fair to generalize but for the most part I encountered staff here that really couldn't care less as if there position and job were guaranteed by the fact that whether they did a good job or not people were going to keep walking through the door just because there aren't a huge number of high-end options in Kathmandu. Maybe for the moment that is true but I advise anyone reading this review to spend their money elsewhere if they can.

One positive thing is the breakfast. It is a pretty good spread.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SSSUCHAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shejey, Manager at Hotel Yak & Yeti, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Warm Greetings from Hotel Yak & Yeti!

Thank you for your valuable feedback as we always strive to improve our services in every front. We have noted your concerns and it is kept under serious consideration.

We are sorry that your experiences were not up to your expectation. We would suggest you to try out our newly renovated Deluxe rooms. As for our standard rooms, renovations are starting shortly and pictures will be soon posted on our brand site. Our renovated rooms are being equipped with state-of-the-art climate control system among other added facilities.

Please let us know of your next visit and we will accommodate you with our quiet, garden view room which has a wonderful panoramic landscaping.

We also offer additional internet bandwidth speed upon request, at an extra cost.
Regarding your experience with the staff, we assure you of our utmost care and personalized customer service during your next visit.

We assure you in meeting your expectations and a wonderful experience, should you choose to stay with us again.

With regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

The hotel is well maintained. Located well within the heart of the city but no huzzle buzzle of the city. Got some good food joints within walking distance. The swimming pool not maintained. Can see leaves and dust particles floating on the surface. wifi too slow and too expensive. Shops just outside the hotel are real cut throats.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shejey, Manager at Hotel Yak & Yeti, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Warm Greetings from Hotel Yak & Yeti!

We are very pleased that you had a wonderful stay at our hotel.

Due to greenery around our pool area and windy weather, most of the leaves fall into the pool. We have now put in place frequent intervals for maintenance throughout the day.

We also offer additional internet bandwidth speed upon request at an extra cost.

Thank you for taking the time in sharing your experience at Hotel Yak & Yeti.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

With regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

- Good location, with a reasonable selection of restaurants and cafes nearby, but without the noise or pollution of the traffic
- Very poor value internet. Extortionate fees for wifi, the wifi is slow, unreliable and coverage is very patchy
- The decor is in desperate need of modernisation. A/C is too cold.
- Front desk staff were not very helpful or friendly, and I was given conflicting information about breakfast arrangements.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fizzy79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shejey, Manager at Hotel Yak & Yeti, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Warm Greetings from Hotel Yak & Yeti!

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are sorry that your experience was not as you expected. We have noted your troubles and it is kept in serious consideration.

We have currently have various online offers on our brand site that include free Wi-fi Internet. We suggest you to choose one of the packages online for your next booking.

We would also suggest you to try out our newer Deluxe rooms should you choose to stay with us again. As for our standard rooms, complete renovations are staring very shortly. After the renovations are complete, our new rooms will be equipped with state-of-the-art climate control system amongst others.

Regarding your experience with the staff, we assure you of our utmost care and customer service upon your next visit.

With regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Second visit to Yak & Yeti, well located within easy walking or taxi ride of main tourist areas, and is probably one of Kathmandu's best.
Service very willing but the hotel is very tired and the food looks great but is nothing special.
Annoyingly there charge an exorbitant amount for wifi access, which is very irritating as every othr cafe does it for free

Room Tip: Avoid inner rooms facing gardens as pigeons start cooing bright & early
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shejey, Manager at Hotel Yak & Yeti, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Warm Greetings from Hotel Yak & Yeti!

We appreciate you taking the time in writing a review on our hotel.

We are proud to let you know that all the rooms in the Newari wing of our hotel, is going under complete renovation and will be completed shortly. The pictures of the new rooms will be posted soon on our brand site.

We currently also have various online offers on our brand site that include free Wi-fi Internet. You could then view them for your next possible booking.

Thank you for sharing your experience at Hotel Yak & Yeti. We look forward to welcoming you again.

with regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
2.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#32 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,482 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
#62 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Annapurna
Hotel Annapurna
#58 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#11 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#37 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
0.9 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
#73 of 198 in Kathmandu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Yak & Yeti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Yak & Yeti

Property: Hotel Yak & Yeti
Address: P.O. Box: 1016, Durbar Marg, Kathmandu, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#15 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
#21 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
#22 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Yak & Yeti 5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Yak and Yeti, is a luxury 5-star deluxe hotel in the heart of Kathmandu, Nepal. Modern day sophistication greets cultural heritage in the ample grounds of the 100-year-old palace and newly designed structure of the hotel. Find refuge among antique fountains, gilded temples and emerald gardens as you remain just moments away from all the shops and adventure of the Kathmandu city, located at Durbar Marg, Kathmandu, Nepal ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Fastbooking, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Yak & Yeti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Yak And Yeti
Hotel Yak Yeti
Yak Yeti Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing