We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place to breath in the middle of Kathmandu”
Review of Hotel Yak & Yeti

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Ranked #55 of 210 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 30, 2012

I had a 9 days stay at the Yak and Yeti.
I was recommended this hotel by two colleagues, one was here even after its renovation, back in the 80s. Both said the same: a quiet place to get rest after an existing but noisy walk in the crowed streets of Kathmandu.

I came to Kathmandu for work and we organized a conference in the hotel. The conference rooms are AMAZING, and they have professional staff that are flexible enough to adapt to your needs. It was very easy to organize everything via email previous to our trip.

Yes, electricity goes off some times but it is very quickly reinstaured (in one to three minutes) so, I was not suffering for that. Internet could be quicker but do not forget that you are in a LDC and the speed you get is already very good.

Another good point is that it is walking distance from the center and you have a lot of nice restaurants very close to the hotel, so you can go for lunch or dinner outside without fearing to get lost or whatsoever.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arantxa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe B, General Manager at Hotel Yak & Yeti, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2015

Dear Guest,

Warm Greetings from Hotel Yak & Yeti!

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful feedback regarding our hotel.

Thank you for highlighting our high class services and facilities.

It was a pleasure having you with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in not the distant future.

Best Regards,
Philippe Belhay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,237)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

865 - 871 of 1,237 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

I loved the room I got on a high floor overlooking the garden. It's peaceful and quiet which was what I needed at the end of a busy work day.

This is a good mid range hotel.

Attentive service. Close to Thamel shopping. No one swims in the pool but it was nice to look at. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CocoSoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

No electricity at times,no hot water all times, raining all time- no umbrella in hotel ,no arrangment to go to Casino also. No hand towels in rooms even after asking for it. What else to write it will fill up pages...........

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Babbal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Located centrally - bang on Darbar Marg at the heart Kathmandu, makes the hotel convenient for quick jaunts across town. The hotel has a grand ballroom. Coupled with its great location the hotel is a good venue for hosting large conferences in Kathmandu.The rooms and service are average, food is good - though breakfast is limited.The hotel has a nice garden area sculptured around a central stream with ducks floating about - a morning walk is very refreshing here. One could step out of the hotel on to some immediate shopping area and eateries. Visit the famous palaces & temples in the morning. Head to Thamel for lounging & dining in the evening.

Room Tip: Ask for garden view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aztec05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

There are modern hotels. There are old style hotels. Y&Y is both of that and yet none of that. The food was great, the location is central, service is quick and the lounge area is superb. The only reason it did not live up to its name are the rooms. They really need renovation. I have heard that some new rooms have been added but I guess, I was in the wrong room.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aayushrivastava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Long back in it's glorious days it was part of "Taj Group of Hotels". Those days it was one of the most beautiful hotel in the town. Now they have two wings, old wing and new wing. new one is much better and updated other side old building need really big renovation. Service is good, location is also very good, food is very good.
Wish you all the best.

Room Tip: Better to have rooms in new wing, it is much upgraded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Incrediblerealindia1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

this is one of the oldest 5 star hotels in Kathmandu and famous one also. the rooms are clean. housekeeping is a bit slow..the restaurant is great with good spread...the lounge is cosy and ideal place for meeting business guests over a choice of tea and coffee. they have excellent gym facilities and a casino also. they have pick up and drop to airport but on chargeable basis. the best thing is its centralized location with major shopping areas within walking distance. the tariffs are a bit high

Room Tip: the rooms have excellent views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank STalapatra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
2.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#31 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,647 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
#67 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,132 reviews
1.5 mi away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#12 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#40 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,224 reviews
0.9 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
#93 of 210 in Kathmandu
500 reviews
1.2 mi away
Baber Mahal Vilas The Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Yak & Yeti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Yak & Yeti

Address: P.O. Box: 1016, Durbar Marg, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Phone Number:
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Kathmandu
#11 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#21 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
#21 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
#22 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range: $141 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Yak & Yeti 5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Yak and Yeti, is a luxury 5-star deluxe hotel in the heart of Kathmandu, Nepal. Modern day sophistication greets cultural heritage in the ample grounds of the 100-year-old palace and newly designed structure of the hotel. Find refuge among antique fountains, gilded temples and emerald gardens as you remain just moments away from all the shops and adventure of the Kathmandu city, located at Durbar Marg, Kathmandu, Nepal ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fastbooking, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Yak & Yeti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Yak And Yeti
Hotel Yak Yeti
Yak Yeti Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing