We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOCATION ONLY”
Review of Hotel Vaishali

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Vaishali
Ranked #119 of 210 Hotels in Kathmandu
Reviewed June 30, 2010

I stayed here as part of my tour package. Never again. Apart from the location which is excellent and central to Thamels cafes and shoppping, the rooms were extremely shoddy. The bathroom was a nightmare. The bathtub was brown and draped by an moss shower curtain. When one opened the tap to the basin the water ran onto the floor...and strangely this was the same with the second room too! The water was rusty...as I suppose most places in Kathmandu. However, most places provide a complimentary bottle of water too! While extended electricity cuts are a reality of kathmandu, when there was electricity the aircon worked inefficiently. As for the pool forget about it. It was a lovely shade of emerald green. They do have room service but that also proved inefficient. Had to request towels thrice. Forget about ordering sandwiches or any food from them either. My cheese sandwich had no cheese...just cucumber and my chowmein was unbearably spicy. This most certainly is no 3 star hotel by a long shot and at 90USD single very pricey too. But, if you decide to stay there, remember your torch/ es (no candles provided), bottled water, take your own towels, a spritzer, and pack light...you may have to walk up to your room.

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank smahomed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (352)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

281 - 287 of 352 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2010

Hotel Vaishali, Thamel is another star category hotel in central Thamel. Before it was known as 4 star hotel but now they have removed them from '4 star' . The hotel has many things to appreciate like the friendliest staffs, reasonable price, one and only swimming pool hotel in Thamel, situated in central Thamel etc. I haven't tried the foods yet cause I only go there for the staying of my clients.
Still, the building of the hotel is not so new. From outside the hotel seems very old and the painting is also not so clean.
One thing I appreciate from the hotel is the front desk staffs. Whenever I am there they are always smiling at me, that means I believe that they are very friendly. I am sure that your stay in Vaishali will be nice stay.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guideupendra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2010

I stayed with my friends in this hotel for 5 days during my last trip to Kathmandu. Observations are -

Location : Conviniently located as most of the topurist attractions are nearby and transportation is available 24 hrs almost

Ambience : Very good ambience. Exterior as well as interiors of the room is very decent and well maintained. Hot & Cold Water 24 Hrs. TV service, Effective Laundry - very nice and prompt.

Hygene : Hygene is maintained by excellent house keeping service.

Staff : Very co-operative staff - mostly all were rendering services with smile on their face. Management has given enough training to all staff members about proper behaviopur and manners to treat all guests. Reservation staff was so quick and polite to confirm all my bookings by internet very quickly on most reasonable rates.

Food : Very nice food available. Indian and Continentle verieties were available. Most of the prepartaions were very delicious. Little expensive and I request management to consider some discount on the food manu.

Assistance for Local Site Seeing and other matters : Excellent. Staff members were so co-operative to manage all my site seeing and other necessary helps.

Higly recommanded for your stay during Kathmandu Trips.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NirajAnadkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2010

We were staying in the Vaishali as part of a gtour so we had no choice. The hotel is merely adequate. The is a bed and you are sheltered from the rain.

There is no air con during the load shedding power cuts, (The Courtyard which we chose for our extra nights managed to keep the air con going), no hot water to speak off and, as other reviews point out, it has the world's worst breakfast. The pool was a funny colour and we all gave it a wide berth. The bar was also very expensive as other members of our group found out.

Our room needed a good clean at least, a full redecoration may be more in order. For the price there are far better hotels out there. From a short visit the Kathmandu Guest house looked better as was The Courtyard.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OxonBadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2010

Firstly this hotel is in a good location convenient to the Thamel tourist area. 'Rum Doodle' is right next door as are numerous shops and it is only a few hunderd metres to the centre of the tourist area.

The hotel itself is a bit run down and showing its age. All the furnishings both in the rooms and foyer show their age however we were reasonably comfortable. The airconditioning didn't work very well and we never got a hot shower. The pool was also unusable.

Realistically if you are used to flashy 4-5 star western hotels you would probably be fairly disappointed with this hotel. However like us if you use a bit of perspective and make the most of things the hotel is probably acceptable as a short stopver base.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank verucasaltAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2009

In a great location, but starting to look pretty shabby. The rooms could do with some re-decorating and the air con barely works. The breakfast is some of the worst food i've ever encountered in my life. Insects were clearly visible on the buffet food tables - there's no excuse for this.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkLK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2009

Stayed here 2 years ago due to it being included in package and back again recently. Nothing has changed. Cold showers, noisy (but that is Kathmandu) hard hard bed and a disgusting breakfast. No swimming pool (under repair). Not a lot if anything going for this place. Look to stay else where.

Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank molly3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Manang
Hotel Manang
#67 of 210 in Kathmandu
428 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
#8 of 210 in Kathmandu
779 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gaju Suite Hotel
Gaju Suite Hotel
#36 of 210 in Kathmandu
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Kathmandu
Grand Hotel Kathmandu
#76 of 210 in Kathmandu
307 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ambassador Garden Home
Ambassador Garden Home
#42 of 210 in Kathmandu
670 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aria Boutique Hotel & Spa
Aria Boutique Hotel & Spa
#68 of 210 in Kathmandu
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vaishali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vaishali

Address: P.O. Box: 206, Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#42 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range: $42 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Vaishali 3.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vaishali is situated in Thamel -The heart of kathmandus business cultural and shopping district,just 20 minutes from the airport. Vaishali offers guests a choice of 95 centrally air-conditioned elegant modern rooms including 8 splendid suites to cater the needs of the travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Vaishali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vaishali Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing