We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel and great staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Vaishali

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Vaishali
Ranked #102 of 193 Hotels in Kathmandu
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel and great staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely stay at the vaishali hotel both before and after out trek. The guest relation executive Sanju was lovely and she made us really welcome. The rooms were really big, clean and we had English channels on the TV.
Breakfast was eggs what ever way you wanted with hot toast, tea and coffee.
I would recommend to all as a little oasis in the craziness of Kathmandu.
Worth every penny more than the other hotels.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank bethyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    96
    80
    36
    20
See reviews for
70
69
31
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

Lovely rooms, location, and staff. The staff are really helpful would stay here again.

The food was lovely, great breakfast and way to start the say would stay here again when I next come to Nepal .

Great location. Service really really good, staff very kind and helpful

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebeccajane03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

We stayed at this hotel before our trek and again afterwards. The staff are very pleasant and helpful. Especially the front of house and lobby manager. It was so nice to be greeted by the lobby manager when we returned from our trek. It was like returning home. Breakfasts are very good. Lots of choice The rooms are of a good size. I would definitely stay here again if returning to Kathmandu.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DartmoorLady2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

I loved the price range, Eco friendly environment, services were gud nd food quality was excellent.Rooms are quite big nd gud looking, impressed with the staf, overall gud experience nd that means I am definately gona stay again in this hotel,

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sagar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

Stayed here for two nights before meeting up with a trekking group. The room had a musty/mildew smell, and the toilet wouldn't flush properly. When I told the staff this, they said they would get it fixed, but it never flushed properly while I was staying there (had to use a friend's bathroom). The wifi wasn't working in the rooms or in the lobby during my stay. Instead they said that I could purchase a wifi card to use, they were all out of the one hour cards and only had 5 hour cards available for purchase. A little ridiculous when you consider the price of a room here, that they couldn't include a card or two for use. When a group of three of us went to leave in the morning to meet our trekking group, the owner of the hotel kept trying to get us to use his private transport at a ridiculously high cost for a short distance within Thamel, even though we had declined this offer of a ride arrangement on check-out, he wouldn't let it go and was quite miffed when we arranged our own taxis to take us to our meeting point. The positives: staff behind the counter were friendly and pleasant, the location is great, easy to get to many restaurants, shops, etc. around Thamel. But when it comes down to it, there are many better options, with locations that are just as good for a much better price.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erika2487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kathmandu hotels

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

My husband and I were very ill during our first stay. The hotel helped to get my husband into hospital and looked after myself in the hotel room. We could not have had more considerate care.
Our return visit was happier and we were able to enjoy the comfort of the hotel and the outstanding friendliness of the staff. The food and room service were excellent.

Room Tip: Our room on the fifth floor overlooking the entrance was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Vivienne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florianopolis, SC
Level Contributor
92 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

Hotel Vaishali is well located,in the middle of Thamel, close to a lot of good restaurants. It was clean with comfy beds and cable tv in english. The staff was friendly also. I have stayed in few Hotels in Kathmandu and I liked this option.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank crsbrz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
2.1 mi away
Mirage Lords Inn, Kathmandu
Mirage Lords Inn, Kathmandu
#78 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Amadablam Hotel
The Amadablam Hotel
#180 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
1.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Kathmandu
Grand Hotel Kathmandu
#71 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Manang
Hotel Manang
#47 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Shambala
Hotel Shambala
#21 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Arts Kathmandu
Hotel Arts Kathmandu
#35 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vaishali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vaishali

Property: Hotel Vaishali
Address: P.O. Box: 206, Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal
Phone Number:
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Vaishali 3.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vaishali is situated in Thamel -The heart of kathmandus business cultural and shopping district,just 20 minutes from the airport. Vaishali offers guests a choice of 95 centrally air-conditioned elegant modern rooms including 8 splendid suites to cater the needs of the travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Vaishali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vaishali Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing