We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Experience, Best Location”
Review of Hotel Vaishali

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Vaishali
Ranked #119 of 209 Hotels in Kathmandu
Reviewed April 8, 2013

After horrible experience of The Grand, VAISHALI looks much much better.
Large suit rooms with drawing and dining room. Service with smile and energy. large lobby. the best part is location, just in the Thamel where nice market around for roaming and feel fresh. the worst thing was they served Breakfast in basement, there was very bad smell in when we go downwards, even we didn't go down for breakfast and do it in market. They have many nice restaurants where they can manage morning breakfast. else it is good.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rahul289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (349)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

203 - 209 of 349 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

Hotel Vaishali is in Thamel area, so you can just walk to the market and go shopping whenever you like. The hotel as such is okay. Rooms are neat. Buffet breakfast had a good choice of food, but if you order for hot drinking water from your room, even after reminding 2-3 times and waiting for half an hour, all you get is a glass of warm water poured from their water jug. Rush hour management needs to be improved. Waiters failed to get required coffee cups and even spoons and forks during the busy breakfast time. There was no hot water in the bathroom in the morning (when many guests had checked in) and had to wait for half an hour to get it.

As such, rooms are okay. Friendly staff. Free wi-fi in the reception area.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jvs2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

The only positive side of the hotel is the location (that awards 1 star in tripadvisor).
We stayed 2 nights, before and after our trekking tour.
The first time the room ws ok-isch, the bathroom had only one towel and it looked like it was used previously. It turned out later, that the bathroom has not been cleanedup. Some noise from the neighbouring partyplace was little disturbing, as we planned to wake up early, hence go to sleep early.
The second night, our room at the 5th floor, just below the roof, looked nice at the fisrt impression, the bathroom had 2 sets of towels and was more decent as the first night. Later we discovered 2 wiskey bottels in a corner, the sheets were more gray than white, basically the room was not cleaned up before our stay. The most annoying thing of the 5th floor are the pumps and engines on the roof. It is impossible to sleep when they are on - and they are constantly on! After several complaints the staff switched the pump off with the promise to not switch it on until morning time. Well, morning time for them ment 4 AM!! Imagine a bulldozer behind your head waking you up... that's the feeeling. And I recon our room was not the worst!
the rest of the night is history and i'm not going into details.

Breakfast the morning after: Completly tired from the almost sleepless night i check out the breakfast buffet, take one of the cleanest glasses I could find amongst the few and voila! ... a cockroach runs over the table. ...we went into Thamel for breakfast after that...

For this money it's not worth at all!

Room Tip: stay in the lower floors facing the backside of the house towards the "garden". The neighb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rossihoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

The only good part of this hotel was its location, in the heart of Thamel. As a tourist in Kathamandu, this is where you would like to be. The room was spacious but garish. Complimentary breakfast was fine though. However, I had primarily booked my last 2 days in Kathmandu here for the nice swimming pool that they have. This turned out is not maintained and I clearly could not use it. Also, unfortunately, during our time, the hotel was undergoing repairs. There were chunks of cement lying around everywhere. The water in the bathroom was yellow-ish and smelly, apparently some chemical treatment had been done to the water! Maybe we had bad hotel luck on this trip!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frend09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

My stay was comfortable. The staff were very friendly, very polite and very helpful. The location was excellent and just about everything needed was almost at the doorstep. Restaurants, internet, money changers, tours, shops, taxis.

The standard was good for Nepal and I will be glad to be back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
2  Thank Gerard L B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Was a nice stay for 2 nights in this hotel... Rooms were good and clean.
Breakfast was good with good spread. Best part is the location bang in Thamel.
Tried food was ok...
Only problem faced was for hot water. would recommend for all travelers

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tappi82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Paid 70 usd per night. Waay ovrvalued. Dingy clean rooms. No heating. Breakfast buffet was amazing for the first couple of nights with fresh chappati and traditional curry. But then scaled back to very stale breads and continental fare. Eat the fruit salad and omletes, dont bother with anything else. We stayed here with ACE the Himalaya.. staff were polite and helpful. Easy to leave lugguage at the hotel for trekking. Cleaners especially lovely, always saying namaste with a smile. TVs in spacious rooms. Wifi is extra but reasonably priced. Tap water is yellow in colour (ok with aquatabs). Lucky to get a warm shower, best bet is to try in the evening.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Drakes_007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#38 of 209 in Kathmandu
1,211 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Manaslu
Hotel Manaslu
#111 of 209 in Kathmandu
275 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gaju Suite Hotel
Gaju Suite Hotel
#30 of 209 in Kathmandu
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Kathmandu
Grand Hotel Kathmandu
#78 of 209 in Kathmandu
294 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
#8 of 209 in Kathmandu
693 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Woodland Kathmandu
Hotel Woodland Kathmandu
#105 of 209 in Kathmandu
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vaishali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vaishali

Address: P.O. Box: 206, Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#42 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range: $55 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Vaishali 3.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vaishali is situated in Thamel -The heart of kathmandus business cultural and shopping district,just 20 minutes from the airport. Vaishali offers guests a choice of 95 centrally air-conditioned elegant modern rooms including 8 splendid suites to cater the needs of the travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Vaishali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vaishali Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing