We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathe, eat & Drink - Dust”
Review of Hotel Vaishali

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Vaishali
Ranked #115 of 205 Hotels in Kathmandu
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Stayed here for two days with family. Rooms are spacious, Bathrooms are okay. You will be definitely disturbed by brown tap water. Room service is fine. Beds and pillows are stiking. The front desk are arrogant. Break fast is pathetic, do not stay here if you have some options. In the middle of a busy district which you can easily loose your way back to the hotel, if you go for a stall in the Thamel narrow mall roads. Be careful.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Saji-Abraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (339)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Vaishali
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

213 - 219 of 339 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2012

Stayed with family had a wonderful stay at home away from home .the rooms in the 2nd floors were amazing and big tv nd wooden flooring.the staff were always ready to help for any queries and the breakfast is superb .

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monica K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

I'm an American and while I was staying in Kathmandu getting ready to leave for Mount Everest Base Camp - I stayed at the Hotel Vaishali. Obviously by western standards this is not a great hotel - but for Nepali it was very beautiful.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

This hotel is supposed to be 5 star, but seemed more like 3 star sometimes. The room was spacious and bathroom was okay. However, the AC was not that strong and in some rooms the AC did not work. Ocassionally the water in the toilet would not work because....who knows? Free wifi did not work beyond the lobby. Staff was friendly and helpful.

The breakfast buffet was okay - tea and coffee were horrible though. The lunch and dinner were nothing spectacular, especially if they was a large crowd. On one night there was not so much crowd so the food was much better. The dinning area was not cleaned as quickly as expected in such a good hotel.

Location is probably the best plus point for this hotel. It is right in Thamel in the shopping/tourist place. If you are staying for a few days, you can get laundary done in one day just down the road for a nominal price. It was an okay hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure you get one in which AC is working!
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank intellichem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

this can be categorised as a 4 star hotel and ideally located for ppl visiting kathmandu. Not very far from darbar road and casinos like yak and yetti and annapurna, it is value for money. when i went there and that was long time back , it was newly built so rooms were very nice. I am sure if management has taken proper care then this is not a bad place to stay at all

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lambaamandeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Excellent location at Thamel. Although the hospitality was OK, there was heavy booking for the Kailash Mansarovar tourists and thus every thing was getting haywire - Long queues during complimentary Breakfast, parking choking ( delayed for my returned flight by 30 minutes because the heavy check-in of tourists blocked / choked the traffic inside the hotel premises. NO WIFI was working ( was told - the management has withdrawn services, although shows on the website). I had to pay INR 12000 for a day & night down load on my international roaming. Taps run thru only red water ( probably recycled).
Had a wiered experience by staying the costliest suit 3115 for a day without AC for 30 hours.

TOTAL stay for 3+1 days.

Never visit this place again in my life......

Room Tip: Choose 2115, 3115,4115 only as these rooms are more spacious than others, but be aware of the no wi...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tourism24June292012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We stayed in this hotel june 2012. The breakfast is very good we love it.The water was warm. get a AC room. Don't even think of using Swimming pool - is dirty. toilets need attention.the breakfast had plenty of choices is good.Fabulous location.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gokul1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
1.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Kathmandu
Grand Hotel Kathmandu
#79 of 205 in Kathmandu
277 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#40 of 205 in Kathmandu
1,186 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Manang
Hotel Manang
#50 of 205 in Kathmandu
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Manaslu
Hotel Manaslu
#110 of 205 in Kathmandu
261 reviews
2.1 mi away
Mirage Lords Inn, Kathmandu
Mirage Lords Inn, Kathmandu
#73 of 205 in Kathmandu
118 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gaju Suite Hotel
Gaju Suite Hotel
#37 of 205 in Kathmandu
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vaishali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vaishali

Address: P.O. Box: 206, Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal
Phone Number:
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#40 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range: $54 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Vaishali 3.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vaishali is situated in Thamel -The heart of kathmandus business cultural and shopping district,just 20 minutes from the airport. Vaishali offers guests a choice of 95 centrally air-conditioned elegant modern rooms including 8 splendid suites to cater the needs of the travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Vaishali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vaishali Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing