We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
Ranked #65 of 203 Hotels in Kathmandu
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“very good”
Reviewed February 26, 2011

Ambience very good.Rooms are well maintained and neat. Dining facilities are also good. Casino is a great attraction. The swimming pool and the business center are well equipped. Also there are ampleparking slots.You are well received at the reception. Further the central location of the hotel is an added advantage.Over all the experience from the time you are picked at the airport to the time you are dropped at the airport leaves an excellent taste.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kidambi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,065 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    487
    235
    60
    38
See reviews for
131
151
128
471
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Old, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2010

I've stayed at this Radisson several times - it's very well located for my needs in Kathmandu - but every time I'm left wondering if it's worth it.

Tired rooms that are dated, with even tireder bathrooms, a restaurant that is really average in a city full of great value eateries, and a funny musty smell the permeates all the guest floors.

The staff are fine, helpful and polite, it's just that the rest of the hotel doesn't live up to the standard that they set.

For the price this is very average, locationwise if you need to be in the Laziampat area it's great, and you can walk into Thamel in about 10 minutes.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank emmbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2010

Rooms were nice but the bathrooms were quite dreary and with the typical American immobile showerhead attached way up high - for this price and at a Radisson, no handheld showerhead? There's a "casino" downstairs but it was full of Indian children running around playing the slot machines (I assume with money given by their parents). Definitely NOT a Vegas/Macau casino experience. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful, though the doormen are connected to the hotel taxis (you ask the doorman for a taxi, you pay way too much), whereas a few meters outside the hotel gate you'll find taxis for far cheaper. The restaurant food was decent and the restaurant staff were friendly and helpful. The location is OK, but walking from the hotel to the sights is an adventure, given the crazy & noisy streets. The Kathmandu taxi's are cheap and friendly, if a bit pushy (to get you for a whole day of driving). The Internet service was poor, had to repeatedly go back to the reception to get new passwords and find spots in the lobby with decent reception. Wifi reception in the room was terrible.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dersi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2010

This is a perfectly fine hotel if you are a smoker or don't mind the smell of smoke. We stayed here at the beginning and end of our trip and asked for nonsmoking rooms. Each time we were shown a room that smelled of smoke and when we requested a new room they told us they would make our room nonsmoking and sent up a staff member to remove the ash try and spray air freshner. They really just didn't get it.

This is a hotel that caters to larger tour groups.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ARSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2010

had a gift of staying in SUITE , thanks the rooms were full that day .

otherwise rooms are spacious , nice dine place

excellent business place to call your local partner , gives Class of yours , if your are here

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BVSCHE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2010

Guess this hotel is among the best in Kathmandu. It is pleasant, fairly clean and things mostly work just fine. The location is good (perhaps not as central as some other top hotels), staff make a really good effort, and the food (dinner) is ok. However, there is still some way to go to 5-star bliss. The hotel has been well used (which shows) and the interior is fairly dated, the beds are not the most comfortable, cleaning could be improved a notch, and breakfast is not the most exciting. Would I stay there again? Certainly - although several other places could be worth a try. Wherever you stay in Kathmandu bring running shoes and go for a run - really early in the morning! There are lots of exciting things to see!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Halgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 17, 2010

We read some reviews of this hotel which led us to believe it would be a slight disappointment but we were very happy with the hotel. Very good rooms, very polite and helpful service, averagely good food and large choice at breakfast. My husband was very happy with the gym and the sauna/steam room. My only criticisms are that the pool is not in the sun from mid afternoon and also, as a leisure user, the hotel is about a 10/15 minute walk from the centre of town and traffic means that getting a cab/rickshaw is quite frustrating. As a business hotel I suspect that the location is good.
(we strayed here as part of a tour with the company world expeditions and so I don't actually know the rates, I have assumed that it is similar to other Radissons.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Twentiesgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#33 of 203 in Kathmandu
1,545 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Hotel Yak & Yeti
#46 of 203 in Kathmandu
1,140 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
#81 of 203 in Kathmandu
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#10 of 203 in Kathmandu
1,092 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Annapurna
Hotel Annapurna
#62 of 203 in Kathmandu
540 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#38 of 203 in Kathmandu
1,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Hotel Kathmandu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel Kathmandu

Property: Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
Address: Lazimpat | PO Box 2269, Kathmandu 2269, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Kathmandu
#21 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
#23 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Radisson Hotel Kathmandu 2.5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu which opened in 1998 is favorably situated in Lazimpat, a prime city center location. A 260 rooms' five star hotel is designed and built to meet the international standard and to provide quality service to the guest who value time and great service. Being in the capital city, it is adjacent to the Narayanhiti Palace Museum and conveniently nestled in the diplomatic proximity within easy walking distance to the popular tourist spots like Durbarmarg and Thamel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Hotel Kathmandu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Kathmandu
Kathmandu Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing