We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
Ranked #64 of 202 Hotels in Kathmandu
San Luis Obispo, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

From the moment I was greeted at the Airport by the your hotel shuttle, to the final ‘have a nice day sir’ by the door man. I had a great stay.

My room was perfect, clean, modern, and well appointed, and the welcome gift and the nighty cookies were a pleasant surprise. Very friendly staff.

The breakfast buffet was the finest buffet I had in Nepal. And the staff made sure I had everything I needed, including the best coffee in Nepal. The fourth floor Terrace is a great place to meet for an afternoon or evening snacks or drinks.

I will return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slomichaelv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,056 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    485
    234
    59
    36
See reviews for
128
150
128
469
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

you cannot fina a better place in Kathmandu! you should really opt for a suite in the newly built annex or in the "old" hotel, the you get acess to the lounge, which has very comfy sofas, and great old pictures of the royal family, not to mention excellent service. The Corner bar, has a live band that does great covers of Pink Floyd, sounds just like them. Breakfask is superb,make sure you try the omellett "with everything". And I can also recommend the traveldesk, the lady who works there will bend over backwords to satisfy your evey needs in sightseeing and transtortation needs.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plummer074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

The Radisson in Kathmandu is a great place to be able to return to normality and tranquility after the hustle and bustle of the city or other parts of Nepal. The rooms are really very nice and the staff absolutely wonderful. The buffet breakfast is first class and snacks in the new building and also by the pool are very good and quite reasonable prices. I have stayed in the hotel a few times and am always happy to be there.
The hotel has a really good backup generator system which keeps the place working 24 hours a day with virtually no inconvenience caused to guests by the city's temperamental electricity network.

Room Tip: search and try to get a package that includes breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

The Raddison in Kathmandu has a central building and a second building built more recently. I stayed in the second building. The rooms were great with a large comfortable bed with lovely linen. As usual a wonderful shower and great lighting in the room. From my room ( 154 ) I could hear the noise from the nearby bars until about 23.00 each night , however the TV seemed to drown this out – so not an issue for me
I attended a workshop there so ate lunch at the main restaurant 4 days in a row. Each meal was different , with a variety of choice which was tasty enjoyable each day. I was impressed by this!
Staff were extremely pleasant , friendly and helpful
I used the spar – sauna, steam bath and Jacuzzi. Whilst in good working order , possibly time for an upgrade of these facilities. Signs on how turn the facilities on would be useful. Lovely view from the spar window at Kathmandu!
One system that seemed to be extremely complicated was the Wifi. On arrival request suggest your request a coupon if your booking includes Wifi. The coupon only lasts for a day. If you are staying for longer suggest you request that the WiFi be extended on your first coupon for your entire stay. If you are not active on the Wifi you will automatically be exited from the system. So you are constantly logging in and being thrown out to access your emails. So a complicated systems that should be reviewed.
Overall a very pleasant stay at a lovely hotel. Currently the road to Tamil is being redone, so it is unfortunate that it is difficult to walk this short distance to Tamil.

Room Tip: Rooms in the new building are great - modern TV and modern lighting!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 192RoseM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

This hotel has a highly impressive reception and entrance hall. staff is also OK. They have a decent casino where some dance goes on in evening. However, they are not very particular of entry fees or charges for dinner in casino. I was told that if I plat for INR 1000, I can have complimentary dinner but I went there, they said that I have to play for INR 5000. Sounds illogical.
Rooms are average with basic facilities. They also offer 24 hours tea and coffee facility. Overall I will rate it average, bit on a expensive side.

Room Tip: Ask for room in front building which comes first when you enter in the street from main road. that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrqTrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Best stay in new bldg. it's built to withstand earthquakes. Rooms are clean, wonderful bathrooms and internet worked fine. Morning buffet was well stocked and quite good. Location is most convenient. The price reflects what you get.

Room Tip: In the new building stay on the even no. room side. It faces inward away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bucketlistcountdown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We are just completing a 2 night stay in this property and have not had a good experience at all as far as the quality of the rooms. We would have switched hotels but we had pre paid as part of our tour and couldn't get our money back.

The first room (616) we were assigned had faulty sir conditioning, no Internet service (as had been promised) and had a musty and moldy smell to it. The carpet had numerous stains on it and looked like it hadn't been replaced since the hotel was built. It did have a lovely view of the city but as the weather has already turned hot the room was uncomfortable. We then gave up our view to switch to another room with functioning air conditioning and Internet service only to wake up with a 2 live roaches in the bed. DISGUSTING!!

We reported our unwanted bedroom guests to the front desk and were assured that the manager would be notified. We asked for a room in the new wing but were told that this wasn't what our travel agent had booked. Considering that we had already been inconvenienced once having to repack and change rooms and then found roaches in the second room we were angry at this answer to our request. The least we could have received was an apology directly from the manager but none was received.

Moral of the story, don't stay at this property unless you are assured a room in the new wing. Message to management of this property, get rid of old, moldy carpeting, change the filters on the air conditioner and do apologize to your guests when they have unwanted critters in their room.

Another word of caution before you book your room is to make sure the major construction that starts right outside the hotel front door is complete or you will inhale a ton of dust.

We have been traveling extensively throughout Asia on this trip, staying at the Taj & Uma properties in Bhutan & The Meridian hotel in Delhi near Connaught Circle and never had a problem. It was an American chain that totally let us down. We will never trust the Radisson name to provide us a quality stay in Asia.

Room Tip: I can't give one as we never had one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#32 of 202 in Kathmandu
1,533 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Hotel Yak & Yeti
#46 of 202 in Kathmandu
1,124 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
#78 of 202 in Kathmandu
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#12 of 202 in Kathmandu
1,081 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Annapurna
Hotel Annapurna
#66 of 202 in Kathmandu
534 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#38 of 202 in Kathmandu
1,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Hotel Kathmandu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel Kathmandu

Property: Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
Address: Lazimpat | PO Box 2269, Kathmandu 2269, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Kathmandu
#13 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#21 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
#23 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Hotel Kathmandu 5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu which opened in 1998 is favorably situated in Lazimpat, a prime city center location. A 260 rooms' five star hotel is designed and built to meet the international standard and to provide quality service to the guest who value time and great service. Being in the capital city, it is adjacent to the Narayanhiti Palace Museum and conveniently nestled in the diplomatic proximity within easy walking distance to the popular tourist spots like Durbarmarg and Thamel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Hotel Kathmandu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Kathmandu
Kathmandu Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing