We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for the new building”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
Ranked #64 of 203 Hotels in Kathmandu
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Go for the new building”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

The Radisson's new building has excellent rooms for the business traveler. Bright modern facilities with comfortable bed and excellent shower. I was planning on staying at the Yak and Yeti for my 10 day stay, but the rooms there had that moldy damp smell. I was thrilled to find the Radisson- a bit pricey, but reasonable if you can get the US government rate. It is not ideally located, like the Y&Y, so you can't walk to restaurants in Thamel. The restaurants at the hotel were good but a bit overpriced.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dccantor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,067 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    487
    235
    61
    38
See reviews for
131
152
128
471
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Stayed at the Radisson Kathmandu during my 2 weeks in Nepal for work. I stayed at the new building which was much much better than the old building. Rooms are generous and clean with a fantastic shower. Internet was good and TV had a lot of channels. In terms of facilities, the gym was reasonable but the pool was a bit too small for my liking. The casino in the old building was interesting...didn't play but did go down to have a look - too smoky for my liking. The breakfast was extremely boring as they pretty much had the same menu everyday that I was there.

During my stay, there was road construction at the front of the hotel which made walking really unpleasant. But it is situated in an okay part of down, seems quiet safe and within walking distance of Thamel (15 min).

Overall, it's a good business hotel if you stay in the new building and for the price of $95 USD a night, it's relatively cheap I thought (but I dont really know prices of other hotels).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank youers_aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

I only stayed here for one night after returning from Tibet. It's comfortable and the staff are very friendly as they are everywhere here. Breakfast was good with a good selection and eggs cooked to order etc. You can walk into town in about 15 minutes, or if you don't fancy walking along the 'building site' paths which are everywhere you can easily get a taxi

Room Tip: ask for a higher floor and to be on the side that has views over the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debsjlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Recently holed up at the Raddison, Kathmandu. It's not the flashest of hotels, and far from the worst, but it is a great place to stay in central Kathmandu. The swimming pool on the 4th floor is just long enough to count as exercise, and you get to watch the sunrise over the valley if you sneak up there early enough. Rooms are big enough for two probably, beds are comfy. Great views over the city. The buffet is generous, plenty of options for both local and European food, staff are lovely. They won't let you have anything to eat outside the dining area which is annoying if you want a cup of tea and a cake - sorry, not allowed. Easy walking to the Garden of Dreams and if you are keen, to the main tourist shopping alleyways of Thamel. Also the Palace Museum, only place I have ever seen a sign that says "Murder Scene this Way" and they mean it.

Room Tip: Stay in the old hotel - great views facing out either way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ngaire W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

After coming out of Tibet, this hotel made the trip!
We liked everything about the hotel, from being greeted continuously on arrival and departure at the entrance to general staff cautiousness throughout the hotel.
Rooms are great, the second stay we asked for a larger room and got it without issues.
All rooms are clean and well maintained.
We visited all the different restaurants in the complex and found them excellent.
Highly recommend a visit.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 19Kerry48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We were visited Kathmandu for a official purpose. This is a very nice hotel located near to the city main attractions. Thamel and Drabar Road is just 15 min walking from the hotel. Airport is also just 15 min from the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrAmresh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We were traveling to Kathmandu to start a trek to Everest Base Camp and had an extra night before staying in the hotel chosen (Hotel Norbu Linka) by the tour group (G Adventures). We opted to stay somewhere nicer for our first night in Kathmandu and it was the best decision we made. The city suffers from roaming blackouts all day long and the Radisson is largely exempt from any issues, which helped in getting all of our electronics fully charged. The pool and roof deck have a great view of the city and the mountains. There is a bar/pub attached to the hotel which had some live music and beer which was very relaxing after 20 hours flying. There were a few small stores to buy food around and Thamel is a short cab ride away (we walked it once and its not far but trusting local drivers to not hit us was tested a few times) with many more options. I would have thought he hotel was perfectly good if it were located in the U.S. but by Kathmandu standards, this place was great and not overly expensive.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#34 of 203 in Kathmandu
1,547 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Hotel Yak & Yeti
#45 of 203 in Kathmandu
1,142 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
#81 of 203 in Kathmandu
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#11 of 203 in Kathmandu
1,093 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Annapurna
Hotel Annapurna
#65 of 203 in Kathmandu
541 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#38 of 203 in Kathmandu
1,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Hotel Kathmandu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel Kathmandu

Property: Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
Address: Lazimpat | PO Box 2269, Kathmandu 2269, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Kathmandu
#13 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#21 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
#22 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Hotel Kathmandu 5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu which opened in 1998 is favorably situated in Lazimpat, a prime city center location. A 260 rooms' five star hotel is designed and built to meet the international standard and to provide quality service to the guest who value time and great service. Being in the capital city, it is adjacent to the Narayanhiti Palace Museum and conveniently nestled in the diplomatic proximity within easy walking distance to the popular tourist spots like Durbarmarg and Thamel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Hotel Kathmandu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Kathmandu
Kathmandu Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing