We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One Night is Enough”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
Ranked #66 of 209 Hotels in Kathmandu
Reviewed April 29, 2008

Property not up to usual Radisson standards. Good location and friendly staff, however. Several restaurants and shops nearby, including an excellent Indian restaurant just down the street. Still, a nondescript hotel catering to tour groups. Elevators are small and slow. Limited breakfast selection. Get there early as they run out of food and don't bring more. One night was enough.

  • Stayed: April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nenas121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,120)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

979 - 985 of 1,120 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2008

I stayed here five nights during a busy and chaotic time. The staff was exceedingly friendly, accommodating and generally responsive.

The Radisson is in the Lazimpat district so it's close to Thamel and business destinations.

Radisson hotels are basic and decent by business travel standards, not luxurious. The Kathmandu affiliate is no exception. You won't find anything fancy but by local standards there are only a couple of other hotels higher up the chain (Hyatt Regency and Crowne Plaza Soaltee). Definitely shop around, however, as during off-peak times you should not be paying more than $100/night for a comparable room in this category in Kathmandu.

I had trouble with getting a strong wi-fi signal in my room so was moved to another where the signal was better. If internet communication is important then make sure you have a strong wi-fi signal in your room before unpacking. (There is no option of using a LAN cable, unfortunately). However, the internet charge of $15/day is excessive. Other communications issues included noisy phone lines and snowy TV reception, but such is life in Nepal.

One side of the guest room floors are for smokers and the other for non-smokers. This makes sense as smoke is more apt to drift through the ventilation rather than across the hall.

The shower water pressure was very strong -- in fact too strong, meaning the mildewy plastic curtain could not hold in the water.

There are several restaurants in the hotel. The food is nothing to write home about and by local standards, very expensive. You can find much better value for money by going to Thamel for meals.

Also for shopping you can do better elsewhere if you know how to identify quality, can separate real items from fakes and can bargain.

The merchant in the small shop behind the bell desk in the lobby was honest about which gems were authentic and which were not. But at another shop, between the lobby and the business center, the salesman tried to interest me in a large necklace made of "smoky topaz." There is no such thing and this is a common scam to hawk cheap quartz. There's no way a merchant in a reputable hotel should be trying this line. I walked out and complained to the front desk about it but have no idea whether they understood how such comments to guests could sully their reputation. Caveat emptor is the operational phrase here.

Also, transportation fares in Kathmandu are subject to negotiation. There is a fuel shortage so during times of crisis petrol is scarce and dear. However, be careful you don't overpay. A hotel-booked car ran me Rs 350/hour for one outing, while another drive charged Rs 1,000 for a 30-minute run to the airport with one stop on the way. The jaunt to Thamel should never run you more than Rs 100 (and when things are slow it should be much cheaper than that).

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank 7J1AIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2008

WARNING- we had $2700 stolen from our locked hotel safe...sounds impossible right...but hotel security refused to call police for us to file a claim, or even give us the police phone number for us to contact ourselves. We finally got the number from other people 5 hours later, and called the police who immediately came over. The police chief indicated that hotel staff had tampered with the evidence and made a mistake by not contacting them immediately. After the incident, we tried contacting the hotel manager who missed several appointments with us. Police and the US Consulate were very helpful, while the hotel could not have been more un hospitable. They indicated that the security manager and other workers were involved and probably split the stolen money. I am in the process of writing to hotel management in the US about this awful experience.

We chose this hotel over many other local hotels bc it was a "Western" chain that we recognized. Never again. DO NOT STAY HERE, and be careful!!!

  • Stayed: January 2008
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
8  Thank LBashir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2008

It is in downtown and not as lavish as Hyatt Kahtmandu. But the staffs were superb. Rooms were well maintained. Buffet breakfast was huge and delicious.

I felt the Casino downstairs should be larger.

The swimming pool on 5th floor is disappointing as the view is not so nice as I expected. But on the whole it was very nice stay for me.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Taslimul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2007

The Radisson is at the end of a quiet street, which shields guests from the street noise that is so common around Kathmandu. The street leading up to the hotel has good shopping, but not as cheap or as plentiful as the Thamel neighborhood. Down the street is "Bluebird" shopping store (good for basic food items like biscuits, tea, and spices). Restaurants around the street are good and reasonable.

Thamel and other sites are within walking distance (if you're a walker), and cab fares are reasonable if you're not a walker. The sidewalks are a mess, though, so take a flashlight if you're walking i in the dark.

Breakfast was decent with many choices. Unlike other hotel buffets, there was some variety from one day to the next. The doormen and housekeeping and wait staff are very warm and friendly. The reception staff is friendly enough but not so much by Nepalese standards.

The hotel gift shops are good with reasonable prices. The staff at the barber shop/beauty salon are good (the prices are high for Nepal but very low by Western standards, and it is clean. there is a 15% discount for hotel guests).

The room was reasonably comfortable and well-supplied. I would gladly stay there again, though I was with a group and believe that the hotel is rather expensive if you book on your own.

Stayed: December 2007
2  Thank Annabella G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2007

We stayed here for 3 days before we proceed to Nagarkot.
Great location, a famous Thamel shopping street within a walking distance. Friendly staff and there is a Casino in the hotel ifself.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank samwong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2007

I stayed here in February, 2007. This hotel was not great, not bad.
I recall the room had two single beds instead of a king or queen, which always annoys me, although it's not uncommon in Asia. It's about a 20 minute walk from Thamel. The breakfast buffet was OK. I did not enter the adjoining casino.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank STLvagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Hotel Yak & Yeti
#50 of 209 in Kathmandu
1,216 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#32 of 209 in Kathmandu
1,626 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#38 of 209 in Kathmandu
1,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
#91 of 209 in Kathmandu
497 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Shambala
Hotel Shambala
#25 of 209 in Kathmandu
408 reviews
1.7 mi away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#11 of 209 in Kathmandu
1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Hotel Kathmandu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel Kathmandu

Address: Lazimpat | PO Box 2269, Kathmandu 2269, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Kathmandu
#12 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#21 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
#24 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range: $136 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Hotel Kathmandu 5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu which opened in 1998 is favorably situated in Lazimpat, a prime city center location. A 260 rooms' five star hotel is designed and built to meet the international standard and to provide quality service to the guest who value time and great service. Being in the capital city, it is adjacent to the Narayanhiti Palace Museum and conveniently nestled in the diplomatic proximity within easy walking distance to the popular tourist spots like Durbarmarg and Thamel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Hotel Kathmandu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Kathmandu
Kathmandu Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing