We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis in Kathmandu”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
Ranked #66 of 210 Hotels in Kathmandu
Reviewed April 23, 2012

The facilities at the hotel are first class; and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. We started on the wrong foot as I hadn't arrange transport from the airport with the hotel - but after arriving by taxi; our spirits were soon restored by the comfortable room and the range of dining on offer. Despite reading previous reviews, we found the bed really comfortable and very spacious; full marks from us. We enjoyed all the restaurants; which, apart from the buffet, we quite quiet. Range of food was good; I can't recommend the steak but everything else we ate was excellent.
The location was good and central; quite possible to walk into Thamel for shopping although taxis were always waiting outside; after negotiation they were very reasonable. Didn't have any trouble from noise; room was quiet - on the second floor.
Staff were all very friendly; really made this a memorable holiday.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,141)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

892 - 898 of 1,141 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2012

this has good restaurant and very spacious room which are well maintained

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rajeshm30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

I spend a week on business at the Radisson Kathmandu. I was on the business floor. Very large rooms, very clean. Service was good, they tried really hard even though it would not always work. Beware that photocopies and print-outs in the business center are not free of charge, but compared to european/western prices it's peanuts. Breakfast and meals were ok, good choice and quite tasty. Reception staff were really helpful. Safe but quite uninteresting area, a short drive away from Thamel. You can get extremely cheap taxis anywhere. You can also change money at the reception.

Downsides: there is a casino adjacent to the hotel, and out of 6 nights I stayed there, 5 nights had a function going on (usually a wedding). I was in room 240 and had music pounding every evening from 8pm to late hours just under my window. Very loud music (I could recognize the songs). This seems to be all-year round, so make sure to ask for a room that is far away from the casino and the area where they organise the parties and weddings.

Other downside: when I left I forgot to empty 2 drawers. I called them when I got home, and they assured me housekeeping had only found the content of one of the two drawers....so the content of the other drawer seems to have "mysteriously" disappeared....

Appart from apologies, no compensation was offered neither for the sleepless nights nor for the missing clothes.

Appart from that, if you want a safe, clean and quite luxurious place to stay in Kathmandu, I can advise the Radisson.

Room Tip: Ask for a room far away from the casino!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elisabeth3473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Good Hotel with friendly staff and good location. The Splash Bar on the 5th floor gives you a nice city view. The beds are like sleeping on a hard floor!!! There was nothing comfortable about the. The room itself was fine but the bed. . . !! The Olive Garden Restaurant has very good food and the staff was very friendly. Except for the bed I

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fad3449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2012

i stayed at this hotel in february, 2012 and had a very comfortable stay.... the services were quite systematic and it gives a feel that every thing is in place... the room was very comfotable... most lovely experience is at their coffee shop... the buffet has wide spread.... staff were very courteous.... they anticipated the needs and ensure to pamper the guests.... the kitchen boy at the live counter deserves a special mention... he was amazing....

thanks to all at Radisson Kathmandu...

Room Tip: all rooms are good..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ramu V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

We were guests of the Radisson for 3 nights while visiting Kathmandu in February.
This is a very busy hotel with an international clientele. Inexplicably, the lobby is decorated with prints from Paris, etc. and does not play up its location, as does for example, the magnificent Dwarika hotel. The hotel, however, is undergoing significant expansion and hopefully the new building will reflect its magnificent architectural and artistic legacy.
Our room, while not luxurious, was well equipped and included a flat screen T.V., make up mirror, toiletries, laundry bag, etc. Turn down service was available. Housekeeping was good, although there are some long term maintenance issues.
There are rolling power failures in the city-load shedding- but the back-up generators come on very quickly. We did experience the water being off for 15 minutes one day.
The location of this hotel is excellent. It’s in the diplomatic area and we were able to walk around the area comfortably and without any concerns for our safety.
The strong suit of the hotel is its staff. Door men, guards, porters, front desk, and restaurant staff were without exception charming, agreeable, and service oriented. One is more disposed to overlook some of the hotel’s flaws as a result. For example, we were there during wedding season. The hotel’s main dining room has windows that face a lovely court yard with waterfall. The area had been set up for an event. Days after, the tables remained with table cloths still on them. Not a pretty or reassuring site in terms of care and attention to detail. But we were less upset about it because we enjoyed the staff.
Breakfast had a good variety of foods, including both western and Asian dishes. We had an early Everest flight one morning with pick up at 6:30 am. Although the restaurant does not open until 6:30, our guide arranged for them to open at 6:00 to accommodate us.
There is an Olive Garden (likely not the brand) serving Mediterranean food and also an Outback menu (again, likely not the brand) featuring meat. We did not eat there.
We did have a drink at the Splash Bar on the 5th floor. It was pleasant, although the service was a tad amateurish and the furnishings outdated and shabby. The hotel also has another bar and patisserie in a separate building on the property.
Despite, its problems, the hotel is a good option.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fearful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

After completing my mountaineering expeditions to Mt . Kailash & Muktinath i chose to stay at the Radisson in Kathmandu

The service i received from the Travel Desk to the concierge was brilliant

when i had booked my stay i had asked them to book me in a non - smoking zone , the day i checked in they upgraded me to their premiere rooms and i was truly humbled

The food was truly mouth watering and a wide variety to choose from , the a la carte / buffet or room service

so any mountaineers heading to nepal soon , do consider staying in @ the Radisson Kathmandu .

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tejaladz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
2.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#36 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,689 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Hotel Yak & Yeti
#57 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,258 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
#97 of 210 in Kathmandu
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#41 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,236 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Annapurna
Hotel Annapurna
#67 of 210 in Kathmandu
570 reviews
1.8 mi away
Baber Mahal Vilas The Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Hotel Kathmandu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel Kathmandu

Address: Lazimpat | PO Box 2269, Kathmandu 2269, Nepal
Phone Number:
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Kathmandu
#13 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#21 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
#25 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range: $128 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Hotel Kathmandu 5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu which opened in 1998 is favorably situated in Lazimpat, a prime city center location. A 260 rooms' five star hotel is designed and built to meet the international standard and to provide quality service to the guest who value time and great service. Being in the capital city, it is adjacent to the Narayanhiti Palace Museum and conveniently nestled in the diplomatic proximity within easy walking distance to the popular tourist spots like Durbarmarg and Thamel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Radisson Hotel Kathmandu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Kathmandu
Kathmandu Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing