We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hooray for Hyatt!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Ranked #33 of 207 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 24, 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Hyatt Hotel in Kathmandu for a total of two weeks (our return home was delayed by four days because of the protest and closing of the airport in Bangkok). We loved every minute of our experience at the Hyatt. This hotel had been highly recommended to us by a friend who goes to Nepal often on business. Her recommendations, in addition to those we had seen on Trip Advisor, were right on the mark. Overall this is one of the finest hotels at which we have ever stayed--in any country.

We stayed on the Club Floor, and the additional cost for this is well worth the money. The free internet is convenient for those who do not bring their laptops with them--although sometimes it is necesary to wait one's turn. The evening happy hour provides a wonderful opportunity to meet other guests--or to maintain one's privacy if that is desired. The hors d'oeuvres served during happy hour are superb (we saw several guests who made these their evening meal!). An excellent breakfast is also served on the Club Floor, but we usually ate in the larger downstairs restaurant which had a larger variety of food.

The hotel is a gorgeous facility, as can be seen from the photos on the hotel's website. It is also located in a beautiful setting of many acres. Kathmandu is a busy, crowded, bustling city and the hotel offers a bit of an oasis after one has grown weary from hearing the cacophany of horns' blowing and dodging the traffic that seems to come from all directions at the same time. The Hyatt offers a good view if the Himalayas as well as a great view of the largest stupa in Kathmandu, which is in easy walking distance.

The grounds on which the hotel is located are huge and beautifully maintained. A large staff of groundskeepers keeps the grass and plants well manicured. The current manager, Mr. Gadi Hassin, has taken special interest in the landscaping since taking charge a couple of years ago. He has introduced many new plants and drilled wells to keep everything well watered. He has also created large vegetable and herb gardens on the grounds which are not only attractive and interesting, but supply fresh vegetables and herbs that are used in the hotel's restaurants.

Speaking of restaurants, those in the Hyatt are very good. The Garden Cafe, on the lower level, is the main restaurant. It offers a varied menu and every item we ordered was superbly prepared. It also offers a buffet with every meal for those who prefer such dining experiences. The buffet features a different theme each evening. There is also the Rox Restaurant at the front of the hotel which is very good. It is a bit more pricey than the Garden Cafe, but certainly not overpriced. It features a varied menu, but its specialty is Italian cuisine.

Even though all the above-mentioned features make the Hyatt a wonderful hotel, the thing that makes it truly outstanding is its staff. To a person, the staff are professional, friendly (no one ever fails to greet you), accommodating, and eager to serve each guest in every way possible. It is obvious that the staff have been carefully selected in the hiring process, have been highly trained, and are professionally supervised. They truly made our stay a joy.

Although there are several other nice hotels in Kathmandu, I doubt that any of these could compare with the Hyatt.

Stayed: November 2008, traveled on business
1  Thank gailray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,572)
There are newer reviews for Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,273 - 1,279 of 1,572 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2009

I recently returned from another of my bi-annual trips to Nepal flaging up a further stay at the Hyatt, Kathmandu. I have never thought to write a review before but was so impressed and delighted with the improvement of absuolutely every area that concerned me as a guest.

From the moment of arrival the changes were obvious. An immediate Welcome back Mrs... (never before had anyone thought it important to remember/record the details of a long term returning guest. Each time was like the first). Smiling staff, that for a change looked fresh in clean uniforms/suits. Thankfully gone were the dirty rumpled looking uniforms and glum faces. The sparkling lobby with its welcoming flowers and more smiling faces at the reception desk.

Check-in was painless, no more repeatedly spelling my name, luggage delivered to my room in minutes, and a room that had no stale smells and was clean.

It was also astonishing how the quality and variety of food had improved in less than a year.

Over the years I had often made complaints about various issues, some serious health issues but never once did I get a response from anyone particularly not the Hotel Manager, in fact in six years I had never actually seen the then Manager around the hotel. So what a surprise to see the current one out checking around the hotel, and actually talking to guests.

I had often felt both sorry for and very frustrated with the hotel management and staff and their dreadful attitued to good standards and service. I had wondered was it so impossible to train them properly. Well, thankfully this time my question was answered and what a pleasure it was to see so many familiar faces turned into lively, efficient and motivated people. The current Manager deserves a serious clap on the back for introducing and so quickly implementing such good Management practices and so obviously training and motivating staff. Long may it last!

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MagicAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2009

We spent three nights at the Hyatt in mid-December and had a wonderful time. The hotel is very well appointed, with a stunning entrance and reception area, lovely rooms and very good restaurants. The service we received was excellent and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Millside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2009

The Hyatt is in central Kathmandu with large gardens surrounding it and enclosed by a wall. The entrance lobby is impressive and makes an excellent impression.
There is a very large swimming pool in the gardens.
The restaurants are very good indeed.
The staff are very friendly and courteous and there is a good business centre.
It is possible and safe to walk out of the hotel into the surrounding streets and there is a major buddhist temple within a few minutes walk.
The bedrooms are of a good size and comfortable.
I did not expect such a high quality hotel in Nepal and I would unhesitatingly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank DavidBLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2008

its good, sort of lanscape gardens, rooms are good, service is good, overall its okay

Stayed: February 2004
Thank punit195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2008

Stayed at the Hyatt for about 15 days through October. This is the second time we have stayed there and after reviewing and staying at other hotels in the area we wouldn't stay anywhere else whilst in Kathmandu.

The hotel is large, stately and impressive but not overwhelming. With structures modeled after the buildings in Durbar square and expertly selected music, the hotel gives out an ancient and relaxing atmosphere. Great care is taken daily to keep the beautiful gardens in peak condition and furnish the Hyatt with the most impressive grounds of any hotel in the city. Set in approximately 15 acres of land the boundaries of the property are far enough away to completely silence the hustle and bustle of the city. The pool area is fabulous with a 30 metre pool and a very attentive life guard for the kids etc.
The food was excellent both breakfast and dinner in any of the restaurants.

Not a gambler myself I didn't use the casino but did have a look inside and there seemed to be plenty of facilities inside to throw your money at.

This hotel is always used by visiting dignitaries and leaders of state which tells a story in itself. I think the thing that impresses me most about the Hyatt is the outstanding service provided from all departments of the hotel, with everyone bending over backwards to make your stay as pleasant as possible. My wife and I have visited Nepal 3 times now and stayed at 6 different hotels and visited another 5 and guarantee the Hyatt to be the finest hotel in the country. Totally satisfied!!!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anwynandrussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2008

I stayed at the Hyatt Regency in Kathmandu for three nights and what a wonderful experience it was. This must be easily the best hotel in Nepal - bedrooms are excellent with every convenience imaginable and large well equipped bathrooms. There is an amazing lobby area which is marvellously designed with a nice terrace bar overlooking the swimming pool with views to the Boudhanath Stupa nearby. Both restaurants are excellent, particularly the Rox Restaurant for fine dining. The hotel also has a good, large and efficient Business Centre. Friendly and helpful staff throughout. I could find no faults with the hotel. It is also well located for the cultural sights of the Kathmandu Valley and the international airport.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank AnthonyIG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
2.5 mi away
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Hotel Yak & Yeti
#47 of 207 in Kathmandu
1,165 reviews
1.5 mi away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#9 of 207 in Kathmandu
1,100 reviews
2.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
#67 of 207 in Kathmandu
1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
#98 of 207 in Kathmandu
480 reviews
0.6 mi away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#2 of 207 in Kathmandu
445 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Shambala
Hotel Shambala
#25 of 207 in Kathmandu
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Kathmandu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Kathmandu

Address: | Taragaon, Boudha, Kathmandu 459, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#7 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
#8 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
#9 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
#10 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range: $148 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Regency Kathmandu 5*
Number of rooms: 280
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Prestigia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Kathmandu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu Hotel Kathmandu
Hyatt Kathmandu
Kathmandu Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing