We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent holiday in Nepal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Ranked #33 of 193 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent holiday in Nepal”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

We stayed at the Hyatt for 3 nights and totally enjoyed the stay.the rooms were very comfortable ,good service with pleasing manners.Wevisited the Pashupati temple besided the market place.It is ideal for shopping of Pasmina shawls,sweaters .

Room Tip: Select rooms in the wing which has the restaurant serving breakfast ,or else need to change lifts .
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pcgoliya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt Regency K, Director of Marketing at Hyatt Regency Kathmandu, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to receive your feedback and to know that you enjoyed the facilities offered by the hotel. The team is delighted to note that they could showcase you the Hyatt experience that we are renowned for. As mentioned Kathmandu has a lot of offer in terms of culture and religion and Pashupatinath temple, just 10 minutes’ drive from the hotel, is one of the most revered Hindu temples in Nepal. Besides, there are many UNESCO world heritage sites like Bouddhanath Stupa, overlooking from the hotel, which give the opportunity to guests visiting Nepal to experience its rich culture.

Thank you for giving us an opportunity to look after you during your stay and we look forward to your return visit in the not too distant future.

Best regards,

Suman Shrestha
Director of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    756
    475
    146
    43
    28
See reviews for
257
410
140
330
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Stayed here with family. While we went for the casino, unfortunately all casinos were shut at that time.
Positives -
- Huge property - more like a resort - with tennis courts, gym and a big swimming pool (including a very small heated pool)
- Very well maintained gardens and friendly staff
- Breakfast spread is also quite good
- Great price for a 5 star
- They serve sisha on a terrace with a view of the mountains
Negatives
- While located close to the airport, it about 30 mins from the city center
- Rooms were slightly worn down due to usage

Room Tip: Choose the rooms above the 3rd floor for a good view of the surrounding mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nikhil_130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt Regency K, Director of Marketing at Hyatt Regency Kathmandu, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and for your words of appreciation. As per your note for the hotel being far from the center, we do offer our guests complimentary shuttle service to major points in town such as Thamel and Durbarmarg. Your inputs on hotel upkeep, shall definitely be looked into.

We do hope we will have the opportunity to welcoming you back to Kathmandu and our hotel in the not too distant future.
Best regards,

Suman Shrestha
Director of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Very friendly staff, excellent hotel with all facilities one could which for in Kathmandu. Very nice swimming pool and health club and room was very spacious. Unfortunately the food was not at all good. Breakfast did not have orange juice, and dinner was just bad.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PerWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt Regency K, Director of Marketing at Hyatt Regency Kathmandu, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. Your appreciation about the hotel, the friendly staff, swimming pool, health club and the room is very encouraging. However it was concerning to note that the quality of food did not meet your expectations, please accept my sincerest apologies for us not being able to meet your expectations. I shall share your comments with our culinary team for us to review. In regards to your feedback on juices, please note that we only serve fresh juices. Sometime due to seasonality we are not able to serve some seasonal fruit juices.

I do hope that this incident will not deter you from visiting Hyatt Regency Kathmandu in the future and you will allow us the opportunity to restore your confidence in our hospitality that Hyatt is renowned for.

Best regards,

Suman Shrestha
Director of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
Level Contributor
140 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2014

The Hyatt Regency in Kathmandu is typical of high-end hotels in crowded cities in Southwest Asia. The hotel is located in a green oasis in the center of otherwise urban area. I found the gym adequate and the bar above average. Numerous restaurant options, a spa, and tight security make this hotel an easy choice for business travelers. The rooms are spacious and clean, if a little dated.

This hotel compares unfavorably to other hotels in the region I've stayed at recently, most notably the Radisson Bleu in Dhaka.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt Regency K, Director of Marketing at Hyatt Regency Kathmandu, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your review with other Trip Advisor readers about your experience at Hyatt Regency Kathmandu.

We are happy to know that you considered us the “nicest hotel in Kathmandu” and was able to experience the facilities and greenery within a safe and secured environment. Furthermore I have noted your comment about us being unfavorable when compared to other hotels in the region and would to request if you could share your suggestions and feedback as areas for us to look to improve on. I can be contacted at suman.shrestha@hyatt.com and do look forward to receiving your comments.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Kathmandu and our hotel.

Best regards,

Suman Shrestha
Director of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

I stayed for 6 nights and it was amazing. Their lobby area, as well as the decor are excellent. I ate at the Cafe mostly. And enjoyed their foods to the fullest. Internet speed was a problem at times, even though I was using the cheapest plan, it is not acceptable. Otherwise friendly staff, cozy environmental, literally living in history with a museum inside the area.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ituki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt Regency K, Director of Marketing at Hyatt Regency Kathmandu, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and we are delighted to hear that your stay with us was “Amazing” . Your appreciation about the lobby décor , the food at the Cafe and the positive interaction from our associate is very encouraging for us to strive to continue to offer our guest with authentic hospitality.

Please accept my sincerest apology for the issue with the internet connection during your stay with us . I shall share your comments with our service provider to ensure other guests do not experience the same problems. Thank you for bringing this to my attention and I invite you to consider staying with us again when your travels bring you back to Kathmandu.

Best regards,

Suman Shrestha
Director of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Colorado
Level Contributor
878 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

After climbing to Everest Base Camp this was a nice way to finish off an amazing journey. Located 10 minutes away from KTM airport, this hotel sits a little away from the hustle and bustle of the city and streets. Very clean and massive, the Hyatt rooms are bigger than any rooms you'll stay in America. With 20+ foot ceiling, king size beds, plasma TV's, and amazing bathrooms without a hole in the ground:) The cost is about $160-180 a night which was a little high being in a third world country. The food is probably the best Kathmandu has to offer.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt Regency K, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Kathmandu, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind feedback! I do hope you had a memorable experience at the Everest Base Camp. We, at the hotel appreciate your positive comments on our services and facilities. It is our aim to make our guests comfortable so it is a real pleasure to read how much you liked the hotel. Your appreciation about the food is very encouraging.

Thank you once again and we do hope we can have the opportunity to welcoming you back to Nepal for your next expedition.

Best regards,

Patrick Iserlohe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
79 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014

I did not feel i got worth what i paid for. I paid for a 5 star hotel but got an old 3 star room. The headboard and the bed werent clean.. a big NO for me. My friends stayed at the Tibet hotel nearby and thier room while smaller gave me the impression that they were cleaner. The mattress was dissapointing so were the pillows. the furniture was dirty with stains on the upholstery. the curtains looked old and not well kept. the breakfast was good and also we had a lunch buffet one day which was quite good as well. the lobby area while quite dark and empty had a charming section in the middle with traditional nepali decor. one evening there was a 5 piece traditional nepali band playing when i entered the lobby, definitely a good touch. Bottomline is they need to improve the quality of the rooms. Location is that great either as its far away from the happening center

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank ineedsoftbeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
1.5 mi away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#10 of 193 in Kathmandu
1,044 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Hotel Yak & Yeti
#44 of 193 in Kathmandu
1,052 reviews
2.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
#59 of 193 in Kathmandu
1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
#68 of 193 in Kathmandu
435 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Shambala
Hotel Shambala
#21 of 193 in Kathmandu
342 reviews
0.6 mi away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#4 of 193 in Kathmandu
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Kathmandu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Kathmandu

Property: Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Address: | Taragaon, Boudha, Kathmandu 459, Nepal
Phone Number:
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#7 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
#8 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
#9 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
#9 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Regency Kathmandu 5*
Number of rooms: 280
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Kathmandu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu Hotel Kathmandu
Hyatt Kathmandu
Kathmandu Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing