We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“3 star attention at 5 star hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Regency Kathmandu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Ranked #33 of 194 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“3 star attention at 5 star hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

We recently stayed here for a total of 3 nights on our tour of India and Nepal.On the first 2 nights our only complaint was that when we asked for strong coffee we were initialy waiting for 20 minutes and on reminding the waiter politely he said he was "very busy".This was true but scarcely the reply expected!On the 3rd night the room card given to us did not work and we had to ask for assistance.The tv did not work and again we required help.the shower had a seat in it which did not fold back making it impossible to stand directly under the shower with the result that water got outside the shower area.This was fixed at 10 oclock at night but in my opinion only temporarily.The next morning our wake up call was at 7.30 and luggage outside the doors at 8.15.A porter with a luggage trolley knocked on our door at 7.15.
On the plus side the setting was good and the food good although more expensive than the other 4 and 5 star hotels we stayed in.Apart from the one incident the staff were helpful.

All in all extremely disappointing and by far the worst hotel of its type (4 or 5 star) we stayed in on our trip

Room Tip: room on 2nd floor was much better than room on 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank keith p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt Regency K, Director of Marketing at Hyatt Regency Kathmandu, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Tripadvisor.com as above and further to our communication as well I would like to apologize for the service issues you and your husband had to face on your holiday to Nepal and India.

As mentioned we are deeply disappointed to know we fell short in regards to our service during your stay. This is by no means indicative of the level of service that we strive for to our discerning guests. Our main priority is for all our guests to experience an exceptional level of service and I can assure you that we have personally spoken within our team regarding your comments and we will definitely take them into consideration. Please accept my sincerest apologies for not being able to exceed your expectations on this occasion and your experience was, unfortunately, not reflective of our own high standards. Nonetheless, we appreciate your comments and on a positive note thank you for your compliment about the food and our associates.

Best regards,

Suman Shrestha
Director of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    739
    468
    145
    42
    28
See reviews for
246
404
138
325
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights on our tour of India and Nepal. The hotel is excellent and, using the rear entrance, its only a short walk to the Stupa. The gardens are very extensive and well maintained and the pool looked lovely although we didn't try it. The staff are very helpful and friendly. The rooms are a good size and the bathrooms are first rate, especially the standalone shower. The morning and evening buffet food is good, as is the a la carte menu. But its a little on the expensive side compared to other hotels where we stayed on our tour. And the restaurant can get very busy when the hotel is full, which it was during our stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JDB44R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt Regency K, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Kathmandu, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to share your feedback post your stay with us. I am glad that you enjoyed many elements of your stay such as the friendly and helpful staff, the spacious room, bathroom and your culinary experience. Indeed we are grateful to be in walking distance to the UNESCO heritage site, Boudhanath Stupa.

Thank you once again indeed and we very much look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!

Best regards,

Patrick Iserlohe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
54 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

Nice reception. Superior rooms lovely with good view of stupa. . Pool nice with lots of monks about. Yes monks not monkeys! Although we did see a mongoose. . Good gym with nice interesting outside running area. Good range of equipment, well maintained and very clean. Always an attendant present. Good variety in breakfast buffet, try the yaks cheese its lovely. Bar very nice with great snacks on menu. In fact we never made it to the restaurant because of them. If you go to the bar learn to play the game, bagh chal. The bar staff are great and will show you how. Location a little out of the way but has a shuttle bus. Rooms were ready very quickly after our early arrival which was very welcome after a night flight. So thanks for that. Takes 3 pin plugs.
If you're looking for a tour company when you get there try Royal Mountain - very safe and professional. Ask for Buddi and tell him Julie and Dave sent you.

Room Tip: ask for a stupa view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank veggie2urist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt Regency K, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Kathmandu, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comment and the time you have taken to write about your experience in our hotel along with its facilities. We are happy to read you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you once again and we are looking forward to serve you again in the not too distant future.

Best regards,

Patrick Iserlohe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

I didn't stay at the Hyatt for cost reasons, but I made it a point to have a long, leisurely, very affordable Sunday brunch here.

My MO when traveling is to live like the locals - and on the last day, escape to a luxurious, touristy spot. The food here was my escape of choice, and it was delicious. Well worth it.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank sri108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt Regency K, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Kathmandu, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words of appreciation. I am glad you enjoyed our Sunday brunch and took the time mentioning the same on tripadvisor.

We look forward to the pleasure of your next visit where you can enjoy staying with us.

Best regards,

Patrick Iserlohe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
85 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

Stayed at Hyatt Regency in January 1014 while on a business trip to Nepal. This has to be the best property to stay while in Kathmandu. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. Giant bathroom too. Loved their Masala Chai. That's not to be missed.
The staff is friendly and nice. Will definitely stay here on my next visit.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gautzhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt Regency K, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Kathmandu, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words.

We are looking forward to welcoming you upon your return on your next visit. Please do not hesitate to let us know when you return and we shall have some Masala Tea waiting for you.

Best Regards
Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

This hotel is in a very good location, a short walk from the Boudhanath Stupa and whilst very close to the hustle and bustle of the city it is set back in an enormous garden making it a tranquil heaven amidst the chaos of Kathmandu! The other main attractions in the city are a bit further afield, but as the taxis are very inexpensive it isn't a problem.
Our check in at the club was smooth and we were taken to our Club Deluxe King room. The bedroom was spacious, the bathroom very big and both had doors to a huge terrace with superb views of the Boudhanath Stupa; In fact we could see the Stupa from both our bed and the bath! The rain shower was very powerful; the air conditioning system very effective and our room was kept very clean throughout our stay. The Wi-Fi was included in the rate and seemed to be just fine.
The food served at evening hors d'oeuvres was fresh, varied and had enough choice for vegetarians, their orange juice was also very fresh and the Staff at the Club were very attentive. The breakfast buffet was very good, offering a wide variety of freshly baked breads, pastries, fruit, juices, cold meats, cheeses and much more. We can’t fault the variety and food quality served at this hotel.
The Staff at the Club and throughout the hotel were very friendly, efficient and always willing to help, they always delivered their service with a smile!
We would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Room 701 has a huge terrace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tamara-Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt Regency K, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Kathmandu, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much indeed for your kind comment and the time you have taken to write the same. All comments we receive are being shared and it is a compliment you extended to all associates of the hotel. We shall continue to strive to make a positive difference to our guests and hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Best Regards
Patrick Iserlohe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

If you are looking for a lavish property in ktm, away from city's pollution and dirt, Hyatt is the answer.
Room size & spa facility are nice. Chef at breakfast is too courteous, cooked special meal for my lil kid.
The only let down is the hotel's casino STAR, which is on the verge of closing permanently due to cash crunch. Thus, if you are planning your stay in ktm only for casino, i would suggest hotel crowne plaza soaltee for its casino MAHAJONG. its the best !

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank garGaurav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt Regency K, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Kathmandu, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time commenting on Tripadvisor.

Indeed, we are fortunate to be away from the city and have the spacious grounds to escape some of Kathmandu’s pollution. Our culinary brigade will be happy that their efforts are recognized and trust we all shall continue with our individual and thus personalized service.
Kindly note, the casino on the hotel’s premises is independently managed locally, and unfortunately their services differ from Hyatt Regency Kathmandu.

Personally I hope to welcome you to our hotel in the not too distant future once again.

Best regards
Patrick Iserlohe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
1.5 mi away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#7 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Hotel Yak & Yeti
#42 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,018 reviews
2.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
#57 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
#18 of 194 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
0.6 mi away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#4 of 194 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Shambala
Hotel Shambala
#21 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Kathmandu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Kathmandu

Property: Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Address: | Taragaon, Boudha, Kathmandu 459, Nepal
Phone Number:
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#7 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
#8 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
#9 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
#9 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Regency Kathmandu 5*
Number of rooms: 280
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation and Agoda so you can book your Hyatt Regency Kathmandu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu Hotel Kathmandu
Hyatt Kathmandu
Kathmandu Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing