We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Choice in Kathmandu”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Ranked #31 of 210 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 28, 2014

The exterior and grounds of this hotel were beautiful. We found it to be a good base for exploring the Kathmandu Valley.

We dined at The Café and The Rox and found both restaurants to be excellent - great food, hygienic, and polished service. We were guests of the hotel for 4 days, ate 2 meals a day here, and had no problems.

We booked our private tours and private airport transportation with a guide named Kumar Dahal. I found Kumar to be prompt, reliable, educated, interesting, and was able to provide safe transportation. I felt Kumar was an excellent private guide.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luxury1Georgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt Regency K, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Kathmandu, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Great to read you enjoyed Hyatt Regency Kathmandu. We are delighted you had such a pleasant stay with us and it is encouraging for all associates to ensure that all our guests can experience the same.

With much gratitude we thank you again for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to send your comments. Hope to welcome you in the not too distant future.


Best regards,

Patrick Iserlohe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,647)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

832 - 838 of 1,647 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2014

The location is a little off but the hotel in itself is really nice and pretty. The service is also quite good and typical of all Hyatt properties. However, the food was very disappointing - most of us had some stomach issue after eating there.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnirudhKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt Regency K, Director of Marketing at Hyatt Regency Kathmandu, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. Your positive comment about the hotel and the service is highly appreciable.

However it was concerning to note that the quality of food did not meet your expectations, please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused. I would appreciate if you could send me the details for us to review if possible. You could write to me at suman.shrestha@hyatt.com.

Thank you for sharing your inputs and it will be our endeavor to ensure we maintain hygiene and guest satisfaction of the highest level.

Best regards,

Suman Shrestha
Director of Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We were so glad we booked the Hyatt for our 1 night before the Everest Base Camp trek and 2 nights afterwards. After the long trek it was so nice to be welcomed back to a little bit of luxury! The breakfasts were fantastic, service great and Club Lounge evening canapes superb. In many hotels the Club Lounge access is a complete waste of money, but this one is definitely worthwhile.

It's a Regency range, so don't expect the level of a Park Hyatt, but absolutely no complaints from me.

Location is a bit of a way out of town but taxis are inexpensive and easy to flag so it wasn't any inconvenience for us.
Also an easy 10 minute stroll from the Boudhanath Stupa which is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gabrielle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt Regency K, Director of Marketing at Hyatt Regency Kathmandu, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. I do hope you had a memorable experience at the Everest Base Camp. We at the hotel appreciate your positive inputs on our services and facilities . Our first priority is to make our guest comfortable so it is a real pleasure to read how much you like the Club Lounge services. The hotel is fortunate to be located in such close proximity to the UNESCO heritage site of Boudhanath Stupa as it makes travel for our guests to explore Kathmandu more accessible.

We do hope we can have the opportunity to welcoming you back to Nepal for your next expedition.

Best regards,

Suman Shrestha
Director of Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

The hotel is nice but very boring. Good to stay for one or two nights. The food is average and nothing special. The hotel is very expensive in Kathmandu standard. The service is good.

Recommended hotel if you are using Kathmandu as a stop over or if you want a clean area to sleep. You cant go wrong with Hyatt

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emirates_Arab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

The hotel is quite good. Coming from the chain of Hyatt group of hotels it lives up to the expectations. The property is huge and the rooms are very good. The seminar halls are quite good. The casino, Casino star is a good entertainment option. But it is a little far from the city area.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aayush_Bagla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt Regency K, Director of Marketing at Hyatt Regency Kathmandu, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience post your recent stay with us. We are happy to note that the hotel’s facilities, event venues and entertainment offered were to your expectation. As you have stated, we are definitely away from the city center as we are only 5 km away from the main area, however we as a hotel do offer complimentary shuttle service to the main city areas six times a day to our guests.

Thank you once again for your valuable inputs and we look forward to your return visit.

Best regards,


Suman Shrestha
Director of Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We attended the annual Forum of Lions Clubs International at this hotel. The property has good elevation. Nice views all around. Good swimming pools. Well decorated lobbies and outdoors with sculptures...Good seminar rooms..Neat and well planned guest rooms, health club, lobbies. The buffet at breakfast was very good. But the food at lunch and dinner times on all the 3 days was just passable. The staff was was cooperative and well trained, well behaved.

Room Tip: Prefer upper floors, though pools are on lower levels
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DGLION
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt Regency K, Director of Marketing at Hyatt Regency Kathmandu, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Dear Guest,

It was our honor to be part of the 41st ISAAME Forum which was held in our hotel and our pleasure to have the Lion’s leadership team including the International President as our guests. Appreciate the feedback shared in regards to your experience for the event and I have noted your inputs on the meals. We shall definitely take them into consideration for such large events where we are having to cater to over two thousand guests per meal.

Best regards,

Suman Shrestha
Director of Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

The hotel is situated close to the hotel but faraway from city center, the room is spacious and clean, the bed is good, the bathrooms are clean and tidy, service is good. The buffet dinner in the cafe was pathetic and tasteless. The environment and interior of the hotel is very good, the staffs were courteous and properly dressed, there is a casino also in the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank manishberiwala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt Regency K, Director of Marketing at Hyatt Regency Kathmandu, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. Though the hotel is far from the city center , it does offer a serene and tranquil environment for our guests. We also have city shuttle service (drop only) six times a day to our guests looking to go down town.


Furthermore we are happy to know about your positive experience about the hotel facilities and services. We pride ourselves on our friendly staff, so it is always great to hear that they were able to provide helpful and courteous service to you. However we are concerned to note that you did not like the dinner options we had at one of our outlets The Café. May I request if possible to share the details for us to review them? You could contact me at suman.shrestha@hyatt.com.


Best regards,

Suman Shrestha
Director of Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
1.3 mi away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#12 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,124 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Hotel Yak & Yeti
#55 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,237 reviews
2.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
#67 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
#93 of 210 in Kathmandu
500 reviews
2.7 mi away
Baber Mahal Vilas The Boutique Hotel
2.1 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#40 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Kathmandu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Kathmandu

Address: | Taragaon, Boudha, Kathmandu 9609, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#7 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
#7 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
#9 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
#9 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range: $132 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Regency Kathmandu 5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu is a 5 star luxury hotel and resort in Kathmandu and is set on 37 acres of landscaped grounds, created in the traditional Newari style of Nepalese architecture. This beautiful hotel and resort is located on the road to the Boudhanath Stupa: the most holy of all Tibetan Buddhist shrines outside of Tibet, and a UNESCO World Heritage Site which is 5 minutes walk from the hotel. The hotel is just 4 km (2.4 miles) from the Tribhuvan International Airport and 6 km (3.7 miles) from the city center of Kathmandu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Prestigia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Kathmandu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu Hotel Kathmandu
Hyatt Kathmandu
Kathmandu Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing