We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Haven after 3 star hotels”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Ranked #32 of 207 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 31, 2013

A world class hotel with an expected standard which it delivered. The rooms were generous, clean spacious bathrooms and nice goodies. We stayed on the Club floor, it was wonderful , great drinks, tasty food with big windows , portals into the surrounding neighbours and Stupas.

Staff were helpful and accomodating, the hotel bus downtown was appreciated.

Location wise , it is out of the noise and traffic , actually a quite haven after lots of travelling.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaudiArabia1002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt Regency K, Director of Marketing at Hyatt Regency Kathmandu, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive review. At Hyatt we take pride in the services we offer and your recognition motivates us to strive harder for excellence. It is indeed very heartening to know that you have had a memorable experience and that you enjoyed the overall services and the ambience of the hotel.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back at our hotel for another relaxing stay.

Best regards,

Suman Shrestha
Director of Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,607)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

809 - 815 of 1,607 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2013

Came to the hotel with a travel group. Was a great hotel. Chef was very accomodating to my diet. I dont like Indian food but they had excellent pan friend trout. One night I wasnt feeling well and I ordered soup. I didnt like it as it was very salty. I didnt complain as it was just a matter of taste. When I tried to pay my bill they asked me why I didnt eat the soup.I explained and they wanted to get me something else. I mentioned i wasnt feeling well and I really wasnt inthe mood to order something else. They were so nice . They adjusted my bill and deduted the soup. I was very impressed. the next day the chef came over to me to see if I liked my order for that night. was very nice of him. Rooms were clean and spacious. Oh, great spa. Had a fantastic massage.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindac1104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt Regency K, Director of Marketing at Hyatt Regency Kathmandu, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience about your stay with us and I do hope this revert finds you in the best of health. We shall definitely share your positive feedback on our associates willingness to assist you when you were sick and on the treatment you had at our spa.

Furthermore your comment about your dietary requirement is noted and it is our endeavor as a hotel to ensure we are able to cater to all guests from around the world. Happy to know the pan fried trout was appreciated.

Once again thank you for your positive feedback and I do hope we can have the opportunity to serve you in one of our Hyatt hotels soon.

Best regards,

Suman Shrestha
Director of Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We stayed on points and were not disappointed. How this is a Cat 1 is beyond me. just beautiful hotel and amazing staff. Breakfast was great. Very safe to walk to the Stupta and around the general neighborhood. This is the nicest hotel in Kathmandu but apparently a new Marriott will be opened in a year or so. Would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PDXmilespoints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

It was supposed to be at the Hyatt on the day of the election but there was no transport. I contacted to ask if they could help, what a surprise to find not only could they not help but were rude as well. Eventually the bell boy at the hotel I had stayed at carried my bag and guided me through the back way to the Hyatt a 30 min walk. We arrived at the back entrance to be told to walk over another mile to get to the front door. Luckily he argued with security and persuaded them to let us in. When I got to the front desk again I met the same off hand manner no help with my bags just given the key ang pointed to the lifts. the Resturant manged to get me the wrong meal but by this stage I was beyond arguing . Considering everywhere else I travelled in Nepal the staff and service couldn't do enough to help I would suggest you look to another hotel if you want service.

Room Tip: Choose another 5 star if you must
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clarky57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

Firstly it's close to the airport and about 5 km from the city which can take you a long while given the traffic conditions there . The restaurants are nothing great and so was the bar. Choices are few but the service very attentive. Little to do in the evenings once you are back. There is a casino attached to the hotel which was rather small and deserted at least when I went to take a look. The biggest negative of the place was the internet. Very slow and good enough just to surf wave pages . Though they call it high speed and charge usd 15 per day a speed test revealed less than 100 Kbps . So forget any work uses of the Internet. The car service is outsourced and pricing is not standardized I paid 9000 npr on day one for going outside Kathmandu but the next day my colleague got one for 600 npr per hour but inside Kathmandu . The difference is rather large I thought . For a very strange reason they refuse to change 500 inr notes to npr though the casino is happy to change. It's better to change inr in Nepal rather than usd given npr is fixed at 1.6 to inr. Usd rates are all over and rather expensive.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Bluessp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

With brand name like Hyatt, its not worth. It is close to airport but away from main area Durbar Marg. Hotel amenities are old and not as expected. There is no escorting to room when you check even though you are staying in Suite or Club room. During our checkin our bed side light was not working and during our stay room phone stopped working. Buffy breakfast was good and Regency Club lounge is good if you are staying in club room/suite. Toilet size is good in Club Rooms.

Room Tip: Club room facing swimming pools are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sanjay1905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt Regency K, Director of Marketing at Hyatt Regency Kathmandu, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor and on our hotel’s own feedback survey. As reverted to you earlier we do apologize for the service issues you encountered during your stay. We shall definitely look to work on implementing your suggestions on our survey and also happy to know that you liked our breakfast offering at our Regency Club Lounge.

We do hope we will have the opportunity to have you stay with us on your next visit to Kathmandu and do look forward to making the experience a pleasant one.

With best regards,

Suman Shrestha
Director of Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

I stayed at Hyatt Regency, Kathmandu for 2 nights in mid December for business visit. Palace style architect, huge lawns, good choice of menu, scenic location and proximity to airport are key factors. It's a good place to stay if you looking to stay away from chaotic Kathmandu. Folks who are looking for modern facility may be disappointed but frankly speaking the old look of the hotel has it's own charm.

Watching sunrise every morning from the room's window was an experience of it's kind.

Transport to popular places such as Thamel (market with local shops and pubs), King's Palace, Pashupati Nath temple, etc are easily available at the rate of USD 6/hour.

If i ever have to travel to Kathmandu again, this property will be my first choice.

Rating: 4.5/5

Room Tip: Since the hotel in in valley, therefore all the room's got good view of Himalayas. You may opt t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jainnitin1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt Regency K, Director of Marketing at Hyatt Regency Kathmandu, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on our hotel. As a hotel located on nearly 37 acres of landscaped gardens we do feel privileged to offer our guests the serenity that is wanting in the current day chaotic Kathmandu as you have stated. With such scenic locale where we overlook Boudhanath Stupa, one of the UNESCO World Heritage sites in Kathmandu and a weather which is very pleasant, a sunrise as you have explained can be a very pleasant experience.
We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and we do look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards,

Suman Shrestha
Director of Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
2.5 mi away
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Hotel Yak & Yeti
#49 of 207 in Kathmandu
1,184 reviews
1.5 mi away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#12 of 207 in Kathmandu
1,110 reviews
2.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
#67 of 207 in Kathmandu
1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
#89 of 207 in Kathmandu
490 reviews
0.6 mi away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#5 of 207 in Kathmandu
457 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Shambala
Hotel Shambala
#26 of 207 in Kathmandu
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Kathmandu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Kathmandu

Address: | Taragaon, Boudha, Kathmandu 459, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#7 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
#8 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
#9 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
#9 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range: $160 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Regency Kathmandu 5*
Number of rooms: 280
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Prestigia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Kathmandu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu Hotel Kathmandu
Hyatt Kathmandu
Kathmandu Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing