We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“truly an oasis of calm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Ranked #32 of 207 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 23, 2013

excellent customer service throughout, excellent accomodation in beautiful private grounds. extremely comfortable furniture. Wonderful food several different restaurants and bars.
If you're room only I recommend taking the breakfast.
Excellent rates off season, always worth asking for a discount.
Ask for a room with a view of the Stupa, beautiful.

Room Tip: ask for a Stupa view and a discount
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt Regency K, Director of Marketing at Hyatt Regency Kathmandu, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on our hotel post your stay with us. It is our pleasure to know that we were able to meet your expectation.

Should you plan a return trip we would be happy to welcome you back.

Best regards,

Suman Shrestha
Director of Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,607)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

832 - 838 of 1,607 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2013

The hotel is set away from the hustle and bustle of central Kathmandu and is beautifully finished with traditional Nepali architecture. The food was excellent and featured dishes from all around the world, the head chef even introduced himself to us one evening and spoke to us several times throughout our stay to ensure we were enjoying our food. The rooms were clean and spacious. The staff are exceptional, I've stayed in numerous 5 star hotels around the world but the service of the staff in this hotel is second to none. You will not find better service anywhere!
I've stayed at this hotel 3 times and would not think of staying elsewhere when visiting Kathmandu.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ayeishar2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt Regency K, Director of Marketing at Hyatt Regency Kathmandu, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Dear Guest,

It is our pleasure to have had the opportunity to be the hotel of choice during your visits to Kathmandu. Thank you for your patronage and positive comments about our hotel’s facilities and the service extended by our associates. We shall definitely share the comments on how you enjoyed the interaction with our Chef and glad to know that as a guest you felt appreciated.

It is our effort as a hotel to engage with our guests and patrons like yourself so that we are able to ensure that all our guests have a positive experience during their stay in Kathmandu.

I do hope we can look forward to welcoming you back in person soon.

Best regards

Suman Shrestha
Director of Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

This hotel has to rank among the best we have stayed at! The staff are really welcoming and nothing is too much effort in their goal of making your stay memorable. The hotel itself is inviting and the rooms are lovely and spacious with really nice en-suite facilities. Our room had a walkin shower and a bath, as well as the other usual figments.

The food is of a high quality and the choice extensive. Breakfast is a truly wonder ours experience, with probably everything you will ever want to eat! This is not to be missed.

The hotel is convenient for the airport, which is especially nice if you are up early for your Everest experience. This hotel is heartily recommended.

Room Tip: The hotel is well away from the traffic, so all the rooms are fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt Regency K, Director of Marketing at Hyatt Regency Kathmandu, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your hearty recommendation of our hotel and its services. We do feel privileged to have made your stay in Kathmandu a memorable one. As a hotel our effort is to try create an experience which will make a guest happy and in your case we seem to have succeeded – thank you once again for the positive comments and does give us as a team the will to continue in our effort to have happy guests.

I do hope we can have the opportunity to welcoming you back to Hyatt soon.

Best regards

Suman Shrestha
Director of Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

The hotel is set in its own grounds close to the Airport and several temples, which is just as well since the smog levels in Khatmandu are as bad as Beijing. The entrance to the hotel is amazing and is relaxing. The rooms are what you would expect from a Hyatt but the tv is an old, small CRT and the rooms were dusty with grime in places - not what you expect. My room key did not work properly and it took 3 requests and 3 days to fix. My colleague had a problem with his sink, which again took several days to get fixed. Again, not really acceptable.
There is a wide choice at breakfast, but it is a case of quantity not quality - the cut fruit was shrivelling etc
Having said that, the staff were friendly and it is probably the best hotel in town and a smog free oasis

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt Regency K, Director of Marketing at Hyatt Regency Kathmandu, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to give us your inputs post your stay with us.

I would like to apologize for the service issues you had to encounter in regards to room condition, issues with room key, bathroom for your colleague and quality of fruits at breakfast. We shall definitely look into these feedback positive and ensure we work towards offering our services of the highest standards and as mentioned by you, these are “not really acceptable” from a hotel like us.

Thank you for your positive comments on the hotel and its facilities. The hotel nestled on 37 acres of landscaped gardens does give the ambiance of peace and tranquility in a hustling and bustling Kathmandu which is affected by smog of late. Furthermore your feedback on our associates being friendly shall be shared with all and we shall definitely strive to consistently acknowledge and ensure we have a happy guests when they depart.

Best regards,

Suman Shrestha
Director of Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

The hotel is set away from the maddening crowd in the midst of acres of very well maintained lawns and grounds. The architecture is wonderful, keeping in mind the tradition nepali design. The hotel amenities are very good, rooms and bathrooms are large with modern amenities. The food is good with variety from different types of cuisines. The hotel is walking distance from the Boudhanath Stupa, which makes for a lovely walk. Once at the stupa, it feels tranquil and peaceful despite the hustle and bustle of the bazaar. The exit is from the back of the hotel. The only downside of the hotel is that the sound proofing of the room walls is not very good and sound carries which can be very disturbing.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank soulcity14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt Regency K, Director of Marketing at Hyatt Regency Kathmandu, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your positive feedback about our hotel, its facilities and the vicinity the hotel is located in – it is truly very tranquil and relaxing which our guests appreciate.

Furthermore I have noted your feedback on the issue with noise, please do accept our apologize for any inconvenience caused we shall definitely review how we may be able to minimize it if not mitigate it completely immediately.

Appreciate your feedback and we do look forward to welcome you back soon!

Best regards,

Suman Shrestha
Director of Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We stayed the last 2 nites of our Nepal vacation here. Having stayed in 3 other places during the trip this one was different. Security guards at the gate, acres of well maintained grounds, typical very good first class chain hotel amenities, rooms, and staff. However staying here felt different in that you are isolated and lack the KTM experience on such a large property. We could have been at a Hyatt anywhere. They seemed to cater to business groups. I felt like I was back in the States and needing to check email, and not on vacation half way round the world.
That said, if I were on a business trip, this would be my place to stay. There is a very small casino adjoining which caters to a certain gambling crowd. The hotel had a very good variety of food I thought, again a top notch chain hotel.
Gary in USA

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank TravellerGary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt Regency K, Director of Marketing at Hyatt Regency Kathmandu, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for you giving us your feedback post your stay with us. We do appreciate your positive note on our hotel and its facilities being “top notch” and to your liking.

The hotel itself like you mentioned is an oasis in itself with it being nestled on 37 acres of landscaped gardens and overlooking the Boudhanath Stupa, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Even though we are just 4 km away from the airport and 5 km from the city centre, the tranquil environment we have created with our hotel architecture and ambiance does give our guest a sense of isolation from the hustle and bustle that Kathmandu is now known to be. Our architecture has tried to reflect many facets of Nepalese culture and the “Chaitya Court” in the centre of our lobby is an example. Please find a link to the video on its history for your information (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ebev0pmy5wg)

I do hope we can have the opportunity to welcoming you back to Kathmandu and our hotel soon.
memorable and comfortable.

Best regards,

Suman Shrestha
Director of Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Having arrived from London via Doha, the room was overlooking the Stupa ( Room 549 on arrival and 519 on return a week later) with a large bathroom and one of the largest baths to luxuriate in I have ever seen in an hotel. We needed that after the long overnight flights. The staff were exceptionally friendly and the Café is open all the day for a la carte meals. This is useful if you do a full day sightseeing and come back at 3.15pm wondering if you can get a meal- the answer is yes. The swimming pool is unheated, but the Jacuzzi is nice and warm. it is 20 minutes from the airport ( potholes and traffic permitting).
Everyone told us that we could not check-in online with Qatar Airways in Kathmandu. This is not so and we did it from the hotel business centre in 4 minutes- including the Doha-London sector, and printed the boarding passes.
Food generally is expensive as there is a 10% service charge and a 13% Government tax on top- so when you look at the price of any food on a menu ad 25%. This is not just for the hotel here, but throughout Nepal.

Room Tip: Ask for one facing the Stupa- and with a bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oilmanDorset_U_K_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt Regency K, Director of Marketing at Hyatt Regency Kathmandu, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback post your stay with us. We are glad to know that you had a pleasant experience with our facilities at the hotel. Do hope you had positive memories to take home and should you plan a return trip we would be happy to welcome you back.

Warm regards,

Suman Shrestha
Director of Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
2.5 mi away
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Hotel Yak & Yeti
#49 of 207 in Kathmandu
1,184 reviews
1.5 mi away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#12 of 207 in Kathmandu
1,110 reviews
2.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
#67 of 207 in Kathmandu
1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
#89 of 207 in Kathmandu
490 reviews
0.6 mi away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#5 of 207 in Kathmandu
457 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Shambala
Hotel Shambala
#26 of 207 in Kathmandu
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Kathmandu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Kathmandu

Address: | Taragaon, Boudha, Kathmandu 459, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#7 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
#8 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
#9 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
#9 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range: $160 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Regency Kathmandu 5*
Number of rooms: 280
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Prestigia, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Kathmandu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu Hotel Kathmandu
Hyatt Kathmandu
Kathmandu Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing