We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the Finest Places to stay in Kathmandu”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Ranked #31 of 210 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 10, 2013

I happened to stay here for one of my business conferences. The property is spread over a vast area, not very far from the Airport. The traditional welcome is a good experience.Most of the rooms have excellent views like either the swimming pool & garden view or the garden & water fountain view. Mine was on third floor with water fountain & pond view which was very soothing & relaxing especially in the morning. The hotel has got excellent swimming pool with a kids pool & an open Jacuzzi. The Rox bar on the ground floor is excellent. The staff of the hotel restaurant "The Cafe" was very courteous & helpful. The Room service was also quick & efficient.
Now few thing which took away the fifth star from my ratings: The carpets & the upholstery of the back rests in the rooms were looking old & unclean. Similarly the carpet in the lobby was also looking old. There was old style TV instead of LCD in the room with choice of limited channels. There were frequent power cuts & power back up was there but the change over was not smooth & it used to take few seconds to minutes for the changeover. The bed mattress quality was not that good, in fact I had backchat due to it. Could not visit the spa as could not get an appointment as there were no empty slots.
But overall our stay was a nice experience & will definitley stay there again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank remo2000in
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt Regency K, Director of Marketing at Hyatt Regency Kathmandu, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to give us your feedback post your stay with us. We are happy to know how the facilities and the hotel surrounding appealed to your general well being. Furthermore your interaction with our staff will be shared with them and we are pleased to note that you found them courteous, helpful and efficient.

Coming to your inputs on the state of the hotel, TVs currently being used and spa slots, thank you for sharing these and we shall definitely look to them as areas of improvement and shall work on them. As for the power situation in the hotel and the city at large, unfortunately Kathmandu suffers from acute power shortage and we as a hotel have to heavily rely on generators to support our needs. Power cuts in Kathmandu are frequent and sometimes not planned thus our power back-up system usually takes between 8 to 12 seconds to come on. We do apologies for this in-convenience caused.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to Kathmandu and our hotel soon.

Best regards,

Suman Shrestha
Director of Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,629)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

884 - 890 of 1,629 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2013

Have a family trip. It was really good for family holidays. The architecture of this hotel is beautiful. Traditional warm welcome make the trip memorable.
It's located in a nice place and far from the crowd. The communication with city center or Thames is not that good but the hotel has its own shuttle service to drop to Thames and few more places. One day we took it but when we return it was late and we had problem to reach there by taxi. Difficult to get a taxi driver at night.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shamshad J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt Regency K, Director of Marketing at Hyatt Regency Kathmandu, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. It was nice to read how much you and your family enjoyed your recent stay in our hotel

I have noted your comments with regards to the taxi services and would like to highlight that in Kathmandu it is a challenge to find taxis late at night. Hence we do encourage our guest to make reservation with our concierge in advance.

Best regards,

Suman Shrestha
Director of Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed at the Hyatt for three nights following our trip to the Everest. The hotel is an oasis in the chaos of Kathmandu. Rooms are large and comfortable and I disagree with other reviewers that say that it looks tired. I found our room clean, well kept and comfortable. The lobby is impressive, the balcony overseeing the gardens and the pool is perfect for an evening drink. The swimming pool is a great place to relax. Breakfast is delicious with a wide selection of items and very good quality, particularly the Indian specialties which are changed daily
The hotel is located close to the Boudhanat Stupa, which means that there are several decent restaurants within walking distance of the hotel
We visited friends who were staying in one of the hotels ranked as top three by Trip Advisor and the Hyatt was clearly superior in everything from the room to the common areas
I don't understand how this hotel can rank 19 among the hotels in Kathmandu. It should be one of the top three

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Braziliantraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt Regency K, Director of Marketing at Hyatt Regency Kathmandu, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback post your stay with us. We are delighted to know that we were able to make your visit to Nepal and Everest a memorable one. We as a hotel do pride ourselves in our service delivery and our product and such comments as yours does make the moment worthwhile – thank you very much!

The ranking of the hotel as you have stated is something which is ever changing and with your positive inputs we shall definitely strive to reach the top, however you considering us amongst the top three is a tremendous source of inspiration for us to be proud of and shall definitely share with the entire hotel.

We do hope we can have the opportunity to welcoming you back in the near future.


Best regards,

Suman Shrestha
Director of Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed three nights in August, 2013. Staff were a 10. Very attentive and helpful with every request. The 5th floor shows some wear but overall the hotel facilities and amenities exceeded our expectations. Will stay at this hotel in the future. Fifteen minutes from the airport in even difficult traffic. Do not miss the buffet. Excellent and broad selection of local and international cuisine.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark3501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt Regency K, Director of Marketing at Hyatt Regency Kathmandu, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for your positive comments on the hotel and our associates who were instrumental in making your stay memorable . It is truly through such feedback that we strive to achieve a level of excellence which we as a hotel are proud of. Furthermore we have noted your feedback on our buffet selection and happy to know that you enjoyed it. Likewise your inputs on the hotel facilities needing up gradation will be looked into so that we are able to prove your words “exceed our guest’s expectations”.

We do hope we will have the opportunity to welcoming you back to Kathmandu and our hotel.

Best regards,

Suman Shrestha
Director of Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

This Hyatt is unlike any other Hyatt I visited, really built following the local religious architecture oof the Hindus. Tne service is really attentive, they provide all information one ask and much more sicne they can also arrange individual tours. Kathmandu is very interesting city but chaotic and tiring, I suggest to have someone expert planning all your logistics. Breakfast was really good and plentiful, the swimming pool area big and well laid out. A great stay all in all

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matias C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt Regency K, Director of Marketing at Hyatt Regency Kathmandu, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. I am delighted to know that you had a great stay with us and we were able to deliver to you the Hyatt service standards we pride ourselves on.

We look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Best regards,

Suman Shrestha
Director of Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Hayatt Regency was THE hotel for us, it is so relaxant, spacious and clean. The rooms are quite spacious and has everything you need. the staff are very smiley and helpful. The food and drinks are just superb.
If you have some time make sure to treat yourself for a massage the SPA is just perfect.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZeinaA_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt Regency K, Director of Marketing at Hyatt Regency Kathmandu, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback about your experience of our hotel and its services. We are happy to know that we were able to make your stay with us memorable.

Looking forward to the opportunity to welcoming you back soon and continuing on our efforts to make us your choice of hotel when in town.

Best regards,

Suman Shrestha
Director of Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

The name Hyatt has already said it all. I've been frequenting this hotel since 2003 and it still looks the same, being enchanted by the tantric music at the reception area with the presence of miniaturized stupa showpieces in the centre of the hotel lobby. The rooms are simple & spacious but now looks older and with exception to some rooms / wardrobes have the stench of mildew. The hotel is still not upgrading the rooms with high technology appliances such as LED TVs. It only had a 29" Philips CRT TV which was already here when I visit 10 years ago. Breakfast is very simple, not much of choice is you're a meat lover. The Rox Bar & Restaurant is a must try although a bit pricey. But what the heck, if u can pay for a room night at Hyatt, what's to complain about for the dining costs?
Very close to hike by 5 minutes to Boudhanath Stupa. Location is nearer to airport compared to hotels around Durbar square. Not much of activities nearby except patronize the hotel casino or strolling around Boudhanath or go golfing at Gokharna Golf Club, the best in Kathmandu (over-rated course but cheap - plenty of fresh deer droppings on the fairway).
The hotel building is about 250m from the main entrance gate & this is why it is very serene and has lesser noise & air / dust pollution from the outside. Good for people needing a good night's sleep. Good security within and friendly hotel staffs overall.

Room Tip: Always get the Pool View which can also get the view of Boudhanath Stupa. Always ask for 4th floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yap W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt Regency K, Director of Marketing at Hyatt Regency Kathmandu, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your patronage of our hotel and its services since your stay with us since 2003. We do feel privileged to have your valuable comments for us to look at areas of improvement especially since you have seen the hotel evolve over the years. Your inputs on hotel upkeep, upgrades and review on menu options shall definitely be looked into.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to Kathmandu and the serene environment that we as a hotel offer.


Best regards,
Suman Shrestha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
2.3 mi away
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Hotel Yak & Yeti
#52 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,220 reviews
1.3 mi away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#11 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,117 reviews
2.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
#66 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
#91 of 210 in Kathmandu
499 reviews
2.7 mi away
Baber Mahal Vilas The Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tibet International
Hotel Tibet International
#21 of 210 in Kathmandu
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Kathmandu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Kathmandu

Address: | Taragaon, Boudha, Kathmandu 9609, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#7 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
#8 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
#8 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
#9 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range: $145 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Regency Kathmandu 5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu is a 5 star luxury hotel and resort in Kathmandu and is set on 37 acres of landscaped grounds, created in the traditional Newari style of Nepalese architecture. This beautiful hotel and resort is located on the road to the Boudhanath Stupa: the most holy of all Tibetan Buddhist shrines outside of Tibet, and a UNESCO World Heritage Site which is 5 minutes walk from the hotel. The hotel is just 4 km (2.4 miles) from the Tribhuvan International Airport and 6 km (3.7 miles) from the city center of Kathmandu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Prestigia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hyatt Regency Kathmandu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu Hotel Kathmandu
Hyatt Kathmandu
Kathmandu Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing