We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful oasis in a busy city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Ranked #33 of 193 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful oasis in a busy city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

We had never been to Nepal before and given that we have a 5 1/2 year old, we wanted to take it slow. We made the right decision. The Hyatt was an oasis in a city of millions which -- though it was festival season -- was still full of crazy traffic and dust (they have torn up the roads to expand them but until they actually cover them with asphalt the dust makes it hard to breathe). The Hyatt was restful, clean, friendly, and the pool and gardens gave us a sense of calm. We never had to worry about water and food. The spa was great, I had a wonderfully relaxing massage! It was 2 minutes from one of the most beautiful stupas the Boudhanath Stupa where we began our journey through the important sights around the Katmandu Valley. The staff of the hotel was friendly and efficient, the rooms large and clean and the Musicians that played every night were divine. Take the time to sit and listen to them. They are extraordinary. Overall, I strongly recommend this hotel especially to those who have never been in that part of the world before and value the amenities.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SophiaK1408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    756
    475
    146
    43
    28
See reviews for
257
410
140
330
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
darmstadt
Level Contributor
271 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

The Hyatt is a good choice for a KTM hotel. It is not on par with Hyatt Regency hotels in Europe, but which KTM hotel is? Location far away from the city center can be a bit cumbersome, especially given the KTM traffic. On the other hand one can walk over to the Baudanath stupa, which is a plus. The hotel is situated in a large well manicured park and has a nice large outdoor pool. The staff was always friendly and attentive, tried very hard to please. The room at the Club level was large, clean, had a nice big bathroom and a great view of the stupa. The restaurants were not to my liking - the cafe had the charm of a airport waiting hall and the other restaurant was quite dark and stuffy. The menues were not very varied. The best bet as food goes was indian dishes which were tasty.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weinweber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
983 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,046 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Located close to airport, on beautiful grounds, this hotel is pretty basic by international standards (room, food, facilities are like a good three-star). Service is
attentive. Given the general low quality of hotels in Kath (save for the exceptional Dwarika's), it is a good bet.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lam N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

This was my second stay here and this time for 11 days. It sits overlooking the famous Boudhanath Stupa, and I had lovely Stupa views from my room. The rooms are very large and clean with a beautiful marble bathroom.
The food is lovely here, the breakfast is a wonderful selection of cereals, fresh fruit, Indian breakfasts dishes, continental and of course a wonderful cooked breakfast with eggs to order. Just one little thing here, if it's busy at breakfast ordering fresh cooked eggs can take up to 15 minutes as they only have one chef cooking eggs.
My friend and I also had many evening meals there, the buffet selection again is wonderful with plenty of choices.
They had kindly upgraded me and my friend to the use of the Regency club, so we had free transfers to and from the airport when we flew out to Pokhara and Chitwan.
The staff here are so wonderful and always give you a big smile, all the staff were wonderful.
The pool area is lovely and they had warmed the pool since my last visit so a pleasure to use and chill out.
Beautiful gardens and if you go to the back of the gardens it's a two minute walk to amazing and beautiful Stupa.
My few suggestions for the Hyatt is have another chef on for cooking eggs at breakfast and maybe invest in some flat screen TV's as your big old ones are looking rather tired and the Rox bar is a little cold in atmosphere , only used it once for our complimentary drinks, but you should make it more warm and appealing for guests to use as it's a lovely big bar.
Only one complaint and that is a hotel of your standard with many international guests should have a proper foreign exchange, not an old money draw where you are told you have to wait for someone to come back from the bank, you need a foreign exchange desk with plenty of notes for guests.
Apart from those suggestions, thank you Hyatt for a truly lovely stay with wonderful staff.
I will be back to see you and the wonderful Nepal soon.

Room Tip: As for a Stupa view on the 5th or 6th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chefdave20032003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

I stayed at the Hyatt Regency for a few days after completing my Everest Base Camp hike. It was definitely a nice treat after roughing it in teahouses for 2 weeks. The hotel looks very nice, is well maintained, and has a nice garden and pool. I also ate extensively at the restaurants and thought the food was generally very good (but I wouldn't go as far as to say excellent), although you do pay a premium for eating at the hotel. I also used the spa and booked a apres-trek massage. The massage left a lot to be desired and the deep-tissue massage felt more like a regular relaxation massage so I would go suggest going elsewhere (probably a lot cheaper outside the hotel as well). However, the facilities were nice and the gym had a decent set of equipment. Other Pros:

Pros:
- Very nice lobby
- Excellent service
- Close to Boudha stupa (about 10 min walk)
- Good restaurants. Breakfast/lunch/dinner buffets at the cafe were pretty good and the Rox restaurant has good mediterranean food
- Close to the airport
- Nice pool area
- Wi-Fi was reasonably fast and reliable

Cons:
- Internet is extra and very expensive ($15 + tax for 24 hrs)
- Breakfast is charged extra ($12 + 24% tax per person)
- Aside from the Boudha Stupa, not much else close to the area
- Room was fairly well appointed but they still have small CRT tvs.

Tip: Go to the Stupa View Restaurant beside the stupa for some excellent, reasonably priced vegetarian food with great views of the stupa from their top floor terrace.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ciphertext
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

Hyatt Regency Kathmandu is an oasis in the bustling city of Kathmandu. As soon as you enter the property, it feels like you have magically transformed to a different world with greenary and well manicured gardens. The property itself is huge and have a Royal feeling due to the architecture.
We got a rooom in the Club Floor with Bodhnath Stupa view which was great, but little disappointed that they didn't upgrade to a suite even after emailing from before and being a Diamond member.
The property is away from usual tourist destination of Thamel, but we went to Kathmandu to visit hilltop places like Nagorkot and Dhulikhel, so didn't really matter for us.

Also, the hotel is only 20 min drive from Gokarna Forest resort, I would highly recommend to go there for guided forest trekking (you can see wild deers, monkeys and then visit a two thousand year old Newari village), then having a relaxing dinner at the restaurant with beautiful golf course and forest view.

Room Tip: Club level with Stupa view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank imtiaz82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, India
Level Contributor
200 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

Excellent service, royal experience,good value for money, one can get indian veg food on request. Ideal place in kathmandu to relax, rejuvenate and eat well. Pool side,verdant surroundings and good quality food/service are hallmarks.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaspal_Aulakh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
1.5 mi away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#10 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,044 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Hotel Yak & Yeti
#41 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
2.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
#59 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
#69 of 193 in Kathmandu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Shambala
Hotel Shambala
#21 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.6 mi away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#4 of 193 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Kathmandu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Kathmandu

Property: Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Address: | Taragaon, Boudha, Kathmandu 459, Nepal
Phone Number:
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#7 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
#8 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
#9 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
#9 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Regency Kathmandu 5*
Number of rooms: 280
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency Kathmandu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu Hotel Kathmandu
Hyatt Kathmandu
Kathmandu Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing