We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Ranked #33 of 203 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
india
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

It's more like a resort with manicured garden, fountains, pagoda bang in centre of the lobby. It's got open air eating areas as well which adds to the very understated luxurious interiors , aesthetically very pleasing to eyes. The rooms are also very spacious with bathrooms equally luxurious with large tub and shower which is so powerful , may be to make its guests experience some of nepals famous mountain waterfalls. Staff very polite and helpful. The travel desks rates are reasonable which is very convenient for the residents of the hotel. The only problem lies with its location about half an hour from the city centre during office hours because of terrible dusty narrow roads of Kathmandu. I might that traffic is terrible in Kathmandu, except a few stretches which are wide and well maintained. Taxis are pretty expensive in the city. As long as you are in the hotel , it's wonderful. And yes if you are a casino freak, word of advice , stay away because casinos have lost their charm completely in Nepal

Room Tip: Choose rooms on higher floors for the view of the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vivekindia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    808
    495
    161
    50
    31
See reviews for
286
433
151
350
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
SOUTHAMPTON
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

First, the location. Down the curving main drive , over the road and slightly right, is a large superstore/supermarket where you can buy gifts, snacks, clothes etc. Along the main road to the left out of the drive, a 15 minute walk brings you to the little entrance way to the main stupa area. To the rear of the hotel,through a security guarded gate and to the left, a waymarked back lane leads down to the main stupa area. From room at the rear of the hotel there is a view of the stupa, but partly blocked by an ugly apartment block. The approach drive is a whole world different from the busy main road outside. The hotel foyer (3rd Floor) contains seating on subtly different levels and Nepalese musicians play in the evenings. In the restaurant (1st floor) the waiting staff are very attentive and the breakfast buffet very extensive : you do not have to wait at the counter for your cooked-while-you-wait eggs, they are brought to your table. The batyhroom in my room had a spacious bathroom but a toilet seat positioned very close to the glass wall of the shower ; be careful not to bump your head! Room furniture was excellent and the bed as wide as anyone might desire. The walk-in wardrobe contained an ironing-board and iron ; very convenient. There cannot be many hotels in Kathmandu which offer such amenities in such an excellent location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank obsSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

As soon as you enter Kathmandu, the chaos is just too overwhelming. Being able to hide in such a tranquil and peaceful place is just precious. Being able to unwind at the Club Lounge every afternoon and watch the sunset with wine and food was just wonderful. I think the hotel rooms are just the same as any Hyatt you go to but I would take this over the Ambassador Hotel which is right smack in the street with all the flee market anytime. If you are the type of travel who like the busy street and shop a lot Hyatt is not for you. But if you enjoy that peace time at the end of each day like us this was just Excellent. Love the food at the Club Lounge and at the Rox.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank somjess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Hyatt for two nights. The property would by 3 to 4 star in any other city. There is nothing fancy about the hotel but the rooms are clean, the breakfast buffet is ok, and there is a large pool. An added bonus is the hotel is a 10 minute walk to the Bodhnath temple (I recommend a sunrise visit)

The service itself was good to average. The front desk was very helpful. The concierge was poor, and the food and beverage (lobby lounge and breakfast) was average.

The other issue is the hotel is a solid 15 to 20 minutes drive to the center of Kathmandu.

Overall for the price it is not a bad option if you need to recharge the batteries.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cornell_Hotelie_94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wooloomooloo
Level 6 Contributor
380 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

For the benefit of the airline pilot who criticized this place a few weeks for not being up to Grand Hyatt standards, I would like to point out that this is in fact a Hyatt Regency, the next level down in the Hyatt portfolio. That said, this is still an impressively grand place as far as I am concerned. The building itself is imposing and the tranquil grounds are absolutely massive. I stayed here in the low season, and the hotel was deserted to the point of being almost eerie. My room on the 4th floor was spacious, with wooden floors and a great view over the garden. The large bathroom was spotless. As noted in other reviews, the TVs aren't flat screen, but that's hardly the end of the world. (who comes to Kathmandu to watch TV anyway?) Staff were really helpful and friendly, especially in the great bar at the stupa-view end of the lobby. Although a little out of central Kathmandu (shuttle bus provided several times a day, though) it is right next to Bodhunath stupa, which is worthy of at least a day of exploration.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dr_iggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Had booked 1 suite and 2 club rooms. We checked into to Hyatt and checked out within 20 mins after seeing the room. The rooms are in a bad condition. The hotel did not charge us anything, as we pointed out the several issues with the room. The rooms like like they were made in the 1980's and not a penny has been spent on them for upkeep. The stink in the carpeted corridors could kill a man. The staff was corteous to direct us to a much better hotel for our stay. Looking at the conditions of the roads in Kathmandu, city centre is 30 mins from Hyatt. Avoid this and take Dwarika or Yak and Yeti.

Room Tip: The club rooms and suites are in a bad state, don't know about the base rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GRM-AlkaGroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We arrived to Kathmandu from Lhasa. We were exhausted and a bit altitude sick. Kathmandu was very hot, dusty and crowded (not a surprise, we fully expected this). The Hyatt sits right next to the Boudi Stupa. Within the gates is a lovely green and cool paradise.
The staff were very kind and organized. The food in the buffet was delicious and plentiful. The grounds and the rooms were pristine. And the sheets... were heavenly.

After two nights, we left to hike in the mountains, only to return for two more nights. Upon returning, we were tired and sunburned and very, very dirty. Even though we arrived at the hotel hours before check in, the staff quickly readied our room. When it was time to leave, we had an 11 pm flight out, and the hotel allowed us to stay in our room until the last possible moment. At the time of our stay, Kathmandu was experiencing some political upheaval, so we were told that it would be safer for us to stay in the hotel.

I would highly recommend this hotel to people visiting Kathmandu. The only exception is the hotel is a bit of a distance from the Themal and that may be a drawback to some.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeamZMintHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
2.5 mi away
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Hotel Yak & Yeti
#46 of 203 in Kathmandu
1,141 reviews
2.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
#65 of 203 in Kathmandu
1,065 reviews
1.5 mi away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#10 of 203 in Kathmandu
1,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
#81 of 203 in Kathmandu
474 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Shambala
Hotel Shambala
#24 of 203 in Kathmandu
388 reviews
0.6 mi away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#1 of 203 in Kathmandu
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Kathmandu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Kathmandu

Property: Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Address: | Taragaon, Boudha, Kathmandu 459, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#7 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
#8 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
#9 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
#10 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Regency Kathmandu 5*
Number of rooms: 280
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Kathmandu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu Hotel Kathmandu
Hyatt Kathmandu
Kathmandu Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing