We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good bargain in a central location but not recommended for business travelers”
Review of Hotel Annapurna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Annapurna
Ranked #58 of 198 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Bozeman, Montana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good bargain in a central location but not recommended for business travelers”
Reviewed November 2, 2010

The hotel touts itself as a 5 star hotel but it is not. The hotel lobby is pretty but the hallways and rooms definitely need an upgrade. The decor is very dated and needs repainting. The room seemed very clean but I noticed cockroaches on the 3rd day. I was attending a conference at the Hyatt Regency (which is lovely) and had to get up early every morning. There was a lot of hallway noise with people speaking VERY loudly in the hallways on two of the nights so I wouldn't recommend this hotel to business travelers. I put a towel in front of the crack in the door and that helped some. On a postive note, the staff was lovely and the hotel is right down the street from the palace and a short-walking distance to the Yak & Yeti hotel and Thamel. If you are stopping through Kathmandu and want an inexpensive place to stay, this hotel will work.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RockStarLibrarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    211
    97
    29
    20
See reviews for
71
80
45
223
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
1 review
Reviewed October 7, 2010

FIrstly I had an amazing time in Kathmandu, one of the best trips of my life, but this hotel was just all wrong. It didn't help I had just spent 4 nights at the Hyatt Regency with my wife and was told this was also one of Kathmandu's 5 star hotels. I doubt even 30 odd years ago or whenever this place first opened it could be classed as 5 star. The whole of the hotel is so dated and greatly in need of an upgrade.

I was given a room on the second floor, room number 3013 i think. The first thing that hit me was the darkness of the room, and the damp smell. The decor is incredibly dated. The bathroom was just as bad, the bathtub had all sorts of marks, scratches, and repairs to it. The view from the window was of some industrial machinery, air conditioning or the likes. Up until about 11pm the noise from outside and the air conditioning in the room was terrible, very loud which made it hard to get to sleep.

As for the rest of the hotel, I only visited the restaurant once for breakfast which was at best ok. I didn't find the staff particularly friendly or welcoming. Although the location is very central, you have to cross a busy main road to get to Thamel and at night the walk back is in almost complete darkness and not a nice experience. I'd advise people to choose a hotel in Thamel centrally where there are nicer places for a hell of a lot cheaper.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scampyfries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2010

This was my first trip to Nepal. We entered into complete darkness. The power was out and the backup generator was not functional. We were told things would be better in 3-4 hours, by 6pm. I entered my dark room and perhaps this was best, as its flaws were less noticeable in the dark. I had some urgent work to do on my laptop and was anxiously awaiting the power to come back. The elevators were not working either so I had to walk up to my room lugging my bag. No one helped. Anyway this was a complete disaster. The rooms were substandard, esp taking into consideration its 5* rating. The shower worked and I did get a wake up phone call. Oh and the internet worked, albeit slowly. And the breakfast was a pleasant surprise. All in all, it ended better than it started and compared to other lodgings in this city, this was superior.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Visionquest99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goa
Level Contributor
39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2010

IT is classified as a five star hotel & no 1 address in Kathmandu , but the rooms are far away from the five star standard. Breakfast is nice. Rooms have central A/C which doen't give adequate cooling effect in rooms. Rooms are very old styled, but location is no1.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itshop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait
Level Contributor
221 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2010

Named after the goddess Annapurna, the hotel is comfortable and is closely located to the Kings Palance. The staff is very helpful and the breakfast is simply delicious. Its also closely situated to Thamel market and theres a casino as well.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacy020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 26, 2010

Comfortable place , nice rooms, courteous staff, value for money , good location

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DelhiTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2010

I visited Kathmandu on a business trip. This Hotel was booked by my client. But trust me, I must thank him for letting me have such a wonderful experience of the aminities of this wonderful hotel...........

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swarup_Delhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Hotel Yak & Yeti
#46 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,086 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#32 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,482 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#37 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
#62 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,029 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Shambala
Hotel Shambala
#24 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
1.0 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
#72 of 198 in Kathmandu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Annapurna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Annapurna

Property: Hotel Annapurna
Address: P O Box 140, Durbar Marg, Kathmandu 14229, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Kathmandu
#12 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#17 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
#19 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Annapurna 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Durbar Marg, Kathmandu's premier street, 5-star Hotel Annapurna has a long history of excellence in the hospitality industry. Established in 1965 and named after Annapurna, the Goddess of Abundance, the Hotel provides the finest personal service and facilities in Nepal's fabled emerald valley, and its cultural, political and commercial capital. The Hotel has a total of 151 recently renovated Deluxe and Heritage guestrooms, including 5 suites, equipped with modern amenities such as the latest flat screen TV, bedside lighting & climate control unit, tea & coffee making facilities, mini bar and electronic safe. The atmosphere within the 5-acre property is warm and relaxed, the ambiance embracing the unique and friendly essence of Nepali culture and traditions. The Hotel is an architectural marvel, cleverly combining the local pagoda-style with contemporary flair. The Hotel is also famous for its popular eating outlets. The Coffee Shop is the all day, every day place for favourite eats and drinks and surprising new delights. The capital's most exotic Chinese restaurant, the Arniko Room, has established itself as one of the culinary wonders of modern Nepal. If the aristocratic flavour of fabled Mughal kitchens is more your to your taste, then Ghar-e-Kabab is the place to dine either alone or, better still, with your family and friends, AND when the sun goes down - or even a lot earlier - the Juneli Bar, stocked with the choicest drinks from around the world, is the perfect place to hit! In keeping with modern times, the Hotel is entirely Wi-Fi enabled. With extensive banquet and conferencing facilities, beautifully landscaped garden, one of the largest hotel swimming pools, well-equipped gym, business center and the most prestigious shopping arcade, our property is also within easy reach of religious, historical, cultural, architectural and shopping destinations, as well as Government offices, diplomatic missions and airline offices. At Annapurna, it is our promise you will feel truly blessed by the Goddess of Abundance. Hotel Annapurna,'Truly a Heritage of Hospitality' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Fastbooking, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Annapurna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De l Annapurna
De l Annapurna Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing