We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No free wifi : (”
Review of Hotel Annapurna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Annapurna
Ranked #64 of 201 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Thousand Oaks, California
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“No free wifi : (”
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

We were put up here by China Southern Airlines after our flight was cancelled and it is a very nice hotel with a stuff price tag for Kathmandu but they charge for wifi!! I mean even the $30 Thamel room we had prior had free wifi.... The room was nice and there is hot water and good water pressure but c'mon! Breakfast buffet was great (but we didn't have to pay for it, the airline did). Honestly if you're not a high maintenance business person you can get a lot more for your money closer to the action in Thamel.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank nomadkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sampurna P, Front Office Manager at Hotel Annapurna, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Annapurna !!!!

I am happy to learn that we were able to live up to your expectations, in most of the attributes. Your ratings really mean a lot to us .We have noted your comment on internet pricing. Let me inform you for all our corporate guests and guest booked in our Club Rooms - complimentary Wi-Fi is a part of the package but for guest booked under other packages we are definitely working on the same.
Thank you for your comments, your comments helps us to take necessary corrective measures, it was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again.
Warm Regards,
Sampurna Pande
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    216
    100
    31
    23
See reviews for
74
81
46
237
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Yet another fantastic stay at this wonderful hotel. This time we brought our daughter to Kathmandu for the first time and it was wonderful to have this oasis to come back to and rest in-between sightseeing in busy colourful Kathmandu. She loved Kathmandu and also the hotel and the lovely gardens with the pool area. The staff made us feel so welcome as usual and took such good care of us, its really heart warming the greetings we receive when returning to this wonderful hotel!!!
The staff and the food at the coffe shop for breakfast was as usual excellent, we love to sit outside in the sunshine when possible and they wait on us hand and foot, make us feel so welcome :-)
The clubrooms on the top floor were newly opened this time. We got a tour of the rooms and tested the club lounge while we were there, which was really great. The rooms are beautiful, tastefully decorated in earth colours with details to comfort. We did not stay in the clubrooms but they were certainly tempting!!!! The club lounge is really nice and a wonderful place to relax, eat breakfast and have drinks in the evening.I would certainly recommend these rooms from what I saw!!!
Thankyou once again to the lovely staff for making our stay another great one, looking forwards to coming back soon!!!. Monica and family

Room Tip: Room towards the garden are best and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunloverOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sampurna P, Front Office Manager at Hotel Annapurna, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Annapurna !!!

Thank you very much for your lovely review regarding your experience at our hotel. We are delighted that you were impressed with our Club Floor and the services delivered by our entire team. In fact comments of such nature really encourage our team. Trust we will manage to exceed your expectation on all your visits.
Thank you once again, we acknowledge your patronage to us.

Warm Regards,
Sampurna Pande
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katmandu
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013

for decades the Annapurna coffe shop was an island of confort and good food at reasonable price.
unfortunately now the prices have been rised in a way not justified by the offer.
in fact,the quality of the food is considerably lower,the breackfast buffet showing just a list of indian dishes with very little appeal to a western palate,the a la carte menu is of so low quality (cold toasts not really toasted,cold fried eggs , tasteless not crispy potatoes in very poor portion......)
Even the pastry shop doesn't offer any more the best of his choice,like the celebrated Chocolate Mud cake or Chocolate Nut cake.
after a very unsatisfactory meal which you could find at a very cheap price in any small eatery of Thamel the bill surprises you in a very unpleasant way,for the prices are incredibily high and you go out with an almost empty stomach and even emptier wallet.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank giovannac547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sampurna P, Front Office Manager at Hotel Annapurna, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your valuable comments and feedback.
Kindly accept our sincere apologies for your last experience with us, we discussed your feedback in an appropriate forum with respective division head, and would like to inform you that we have put the mud cake back in our Cake Shop. On our daily buffet breakfast we have one South Indian and one North Indian Dish which is being changed on regular basis, and on guest request we do serve from our a la carte menu also. As for the prices we are pretty reasonably priced compared to our competition but yes we are priced a little higher than the restaurants around Durbar Marg.
Your comments do help us to take necessary corrective measure, please be assured of our highest levels of service during your next visit.
Warm Regards,
Sampurna Pande
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
Reviewed December 12, 2013

I spent two weeks in this hotel while teaching in a conference room there. It is a beautiful hotel with a huge pool and unique décor located within easy walking distance of dining, shopping and attractions. The room was spacious and the bed comfortable. The staff are all very professionally groomed and attired and are unfailingly pleasant, polite and eager to be of service. I want to mention in particular Rajeshwari Ghimire and Dibya Bhattarai. I got sick one day early in my stay and they appointed themselves my personal nurses. They personally took me to the hospital and thereafter provided special food and personal care, checking on me frequently. Thereafter, everyone from the cleaning staff to the manager inquired about my health whenever they saw me. Awesome people and new friends!

Room Tip: My room was on the second floor and overlooked a well groomed lawn and garden area and was very qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sampurna P, Front Office Manager at Hotel Annapurna, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Guest,
We are grateful for the kind words you have written about us. Here at Hotel Annapurna, we try to make sure that all our guests feel right at home from the moment they enter our premises, to the time they leave. Our staffs are extremely pleased and delighted that you have acknowledged what they have done for you.

It gave us immense pleasure to learn that your stay at our hotel was a memorable one, it was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again.
Warm Regards,
Sampurna Pande
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pokhara, Nepal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Being a nepalese citizen..i stayed in this hotel though its 6-7 times expensive than others,,for 3 days..2 days went good...good breakfast n all..on 2nd day evening i was told to leave my room..as its been booked..though i had stated that i would be staying for 3 days...So angrily i left the hotel..and more surprising was that i had to pay for the parking....then i said am never gonna step in this hotel again...!!!]


Dr.shreshal shrestha

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shreshal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sampurna P, Front Office Manager at Hotel Annapurna, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback - Your comments and suggestions have always helped us in our continuous endeavor to make improvements.
We regret the inconvenience caused to you during your stay and wish to reassure you that ,we at Annapurna take guest feedback very seriously and have taken steps to ensure that the issues highlighted by you have been resolved, our staff have been briefed to have more clear communication with guest to avoid confusion.
I deeply regret what happened but hope that you will visit us again and give us an opportunity to be of your service, please do let me know, so I can personally look after your reservation
Warm Regards,
Sampurna Pande
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Some of the negative reviews mention that the positive ones are "planted" by the management. Let me clarify. I am not writing on behalf of the management of this hotel. I stayed in The Annapurna for 4 nights last week. The experience was awesome. The location is perfect, in the heart of the city, Rooms are at the back and hence very quiet. Mine overlooked a beautiful, well maintained lawn. Staff is courteous and eager to help. Breakfast is awesome (includes Indian options as well). Beds are comfortable. Toilets are clean. And they have windows which actually open (a rarity in star hotels nowadays). This allowed me to enjoy, fresh Himalayan air every night and every morning.

Lots of eating / shopping options as soon as you step out of the hotel.

My grouse is with the noisy central A/C. Its past its "sell by" date and needs replacement, quickly. And yes, their internet can be faster. Its free, so cant complain much.

My recommendation: go for it!

Room Tip: 2049 overlooked the lawn and swimming pool. Its the one I would choose again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tejash_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sampurna P, Front Office Manager at Hotel Annapurna, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your experience about our hotel, its facilities, services and the vicinity our hotel is located in.
We are extremely happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, here at Hotel Annapurna, we try to make sure that all our guests feel right at home from the moment they enter our premises, to the time they leave. Our staffs are extremely pleased and delighted that you have acknowledged what they have done for you.

We have noted your comment on the a/c and will work on the same.Appreciate your feedback and your recommendation; we do look forward to welcome you back soon!

Warm Regards,
Sampurna Pande
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Apart from its central location, with the royal palace, Thamel and other places within easy reach, the hotel staff are friendly and helpful and went out of their way to procure a mobile sim card for me. The casino is ok, and the food at the hotel is great. The rooms are also spacious and airy.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the garden are preferable
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaideep1411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sampurna P, Front Office Manager at Hotel Annapurna, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Guest ,
Greetings from Annapurna !!!
Thank you very much for your review regarding your experience at our hotel. We are delighted that you were satisfied with the food at our restaurants and were happy with the service delivered by our team, your comments has encouraged the whole team to strive for better.
Our entire team would like to thank you for your comments. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us, and I truly hope to have this privilege again.
Warm Regards,
Sampurna Pande
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Hotel Yak & Yeti
#46 of 201 in Kathmandu
1,120 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
#63 of 201 in Kathmandu
1,057 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#31 of 201 in Kathmandu
1,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#38 of 201 in Kathmandu
1,164 reviews
1.0 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
#77 of 201 in Kathmandu
465 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Shambala
Hotel Shambala
#25 of 201 in Kathmandu
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Annapurna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Annapurna

Property: Hotel Annapurna
Address: P O Box 140, Durbar Marg, Kathmandu 14229, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Kathmandu
#14 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#17 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
#23 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Annapurna 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Durbar Marg, Kathmandu's premier street, 5-star Hotel Annapurna has a long history of excellence in the hospitality industry. Established in 1965 and named after Annapurna, the Goddess of Abundance, the Hotel provides the finest personal service and facilities in Nepal's fabled emerald valley, and its cultural, political and commercial capital. The Hotel has a total of 151 recently renovated Deluxe and Heritage guestrooms, including 5 suites, equipped with modern amenities such as the latest flat screen TV, bedside lighting & climate control unit, tea & coffee making facilities, mini bar and electronic safe. The atmosphere within the 5-acre property is warm and relaxed, the ambiance embracing the unique and friendly essence of Nepali culture and traditions. The Hotel is an architectural marvel, cleverly combining the local pagoda-style with contemporary flair. The Hotel is also famous for its popular eating outlets. The Coffee Shop is the all day, every day place for favourite eats and drinks and surprising new delights. The capital's most exotic Chinese restaurant, the Arniko Room, has established itself as one of the culinary wonders of modern Nepal. If the aristocratic flavour of fabled Mughal kitchens is more your to your taste, then Ghar-e-Kabab is the place to dine either alone or, better still, with your family and friends, AND when the sun goes down - or even a lot earlier - the Juneli Bar, stocked with the choicest drinks from around the world, is the perfect place to hit! In keeping with modern times, the Hotel is entirely Wi-Fi enabled. With extensive banquet and conferencing facilities, beautifully landscaped garden, one of the largest hotel swimming pools, well-equipped gym, business center and the most prestigious shopping arcade, our property is also within easy reach of religious, historical, cultural, architectural and shopping destinations, as well as Government offices, diplomatic missions and airline offices. At Annapurna, it is our promise you will feel truly blessed by the Goddess of Abundance. Hotel Annapurna,'Truly a Heritage of Hospitality' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Annapurna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De l Annapurna
De l Annapurna Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing