We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel - More Excellent staff”
Review of Hotel Annapurna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Annapurna
Ranked #61 of 198 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
1 review
“Excellent Hotel - More Excellent staff”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

I spent two weeks in this hotel while teaching in a conference room there. It is a beautiful hotel with a huge pool and unique décor located within easy walking distance of dining, shopping and attractions. The room was spacious and the bed comfortable. The staff are all very professionally groomed and attired and are unfailingly pleasant, polite and eager to be of service. I want to mention in particular Rajeshwari Ghimire and Dibya Bhattarai. I got sick one day early in my stay and they appointed themselves my personal nurses. They personally took me to the hospital and thereafter provided special food and personal care, checking on me frequently. Thereafter, everyone from the cleaning staff to the manager inquired about my health whenever they saw me. Awesome people and new friends!

Room Tip: My room was on the second floor and overlooked a well groomed lawn and garden area and was very qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sampurna P, Front Office Manager at Hotel Annapurna, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Guest,
We are grateful for the kind words you have written about us. Here at Hotel Annapurna, we try to make sure that all our guests feel right at home from the moment they enter our premises, to the time they leave. Our staffs are extremely pleased and delighted that you have acknowledged what they have done for you.

It gave us immense pleasure to learn that your stay at our hotel was a memorable one, it was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again.
Warm Regards,
Sampurna Pande
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    211
    99
    30
    21
See reviews for
72
80
45
228
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pokhara, Nepal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Being a nepalese citizen..i stayed in this hotel though its 6-7 times expensive than others,,for 3 days..2 days went good...good breakfast n all..on 2nd day evening i was told to leave my room..as its been booked..though i had stated that i would be staying for 3 days...So angrily i left the hotel..and more surprising was that i had to pay for the parking....then i said am never gonna step in this hotel again...!!!]


Dr.shreshal shrestha

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shreshal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sampurna P, Front Office Manager at Hotel Annapurna, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback - Your comments and suggestions have always helped us in our continuous endeavor to make improvements.
We regret the inconvenience caused to you during your stay and wish to reassure you that ,we at Annapurna take guest feedback very seriously and have taken steps to ensure that the issues highlighted by you have been resolved, our staff have been briefed to have more clear communication with guest to avoid confusion.
I deeply regret what happened but hope that you will visit us again and give us an opportunity to be of your service, please do let me know, so I can personally look after your reservation
Warm Regards,
Sampurna Pande
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
103 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Some of the negative reviews mention that the positive ones are "planted" by the management. Let me clarify. I am not writing on behalf of the management of this hotel. I stayed in The Annapurna for 4 nights last week. The experience was awesome. The location is perfect, in the heart of the city, Rooms are at the back and hence very quiet. Mine overlooked a beautiful, well maintained lawn. Staff is courteous and eager to help. Breakfast is awesome (includes Indian options as well). Beds are comfortable. Toilets are clean. And they have windows which actually open (a rarity in star hotels nowadays). This allowed me to enjoy, fresh Himalayan air every night and every morning.

Lots of eating / shopping options as soon as you step out of the hotel.

My grouse is with the noisy central A/C. Its past its "sell by" date and needs replacement, quickly. And yes, their internet can be faster. Its free, so cant complain much.

My recommendation: go for it!

Room Tip: 2049 overlooked the lawn and swimming pool. Its the one I would choose again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tejash_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sampurna P, Front Office Manager at Hotel Annapurna, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your experience about our hotel, its facilities, services and the vicinity our hotel is located in.
We are extremely happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, here at Hotel Annapurna, we try to make sure that all our guests feel right at home from the moment they enter our premises, to the time they leave. Our staffs are extremely pleased and delighted that you have acknowledged what they have done for you.

We have noted your comment on the a/c and will work on the same.Appreciate your feedback and your recommendation; we do look forward to welcome you back soon!

Warm Regards,
Sampurna Pande
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Apart from its central location, with the royal palace, Thamel and other places within easy reach, the hotel staff are friendly and helpful and went out of their way to procure a mobile sim card for me. The casino is ok, and the food at the hotel is great. The rooms are also spacious and airy.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the garden are preferable
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaideep1411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sampurna P, Front Office Manager at Hotel Annapurna, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Guest ,
Greetings from Annapurna !!!
Thank you very much for your review regarding your experience at our hotel. We are delighted that you were satisfied with the food at our restaurants and were happy with the service delivered by our team, your comments has encouraged the whole team to strive for better.
Our entire team would like to thank you for your comments. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us, and I truly hope to have this privilege again.
Warm Regards,
Sampurna Pande
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

The location is centralized, easy to go to Thamel, Royal Palace, Garden of Dreams, Durban Square. All within 10-20 min walk. The staff willing to help most of the time. Roshan helped me to changed the timing of the shuttle to the airport last minute.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DiCW58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sampurna P, Front Office Manager at Hotel Annapurna, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Guest,
Namaste and Greetings from Annapurna !!!
Thank you for your positive comments about your experience during your stay with us. I have shared your comments with Roshan - he is extremely delighted that you have acknowledged his help.
On behalf of all of us at the Annapurna would like to thank you for your positive comments, it was a pleasure to have you stay with us and I truly hope that we may have the privilege of having you stay with us again.
Warm Regards,
Sampurna Pande
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nainital, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

travelled in june 2013 as a family with kids,hotel has a very good location in central kathmandu,staff is courteous and helpful,rooms are average,casino was not up to the mark.overall experience was good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nishant380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sampurna P, Front Office Manager at Hotel Annapurna, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Guest,
Namaste and Greetings from Annapurna !!!
I would like to thank you your feedback and am happy to learn that we were able to live up to your expectation in most of the attributes. Your comments about our staff is highly motivating, this is how we in hospitality service keep our spirits high.
We have noted your comment regarding the casino - though it is inside the premises of our hotel it is run by a different management - however we have forwarded your feedback to the Casino Management.
Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you on your next trip to Kathmandu.
Warm Regards,
Sampurna Pande
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

It is centrally located hotel in Kathmandu. The staffs are very friendly and caring. The rooms are very clean and breakfast is excellent. If you want to stay away from crowds, this is the best hotel to choose.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tilak T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sampurna P, Front Office Manager at Hotel Annapurna, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Guest,
Namaste !!!!
Greetings from Annapurna!!!
Thank you very much for your review. Your feedback and ratings mean a lot to us. We are delighted that you were satisfied with the service delivered by our team. We trust that we will be able to exceed your expectations on your future visits as well.
Warm Regards,
Sampurna Pande
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Hotel Yak & Yeti
#46 of 198 in Kathmandu
1,102 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
#62 of 198 in Kathmandu
1,045 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#37 of 198 in Kathmandu
1,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#31 of 198 in Kathmandu
1,507 reviews
1.0 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
#75 of 198 in Kathmandu
457 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Shambala
Hotel Shambala
#24 of 198 in Kathmandu
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Annapurna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Annapurna

Property: Hotel Annapurna
Address: P O Box 140, Durbar Marg, Kathmandu 14229, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Kathmandu
#13 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#17 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
#21 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Annapurna 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Durbar Marg, Kathmandu's premier street, 5-star Hotel Annapurna has a long history of excellence in the hospitality industry. Established in 1965 and named after Annapurna, the Goddess of Abundance, the Hotel provides the finest personal service and facilities in Nepal's fabled emerald valley, and its cultural, political and commercial capital. The Hotel has a total of 151 recently renovated Deluxe and Heritage guestrooms, including 5 suites, equipped with modern amenities such as the latest flat screen TV, bedside lighting & climate control unit, tea & coffee making facilities, mini bar and electronic safe. The atmosphere within the 5-acre property is warm and relaxed, the ambiance embracing the unique and friendly essence of Nepali culture and traditions. The Hotel is an architectural marvel, cleverly combining the local pagoda-style with contemporary flair. The Hotel is also famous for its popular eating outlets. The Coffee Shop is the all day, every day place for favourite eats and drinks and surprising new delights. The capital's most exotic Chinese restaurant, the Arniko Room, has established itself as one of the culinary wonders of modern Nepal. If the aristocratic flavour of fabled Mughal kitchens is more your to your taste, then Ghar-e-Kabab is the place to dine either alone or, better still, with your family and friends, AND when the sun goes down - or even a lot earlier - the Juneli Bar, stocked with the choicest drinks from around the world, is the perfect place to hit! In keeping with modern times, the Hotel is entirely Wi-Fi enabled. With extensive banquet and conferencing facilities, beautifully landscaped garden, one of the largest hotel swimming pools, well-equipped gym, business center and the most prestigious shopping arcade, our property is also within easy reach of religious, historical, cultural, architectural and shopping destinations, as well as Government offices, diplomatic missions and airline offices. At Annapurna, it is our promise you will feel truly blessed by the Goddess of Abundance. Hotel Annapurna,'Truly a Heritage of Hospitality' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Annapurna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De l Annapurna
De l Annapurna Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing